Kxbc Turbocharged October 13, 2023 Share October 13, 2023 On 10/13/2023 at 8:29 AM, Fcw75 said: 麦丹劳叔叔。Kop from Facebook, Mac in 1980s. McD was a luxury to me then. Now can afford but don't want to eat it. Irony. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 13, 2023 Share October 13, 2023 On 10/11/2023 at 1:48 PM, Kxbc said: from your pov, the job was done poorly. from the board's pov, perhaps the job was well done. because it is all about kpi. the mgt presents a set of kpi for the board's approval based on whatever strategy was approved by the board. the board approves the kpi. the mgt team achieves the kpi and is rewarded. so who is right? if anything, perhaps the board itself approved the wrong set of strategy and kpi. perhaps was blindsided by other matters they deem more important. we'll never know unless we were part of the decision making process. i agree with t2's views though it is hard to stomach. if happy, stay in your job. not happy, then leave and find your dream job. we can only control our own salaries and are not in a position to say our colleagues are overpaid because jiak liao bee. perhaps that supposed jiak liao bee provides value to the company in ways we cannot see. or perhaps really no value to the company but the boss likes him/her. no point get angry on things we cannot control. so again. if happy, stay in your job. not happy, then leave and find your dream job. paiseh, just long winded today. Quite true, we cannot control and comment that our colleagues are overpaid or always get promoted. There are many factors affecting this, but mostly i see is due to boss likes him/her, that's why his/her salary is higher than the rest and get to promote faster than others. I have seen this happens in the companies that i have worked for. Like you said, if not happy, just leave and no point complaining. Since nothing can be changed. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 13, 2023 Share October 13, 2023 On 10/4/2023 at 2:21 PM, Victor68 said: Once upon a time, people say $10 simple meal is common in Japan. Now we are experiencing it here. But the quality isn't the same from my recent trip there. So, we are more expensive now in my opinion. back from Japan recently apple to apple comparison (eg ramen, sushi, Jap curry rice, etc), feel that food here is more expensive than Japan's 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 7:48 AM, Scion said: back from Japan recently apple to apple comparison (eg ramen, sushi, Jap curry rice, etc), feel that food here is more expensive than Japan's 😅 1sgd = JPY108.4 !!!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 7:48 AM, Scion said: back from Japan recently apple to apple comparison (eg ramen, sushi, Jap curry rice, etc), feel that food here is more expensive than Japan's 😅 Last time ppl say its unfair to list singapore as the most expensive city just because our car are most expensive. Now we truly deserve the title already. Soon we will have the most expensive power and water bills. The most expensive housing , higher then HK. The most expensive food. 😑 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 (edited) On 10/13/2023 at 8:34 AM, 13177 said: Quite true, we cannot control and comment that our colleagues are overpaid or always get promoted. There are many factors affecting this, but mostly i see is due to boss likes him/her, that's why his/her salary is higher than the rest and get to promote faster than others. I have seen this happens in the companies that i have worked for. Like you said, if not happy, just leave and no point complaining. Since nothing can be changed. Leave will only give a temporary relief and hopefully some pay increment when joining the next company. If the mindset doesn't change, very soon the same problem will re-occur again in the new company. We attract what we usually think. A same mindset will attract back the same situation as before. That's why some people never seem to get out of their usual troubles and just keep moving in circles. But mindset is hard to change unless it is force to. So here is my suggestion for people who feels their career is stagnated for some reason. Get out of your comfort zone and do something different. Ask for a different role. Ask for a transfer. Or learn a new skill and try something different. That forces a change in mindset, add new perspective and depth and with that, new motivation. With new experience, new ideas will be generated which may lead to new value creation to their team/company, and hence even a possible promotion. Changing that mindset is far better than just changing company. Edited October 14, 2023 by Starry 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 7:48 AM, Scion said: back from Japan recently apple to apple comparison (eg ramen, sushi, Jap curry rice, etc), feel that food here is more expensive than Japan's 😅 Its been like that since about a decade ago. And it got cheaper and cheaper singapore is way too expensive. a