Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 10/10/2023 at 11:18 AM, Benarsenal said:

Do better? How? Who are the people who are actually making money for the company?

Is it justified? OK let's not say boss. Just a high ranked official. Those zho bo lan people who bulls**t their way to the top, and sweep all the profits and bonuses for themselves because they are a**holes.

I give you an example. My recently-departed COO, clearly his salary is many times more than mine. It was recently discovered that in his tenure here, he literally did jackshit. Not only that, he actively sabotaged the company, almost forced us into financial distress. Now we have to undo his bulls**t just to keep the company alive. While he sweep his backside and walk into another high-paying role elsewhere.

You see this kind of thing, you dulan or not. It's literally people's lives and livelihood on the line leh.

Expand  

Your COO case reminds of the previous SMRT CEO. Done his/her job badly, leave behind all the sh*ts and yet still bo tai chi and sweep his/her backside and continue drawing high pay elsewhere.

• Sad 1

On 10/11/2023 at 2:52 AM, 13177 said:

5 digit salaries still ubderpay ar?

Expand  

Not my kah kias but other peoples kah kias.  
my kah kias are quite nicely paid.   Thats why i highlighted.

Edited by Throttle2

On 10/11/2023 at 3:04 AM, Throttle2 said:

Not my kah kias but other peoples kah kias.  
my kah kias are quite nicely paid.   Thats why i highlighted.

Expand  

Good for your kah kias. Many times, kah kias are poorly paid but boss very well paid.

On 10/11/2023 at 2:50 AM, Wt_know said:

nowadays title all tok kong tok kong one la 

a bangla direct traffic at construction site = Traffic Marshal

uncle auntie at hawker = Cleaning Supervisor

building janitor or handyman = Maintenance Officer 

in IT field, everyone is Data Analyst, Consultant, Digital Specialist, Marketing Manager, Success Manager, etc

Expand  

At least we know what they actually do, unlike "Mayor".... 

ok ... chai peng index update

1 meat (steam pork) + curry chicken (2 small pc + 1 kentang) + kangkong + green vege = $7.50

  On 10/10/2023 at 9:32 AM, Benarsenal said:

Good for you, but that's not the reality on the ground for many.

Median income in SG is $5k: https://blog.seedly.sg/median-income-singapore

However, this can be manipulated, and often is.

Take an example, a company of two employees, boss and worker. 

Boss pays himself $10k, worker is paid $2k. Median income of company is (10+2)/2 = $6k

Later on, boss decides to increase his pay to $15k, worker increase to $3k. Median income is now (15+3)/2 = $9k

Company can say, "See, my average median income is growing". But it is not distributed evenly.

This is happening in a lot of places btw. Lower income workers see much slower growth than is supposed to be reflected by the average. The gap and disparity keeps growing and distorts the overall figure.

Expand  

paiseh ah but I think you got the definition of mean and median wrongly. I am not really into maths but Median is basically the 50th percentile or right in the middle while Mean = Average.

Therefore in a dept of 3 person earning $2, $3k and $10k:

• Mean = $7.5k
  • Median = $3k

Lots of difference between median and mean. Most times, have to consider both mean and median and also maybe the 25th or 75th percentile when trying to interpret such stats.

On 10/11/2023 at 5:18 AM, Volvobrick said:

Just tapao chai png... 1 pack 2 meat 1 veg 1 toufu, 1 pack 1 meat 1 egg 1 veg. I took out 12 dollars. Was charged 8.30! Can't complain! 

Expand  

Already very fortunate so cannot complain as some of us need to skip it🤣

  On 10/11/2023 at 2:58 AM, 13177 said:

Your COO case reminds of the previous SMRT CEO. Done his/her job badly, leave behind all the sh*ts and yet still bo tai chi and sweep his/her backside and continue drawing high pay elsewhere.

Expand  

from your pov, the job was done poorly. from the board's pov, perhaps the job was well done. because it is all about kpi. the mgt presents a set of kpi for the board's approval based on whatever strategy was approved by the board. the board approves the kpi. the mgt team achieves the kpi and is rewarded.

so who is right? 

if anything, perhaps the board itself approved the wrong set of strategy and kpi. perhaps was blindsided by other matters they deem more important. we'll never know unless we were part of the decision making process. 

i agree with t2's views though it is hard to stomach. if happy, stay in your job. not happy, then leave and find your dream job. we can only control our own salaries and are not in a position to say our colleagues are overpaid because jiak liao bee. perhaps that supposed jiak liao bee provides value to the company in ways we cannot see. or perhaps really no value to the company but the boss likes him/her. no point get angry on things we cannot control.

so again. if happy, stay in your job. not happy, then leave and find your dream job.

paiseh, just long winded today.

On 10/11/2023 at 6:20 AM, Throttle2 said:

$70, plus parking, petrol, etc… at least $110 today to go to work.  Hhhhmmmmm….

Expand  

The contrast and the lich and the puur.

$2.40 breakfast.

20231013_082331.thumb.jpg.cc7475271157832b264c3e9c11f8dbda.jpg

parking? Mbfc cannot afford parking,  so take train, 94 cent.

So mai fear, inflation can still survive🤣

Edited by Ct3833

On 10/11/2023 at 5:18 AM, Volvobrick said:

Just tapao chai png... 1 pack 2 meat 1 veg 1 toufu, 1 pack 1 meat 1 egg 1 veg. I took out 12 dollars. Was charged 8.30! Can't complain! 

Expand  

1 pack have 4 dishes le and 2 meat somemore, so $8.30 for 2 packs really cannot complain liao.