Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 10/18/2023 at 8:33 AM, Ct3833 said:

Counter inflationary breakfast, $2.10, tea $1.30, senior passion card get me into a sardin packed train trip $0.94 . Total $4.34 to get me a breakfast plus transport, can live on budget retirement or not ? I think can , mai comprain. 

20231018_081137.jpg

20231018_083026.jpg

I believe in moderation unless we talking cigars.😁   So i dont mind eating simple sometimes as well as eating big sometimes.   But Neither nor all the time.  

On 10/18/2023 at 11:40 AM, 13177 said:

Cai png difficult to find cheap nowadays. Even those cai png at heartlander coffeeshop and hawker centre charges at least $4 plus with 1 normal meat and 2 normal veggies.

Yes everything is about $5 give or take. 
and thats normal hawker fare

add 50% if it is a bit special.

• Sad 1

Lawrence say can monitor and weed out profiteers. I’d really see how he can do that.   Now everything is up 15-20% still not considered profiteering right? 
what is considered profiteering , how the heck can it be monitored across the board.  Explain to me

On 10/18/2023 at 12:34 PM, Throttle2 said:

Lawrence say can monitor and weed out profiteers. I’d really see how he can do that.   Now everything is up 15-20% still not considered profiteering right? 
what is considered profiteering , how the heck can it be monitored across the board.  Explain to me

buy BTO ... leave it EMPTY ... then FLIP after MOP ... 

On 10/18/2023 at 12:44 PM, Wt_know said:

That one is not profiteering, bro.

thats defrauding.  Outright

There are people really after buying BTO, leave it empty until MOP and then sell. Some even rent it out even haven’t reach MOP and never stay in the flat at all. 😅

On 10/18/2023 at 1:45 PM, 13177 said:

There are people really after buying BTO, leave it empty until MOP and then sell. Some even rent it out even haven’t reach MOP and never stay in the flat at all. 😅

Yes and these people are cetainly defrauding HDB and raiding the reserves.

On 10/18/2023 at 1:47 PM, Throttle2 said:

Yes and these people are cetainly defrauding HDB and raiding the reserves.

and raiding my tax money too ... [mad] 

On 10/17/2023 at 11:51 PM, Ct3833 said:

I wonder why would people want to eat there .  But the problem is this is like a mini coe system, they raise their price and there are still wiling buyers, so there is nothing for us to complain about 

i think many are first timers...

tio chopped once, won't ever go back again

I don't find this an issue as we don't have a vacant house tax. Many reasons why some leave it empty eg must stay with parents to take care of them, parents taking care of their kids etc. 

Hard to police if someone occupying the apt or not. So just make the rules clear. 5 years can sell that's easiest. 

Everyone can do this if they have the means to lock up so much money for 5 years and not enjoying/using the asset. But for close to 10 years they would be watching the private market going through the roof - 2 years application, 3 years construction, 5 years MOP. 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 10/18/2023 at 2:35 PM, Volvobrick said:

I don't find this an issue as we don't have a vacant house tax. Many reasons why some leave it empty eg must stay with parents to take care of them, parents taking care of their kids etc. 

Hard to police if someone occupying the apt or not. So just make the rules clear. 5 years can sell that's easiest. 

Everyone can do this if they have the means to lock up so much money for 5 years and not enjoying/using the asset.

If you not staying then buy for what.

On 10/18/2023 at 2:37 PM, Benarsenal said:

If you not staying then buy for what.

People's money up to them how they want to spend/invest. Like buy 10 watches can only wear one. Buy for what? 

On 10/18/2023 at 2:35 PM, Volvobrick said:

Everyone can do this if they have the means to lock up so much money for 5 years and not enjoying/using the asset. But for close to 10 years they would be watching the private market going through the roof - 2 years application, 3 years construction, 5 years MOP. 

These ppl can do that for non-subsidised housing.

Subsidised housing is for occupants to stay.

It should be strictly enforced.

On 10/18/2023 at 2:38 PM, Volvobrick said:

People's money up to them how they want to spend/invest. Like buy 10 watches can only wear one. Buy for what? 

Then why cant i buy brand new HDB?

On 10/18/2023 at 1:45 PM, 13177 said:

This one Kenna caught then how ?? 

On 10/18/2023 at 2:43 PM, inlinesix said:

These ppl can do that for non-subsidised housing.

Subsidised housing is for occupants to stay.

It should be strictly enforced.

Littering, hogging in plain daylight also cannot enforce, how to enforce things behind closed doors? 

And they may not be able to afford private, so we should not penalise the less wealthy and prevent them to getting their entitlement ie Subsidised HDB flat for Citizens.