silly ramen with not much ingredients cost $20 here. a really big solid bowl of ramen filled with meat and nori cost $12 over there 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 9:54 AM, Starry said: Leave will only give a temporary relief and hopefully some pay increment when joining the next company. If the mindset doesn't change, very soon the same problem will re-occur again in the new company. We attract what we usually think. A same mindset will attract back the same situation as before. That's why some people never seem to get out of their usual troubles and just keep moving in circles. But mindset is hard to change unless it is force to. So here is my suggestion for people who feels their career is stagnated for some reason. Get out of your comfort zone and do something different. Ask for a different role. Ask for a transfer. Or learn a new skill and try something different. That forces a change in mindset, add new perspective and depth and with that, new motivation. With new experience, new ideas will be generated which may lead to new value creation to their team/company, and hence even a possible promotion. Changing that mindset is far better than just changing company. At the end of the day ot becomes about the money. 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/13/2023 at 8:34 AM, Kxbc said: McD was a luxury to me then. Now can afford but don't want to eat it. Irony. Indeed, Big Mac was a luxury then. Now asked me to eat I also 😅. More of health issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/13/2023 at 8:34 AM, Kxbc said: McD was a luxury to me then. Now can afford but don't want to eat it. Irony. Indeed, Big Mac was a luxury then. Now asked me to eat I also 😅. More of health issue. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 Eat more...eat now...eat less or not at all cum next year...😅 Still under a dollah each now...but won't stay the same soon...the kueh 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 9:54 AM, Starry said: Leave will only give a temporary relief and hopefully some pay increment when joining the next company. If the mindset doesn't change, very soon the same problem will re-occur again in the new company. We attract what we usually think. A same mindset will attract back the same situation as before. That's why some people never seem to get out of their usual troubles and just keep moving in circles. But mindset is hard to change unless it is force to. So here is my suggestion for people who feels their career is stagnated for some reason. Get out of your comfort zone and do something different. Ask for a different role. Ask for a transfer. Or learn a new skill and try something different. That forces a change in mindset, add new perspective and depth and with that, new motivation. With new experience, new ideas will be generated which may lead to new value creation to their team/company, and hence even a possible promotion. Changing that mindset is far better than just changing company. At the end of the day ot becomes about the money. 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 11:07 AM, Fcw75 said: Indeed, Big Mac was a luxury then. Now asked me to eat I also 😅. More of health issue. Shrunk too much. I rather eat shake shack 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 4:14 PM, inlinesix said: Shrunk too much. I rather eat shake shack Nowadays McMuffins are like snacks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 5:17 PM, Throttle2 said: yes many underpay Fyi, my kah kias’ kah kias are paid 5 digit salaries already this cb Throttle always think his circle represents the whole of Singapore 😂 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 11:43 PM, Scion said: this cb Throttle always think his circle represents the whole of Singapore 😂 Actually maybe true also. Yesterday saw channel 8 documentary Frontline. The topic was on buying HDB, they interviewed one guy who is coming to 35 year old next year, this guy plans to buy 2 room BTO under the new scheme, but he afraid he might exceed the $7k income ceiling, as his current salary quite close to $7k liao and ca not buy his 2 room BTO. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/14/2023 at 11:43 PM, Scion said: this cb Throttle always think his circle represents the whole of Singapore 😂 This CB Scion always think his circle represents the whole of Singapore 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 14, 2023 Share October 14, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 4:35 PM, Throttle2 said: Bro, $7-8k is the kah kia of kah kias definitely not any senior role if oil and gas, freshie is already $7-8k Sorry reality bites I have heard of good degree honours graduate in chem engineering, get into oil and gas industry, entry level gross around that. With bonus definitely exceed. But those days when oil and gas was very lucrative industry, nowadays not too sure. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...