Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 (edited) On 10/10/2023 at 12:02 PM, Benarsenal said: Depends work as what lah. If you lucky to get into MNC/banking/finance or those scam money crypto tech firms, possible. Otherwise, hard. Really hard meh? Ok say work 5-7 yrs no $10k also got $8k , combined also $16k ooops and they f**ked themselvesfrom buying HDB . thats why i say, govt should scrap this stupid ceiling bullcrap. If i am singaporean and i want to buy hdb to live in it, it doesnt matter how much i earn. It is our birthright. Dont bloody screw us. Edited October 10, 2023 by Throttle2 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 (edited) On 10/10/2023 at 12:52 PM, yishunite said: You must live on another planet if you think this is norm in Singapore But $7k to $8k maybe not say that difficult to find, esp if you are in managerial role. Also if you work long enough, even in executive/engineer level also might have. Edited October 10, 2023 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 (edited) On 10/10/2023 at 1:03 PM, 13177 said: But $7k to $8k maybe not say that difficult to find, esp if you are in managerial role. Also if you work long enough, even in executive/engineer level also can have. isn't recent national stats show spore median salary is already 4.5k-5k ? which means 50% total workforce earns >= 5k ... which means household income smelly smelly 8k-10k let's say 75% of the 50% smelly smelly earns >= 8k means how many of the total workforce earn >= 8k ... Edited October 10, 2023 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 1:03 PM, 13177 said: But $7k to $8k maybe not say that difficult to find, esp if you are in managerial role. Also if you work long enough, even in executive/engineer level also might have. Sorry, $7-8k only very senior managerial role (like work for over 10 years maybe), or in highly profitable industries, like oil and gas. Otherwise, majority at best $5-6k 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 1:44 PM, yishunite said: Also, which manager role is manage 1-2 people only? Most managers manage 10, 20, 30+ even... so that $7-8k is very exceptional compared to their staff The managers who manage a small team of 2-3 pax, but who themselves are technically highly skilled, earn way beyond $8k. They are managers in name only. They are part of the working team, but have been given additional responsibilities like managing budget, doing appraisals, attending senior management meetings etc. I have worked for a company where the manager is paid less than the technical specialists they manage. The manager does all the low value administrative stuff while the highly paid technical staff use their time to conduct R&D and build products. These technical gurus are so disorganised, that even to document what they have successfully developed, their manager will assign a scribe to do the paperwork. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 1:44 PM, yishunite said: Also, which manager role is manage 1-2 people only? Most managers manage 10, 20, 30+ even... so that $7-8k is very exceptional compared to their staff The managers who manage a small team of 2-3 pax, but who themselves are technically highly skilled, earn way beyond $8k. They are managers in name only. They are part of the working team, but have been given additional responsibilities like managing budget, doing appraisals, attending senior management meetings etc. I have worked for a company where the manager is paid less than the technical specialists they manage. The manager does all the low value administrative stuff while the highly paid technical staff use their time to conduct R&D and build products. These technical gurus are so disorganised, that even to document what they have successfully developed, their manager will assign a scribe to do the paperwork. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/9/2023 at 8:11 PM, Volvobrick said: 24k p. a. in poverty liao! Can't survive without handouts. actually in some charity groups, the criteria for low income can be up to $4.5K/mth and receive certain amount of subsidies or financial assistant. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 1:34 PM, Benarsenal said: Sorry, $7-8k only very senior managerial role (like work for over 10 years maybe), or in highly profitable industries, like oil and gas. Otherwise, majority at best $5-6k Bro, $7-8k is the kah kia of kah kias definitely not any senior role if oil and gas, freshie is already $7-8k Sorry reality bites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 Good luck Singapore Good luck i think many Singaporeans are gonna be outpriced from their own country Retirement is neighboring countries which may not be that bad. i better go buy my villa in Pattaya first. 😂🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 4:35 PM, Throttle2 said: Bro, $7-8k is the kah kia of kah kias definitely not any senior role if oil and gas, freshie is already $7-8k Sorry reality bites I'd like to see evidence of this. The fact is, many companies in SG underpay severely, well below market value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 For rent to Singaporeans? