Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 9/28/2023 at 9:58 PM, Voodooman said:

Singapore

Government monitoring businesses to stop them from using increased costs as excuse to profiteer: DPM Wong

Did they just announced up water price by 18% becos of increased costs? 

Oh ownself checks ownself, nothing found.

Wait, this sounds familiar.... Monitoring price increases and ensuring no profiteering.

WTF, I even checked the date of broadcast.

Singapore

Government monitoring businesses to stop them from using increased costs as excuse to profiteer: DPM Wong

Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong announced an additional S$1.1 billion support package to help Singaporean households with the rising cost of living.

Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Lawrence Wong speaking at a press conference on Sep 28, 2023.

Ang Hwee Min

28 Sep 2023 01:33PM (Updated: 28 Sep 2023 03:23PM)

How do they define profiteering?

Many will just say, oh cost of materials/ingredients/rental/utilities going up, so we also increase price lor (which is technically not wrong). So how? Are they gonna dictate cai png fix maximum price?

Wait, this sounds familiar.... Monitoring price increases and ensuring no profiteering.

Singapore

Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong announced an additional S$1.1 billion support package to help Singaporean households with the rising cost of living.

Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Lawrence Wong speaking at a press conference on Sep 28, 2023.

Ang Hwee Min

Really WTF

its just getting more and more ridiculous, this Lawrence Wong. 
i have no doubt that he has a noble thought and is in essence quite a nice chap, otherwise my friend wont marry him, but come on lah, if Govt can monitor business to stop them from using increased cost as an excuse to profiteer, we wouldnt have the billion dollar laundering case nor cases of frauds on govt business grants.  throwing money is all they can do now?  KNS ok

On 9/28/2023 at 2:58 PM, Voodooman said:

Singapore

Ang Hwee Min

Should record and play back every time an increase in electricity, water, garbage, conservancy, GST etc is announced. 

Be prepared for SGD$2 Kopi-O in coffeeshops!

20% increase in water + 20% increase in coffeebean prices = 40% increase in selling price!

I am using Coffeeshop calculation formula.

• Sad 1

On 9/29/2023 at 8:25 AM, Mustank said:

The govt big bangalow rent got increase price?

That one same case like Malaysia selling us raw water. Same price till 2061. Maybe can renew again then! 

On 9/28/2023 at 12:31 PM, Benarsenal said:

They take our money. Then scare we no money. So they decided to give us money. As if it's such a great act?

Then might as well dun take our money in the first place😒

On 9/28/2023 at 11:29 PM, Benarsenal said:

Many will just say, oh cost of materials/ingredients/rental/utilities going up, so we also increase price lor (which is technically not wrong). So how? Are they gonna dictate cai png fix maximum price?

Deja vu siah. He said the same thing when gst increased to 8%.

To me "monitor" w/o any concrete action might as well say the same thing as Mr Liam Neeson in Taken...

0d79cee7543b80dfaf8e559a1b9c3420.jpg

Looking at all the price hike+inflation+gst and looking at the $200 package + $200 vouchers, I literally laughed out loud. All the hikes are permanent and vs the pack+vouchers are like scraps. No wonder nowadays young ppl say they dont like their own country. Ok lah. At least 70% ppl like their pineapple president.

On 9/27/2023 at 7:26 PM, Silverkris said:

Things have also changed for the consumers.

Besides the "young seniors", more younger families are doing away with traditional foods that are exaggerating expensive during festivals, or they simply give up on the cultures.

I have seen lesser families buying bak kwa during CNY.

I have seen lesser families buying mooncakes and lanterns during mid autumn festivals.

Dragon boat festivals just come and go, most did not even bother to eat dumplings.

In fact I have eaten mooncakes only at companies which were given by suppliers instead.

Yes.. I'm one of them. Why need to buy when suppliers will give? If they don't give, I also won't give in to the exorbitant prices :D 

On 9/28/2023 at 10:29 PM, yishunite said:

Ya just like they monitor petrol company! So effective!

Monitor only mah. Of course effective. They never said anything about taking action :D 

On 9/29/2023 at 9:30 AM, Beregond said:

They take our money. Then scare we no money. So they decided to give us money. As if it's such a great act?

Simi act you said...?

It's true love...for your mo...feel rich by looking at it...😂

download (1).jpeg

Gym goers be on the lookout. Unless you are using gyms from ActiveSG. Those atas gyms didnt anticipate the price hikes and inflation will be in financial trouble. They called it "the evolving landscape of Sgp". There are already a couple of these gyms that had close abruptly this year.

Pure Fitness Suntec outlet's abrupt closure leaves netizens frustrated

https://www.asiaone.com/lifestyle/pure-fitness-suntec-outlets-abrupt-closure-leaves-netizens-frustrated?utm_source=a1home&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=A1+trending&utm_content=c1

News of the impending closure of Pure Yoga and Pure Fitness' Suntec City branch broke on social media yesterday (Sept 27).

On 9/29/2023 at 9:30 AM, Beregond said:

Simi act you said...?

It's true love...for your mo...feel rich by looking at it...😂

download (1).jpeg

On 9/28/2023 at 11:29 PM, Benarsenal said:

This monitoring is BS la. Unless they go audit all the hawkers' operating costs. And u can't control how much a plate of chicken rice they can sell. 

One of the better things in SG is the relatively cheap food in hawker and coffeeshops. But it isn't so for the last 3 years. Kopi easily 1.5, zhi char hor fun easily 6 dollars, cai png easily 5 bucks. It's natural for prices to go up through the years but our wages did not go up at the same rate. The 200 cdc voucher is just a joke and a chance to drive prices up higher.

Edited by Stratovarius
  • Sad 1