go with shrinkflation … 

On 3/14/2025 at 4:18 PM, Mustank said:

I make my coffee everyday from the $10 per kg kopi Hoon - one jug

then I charge 3 of my colleagues cost price. ( share kopi hoon cost) Sabo the nearby coffee shop 😂

the 3 fellows won’t be buying overprice duluted coffee from guy anymore 🤣

You are going to tank the Singapore economy. 

Then gahmen cannot give me CDC vouchers! 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 3/15/2025 at 11:58 AM, Stary said:

The ultra-rich folks do look at their investments, just not in the same way that normal people does.

Normal people are obsessed with capital gains.  They take a lot of risk in their portfolios and spent time looking for the "best stock" good entry and exit points. They get swayed by media news, events, analyst talk, etc, etc. Some even day trade to get "market beating returns". Usually most will lose money.

The ultra-rich folks investment priority is in preservation and resiliency. Their portfolios are extremely diversified across many asset classes, private equities, hedge funds etc  and look extremely boring.  Their advisors will update them every quarter or so.  4%-5% gain a year on their portfolios is already generational wealth for many normal people, so there is no need to take excessive risk. Preservation and consistency is  key for these richie rich group.

Normal folks try to maximise capital gain in their investments (properties, picking the right stocks, crypto etc) simply becos a low risk 5%, 6% return is not going to make a difference in their lives. Their capital is simply insufficient. 

Like having 2 dollar in your pocket. No point investing. Better buy Toto with it and live with hope for half a week. 

Edited by Volvobrick

last night i went to Italian Restaurant for dinner.  All I see are young people. I was the oldest patron and person there for sure, except one waiter who looked a little older.

All these young people spending their daily salary away just like that.  i dont think they can grumble or complain about not being able to afford HDB if they want to spend $100 for a meal..  oh well, i guess it was friday night and they only do it once in a month, maybe

On 3/15/2025 at 12:32 PM, Volvobrick said:

Normal folks try to maximise capital gain in their investments (properties, picking the right stocks, crypto etc) simply becos a 5%, 6% return in not going to make a difference in their lives. Their capital is simply insufficient. 

Like having 2 dollar in your pocket. No point investing. Better buy Toto with it and live with hope for half a week. 

and thats where normal folks will continue to fail and fail and fail becos they are doing what they should not be doing.  ie, increasing risk to "win" more

It's just like walking into the casino.   in the end realising that they will only lose more by increasing risk.  

I on the other hand am satisfied with a 5-6% pa return for life.

Edited by Throttle2

On 3/15/2025 at 12:32 PM, Volvobrick said:

Normal folks try to maximise capital gain in their investments (properties, picking the right stocks, crypto etc) simply becos a low risk 5%, 6% return is not going to make a difference in their lives. Their capital is simply insufficient. 

Cannot stretch the limited 2 dollah...but can stretch the hope for whole week with the 2 dollah...buy one dollah quick pick toto for monday...buy one dollah quick pick 4d for sunday...skip wed thu and sat...still same 2 dollah...still same 2 hopes...but can lust for a fool week...i mean full...😁

5th Gear
On 3/15/2025 at 12:32 PM, Throttle2 said:

last night i went to Italian Restaurant for dinner.  All I see are young people. I was the oldest patron and person there for sure, except one waiter who looked a little older.

All these young people spending their daily salary away just like that.  i dont think they can grumble or complain about not being able to afford HDB if they want to spend $100 for a meal..  oh well, i guess it was friday night and they only do it once in a month, maybe

Their mentality,  spend first worry later, who know may just collapse next day, nobody knows🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 3/15/2025 at 7:36 PM, Ginyu said:

Their mentality,  spend first worry later, who know may just collapse next day, nobody knows🤣

The YOLO attitude in Life when young leads to varying results when older. 
Usually not great although there can be a certain degree of outliers

however a YOLO attitude with Finances only leads to one consequence when older.  And that is one which isnt abundance. 

when a person is always going for Broke, the chances are he she will be Broke.   🤣😂😅 

On 3/15/2025 at 12:32 PM, Throttle2 said:

How you know these youngsters are spending their daily salary away? They might be able to afford such lifestyle and yet still have savings?! Lol.

On 3/15/2025 at 10:46 PM, 13177 said:

How you know these youngsters are spending their daily salary away? They might be able to afford such lifestyle and yet still have savings?! Lol.

Muayahhahahhahhahhahahhahhahha

On 3/14/2025 at 4:10 PM, Stary said:

Complicated? Nah.....only 3 criterias. No numbers or quantitative maths involved. Simple.

Difficult? Maybe . If easy, then everyone would be truly wealthy  and nobody would be working. lol😄

Money cannot make you happy, no money will definitely make you unhappy.

Whatever you say, there are still numbers involved.  Some people need a lot, others don't and it is simple people who are happier, perhaps.

Contentment is bliss.

On 3/16/2025 at 8:26 AM, Voodooman said:

Whatever you say, there are still numbers involved.  Some people need a lot, others don't and it is simple people who are happier, perhaps.

Contentment is bliss.

Don't compare. Happiness and contentment will increase 100%.

On 3/16/2025 at 8:26 AM, Voodooman said:

Contentment is bliss.

Numbers are needed only to the individual themselves. Some need more, some need less. It doesn't really matter.

But if it is just to define what is "wealthy",  I don't consider how much they have, how much they earned, how many cars  they have, etc. As long they  can fulfill the 3 criteria's I put out, then that's good enough for me.

Yes, contentment is bliss and very necessary in today's day and age  😀

Edited by Stary

On 3/16/2025 at 10:28 PM, Wt_know said:

wealthy or not wealthy ... every day still need to go through

🥺😰😱😭🥹😟😔🙁😢😫☹️😞

The time of the year for income tax assessment is here.  

Bad news is despite retiring for a year already, i still have to pay so much income tax

Good news is that it is less than half of what i used to pay

Looking forward to next year, free of income tax at last ✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️

That can help me cope with the turbocharged inflation. 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