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 (edited) On 10/10/2023 at 4:55 PM, Benarsenal said: I'd like to see evidence of this. The fact is, many companies in SG underpay severely, well below market value. yes many underpay Fyi, my kah kias’ kah kias are paid 5 digit salaries already Edited October 10, 2023 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 (edited) On 10/10/2023 at 5:17 PM, Throttle2 said: yes many underpay Fyi, my kah kias’ kah kias are paid 5 digit salaries already Good for you, but that's not the reality on the ground for many. Median income in SG is $5k: https://blog.seedly.sg/median-income-singapore However, this can be manipulated, and often is. Take an example, a company of two employees, boss and worker. Boss pays himself $10k, worker is paid $2k. Median income of company is (10+2)/2 = $6k Later on, boss decides to increase his pay to $15k, worker increase to $3k. Median income is now (15+3)/2 = $9k Company can say, "See, my average median income is growing". But it is not distributed evenly. This is happening in a lot of places btw. Lower income workers see much slower growth than is supposed to be reflected by the average. The gap and disparity keeps growing and distorts the overall figure. Edited October 10, 2023 by Benarsenal 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 4:55 PM, Benarsenal said: I'd like to see evidence of this. The fact is, many companies in SG underpay severely, well below market value. Have. But not common. Have a friend in this field. Tons of travel and high risk, and pay is very good. He was getting over 10k while the rest of us barely hit 5 as not so fresh grads. Shell pays very well also. But it comes with location and risks. Realistically, most early to mid 30s are getting 4 to 5k. Higher end around 6k. Mid to late 30s, 7 to 8k. My example are for traditional MNCs in engineering field for average performance workers. The big tech companies now are on a different level though. Easily 10 to 15k for a relatively senior sw engineer. But can forget career path. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 5:32 PM, Benarsenal said: Good for you, but that's not the reality on the ground for many. Median income in SG is $5k: https://blog.seedly.sg/median-income-singapore However, this can be manipulated, and often is. Take an example, a company of two employees, boss and worker. Boss pays himself $10k, worker is paid $2k. Median income of company is (10+2)/2 = $6k Later on, boss decides to increase his pay to $15k, worker increase to $3k. Median income is now (15+3)/2 = $9k Company can say, "See, my average median income is growing". But it is not distributed evenly. This is happening in a lot of places btw. Lower income workers see much slower growth than is supposed to be reflected by the average. The gap and disparity keeps growing and distorts the overall figure. Ok bro….😀 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 5:32 PM, Benarsenal said: Good for you, but that's not the reality on the ground for many. Median income in SG is $5k: https://blog.seedly.sg/median-income-singapore However, this can be manipulated, and often is. Take an example, a company of two employees, boss and worker. Boss pays himself $10k, worker is paid $2k. Median income of company is (10+2)/2 = $6k Later on, boss decides to increase his pay to $15k, worker increase to $3k. Median income is now (15+3)/2 = $9k Company can say, "See, my average median income is growing". But it is not distributed evenly. This is happening in a lot of places btw. Lower income workers see much slower growth than is supposed to be reflected by the average. The gap and disparity keeps growing and distorts the overall figure. Its only right that the boss gets more, its his business and risk. You expect even distribution??? Heh heh. You go be boss and try. he very nice boss to give 50% increment. I wish my Boss gave me 50% increment. Hai…..: Bro, no offence but if there is one advice i can give you, that is to get out of your “poor vs rich” mindset. Alse no company decide ms your fate, you decide your fate. Why do i always tell you guys that so many people are earning a lot? To inspire you to do better. But if you keep thinking that its far and beyond and only the way above average get $10kpm and you cant be there, then yup you wont get there. I am never interested in debating over stats. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 10, 2023 Share October 10, 2023 On 10/10/2023 at 7:08 PM, Throttle2 said: Its only right that the boss gets more, its his business and risk. You expect even distribution??? Heh heh. You go be boss and try. he very nice boss to give 50% increment. I wish my Boss gave me 50% increment. Hai…..: Bro, no offence but if there is one advice i can give you, that is to get out of your “poor vs rich” mindset. Alse no company decide ms your fate, you decide your fate. Why do i always tell you guys that so many people are earning a lot? To inspire you to do better. But if you keep thinking that its far and beyond and only the way above average get $10kpm and you cant be there, then yup you wont get there. I am never interested in debating over stats. Cheers Do better? How? Who are the people who are actually making money for the company? Is it justified? OK let's not say boss. Just a high ranked official. Those zho bo lan people who bulls**t their way to the top, and sweep all the profits and bonuses for themselves because they are a**holes. I give you an example. My recently-departed COO, clearly his salary is many times more than mine. It was recently discovered that in his tenure here, he literally did jackshit. Not only that, he actively sabotaged the company, almost forced us into financial distress. Now we have to undo his bulls**t just to keep the company alive. While he sweep his backside and walk into another high-paying role elsewhere. You see this kind of thing, you dulan or not. It's literally people's lives and livelihood on the line leh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...