Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

Today lunch was, Mapo Tofu with salted fish and stirred fried greens with mushroom and sambal friend rice. $30 total for me and wife.  Ok lah mai hiam.  Skip dinner….save money…

On 2/4/2025 at 1:41 PM, Throttle2 said:

Today lunch was, Mapo Tofu with salted fish and stirred fried greens with mushroom and sambal friend rice. $30 total for me and wife.  Ok lah mai hiam.  Skip dinner….save money…

Today's ren ri leh. Should treat yourself with louhei also! 

On 2/4/2025 at 1:57 PM, kobayashiGT said:

Today's ren ri leh. Should treat yourself with louhei also! 

Oh.  
Nevermind, no need, save money.  Poor retired middle age guy here

On 2/4/2025 at 2:03 PM, Throttle2 said:

Oh.  
Nevermind, no need, save money.  Poor retired middle age guy here

hahaha. who here isn't this category? 🤣

On 2/4/2025 at 3:12 PM, kobayashiGT said:

hahaha. who here isn't this category? 🤣

Got many

for eg.  You 

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/4/2025 at 1:41 PM, Throttle2 said:

Wah, $15 per pax? No wonder if don't have millions in bank, how to retire comfortably? Lol.

On 2/4/2025 at 10:08 AM, bsswan said:

That was the point the guy was making, I think. Part-timers and Services Crews etc. here are not paid enough. In a country like SG, incomes are too low to be sustainable and, as you say, feed into a self-supporting chain reaction.

Aus/UK/HK all have salaries in that ~$20/hr level whereby I have a young family member just starting out and firstly working retail in HK earning a basic ~S$2,800 plus bonuses and in-house discounts. With private housing psf on par (and often cheaper) with SG as one goes does down and the other up, we have overtaken HK as the more difficult to make ends meet at upper middle and lesser levels. The SG trend will certainly continue so the statement our food is "too cheap" I think echoes the fact this country is upside-down and that we need a better balance.

HK housing market is a nightmare comparing with SG.

Their existing public housing are slums. They've rolled out newer public flats in recent years but availability is nowhere near HDB level and only lower wage workers can qualify.

Majority of middle class salarymen live in private property that's equivalent to HDB 3-room flats or smaller. My HK colleagues call our 4/5 room HDB as 豪宅 bungalows 😂

Edited by Jellandross
  • Sad 1

On 2/3/2025 at 7:34 PM, Jellandross said:

Went Sydney few mths back for biz trip. Normal lunch at food court starting at $15-20 upwards.

To be fair, blue collars like craftsmen, construction workers, etc, can earn a decent wage too so there's the chain reaction.

Aussie a lot of big ticket and major items are cheap (healthcare, education, cars).

On 2/6/2025 at 9:48 PM, Atonchia said:

Wah Lao eh!

Went GP for flu bill come up to $100+ 

Consultation $36.

Then all the medication added to almost $100 

Then GST. 

What GP you seen, consultation is $36? Did you see the GP past midnight ah? I know seeing a GP at late hours in those 24 hrs clinic is not cheap.

On 2/4/2025 at 5:36 PM, Jellandross said:

Their existing public housing are slums. They've rolled out newer public flats in recent years but availability is nowhere near HDB level and only lower wage workers can qualify.

Majority of middle class salarymen live in private property that's equivalent to HDB 3-room flats or smaller. My HK colleagues call our 4/5 room HDB as 豪宅 bungalows 😂

Yeah. 5000 sqf landed is termed "luxurious mansion" and sells for usd 70m.

Here GCB so cheap! 

Wah Lao eh!

Consultation $36.

Then GST. 

The doc also needs to pay more 100k plus COE plus ARF for his 911 mah.... Help him a bit lah! 

On 2/6/2025 at 10:05 PM, 13177 said:

What GP you seen, consultation is $36? Did you see the GP past midnight ah? I know seeing a GP at late hours in those 24 hrs clinic is not cheap.

Was around 9pm. 

Wah Lao eh!

Consultation $36.

Then GST. 

On 2/7/2025 at 8:32 AM, Volvobrick said:

Funny but sadly very true. Remember the one treating the Brunei royals? 

Same with some workshops...no 1k no tok...as in potong...😅

On 2/4/2025 at 5:36 PM, Jellandross said:

indeed our 4/5 R are huge by HK standards vs a vis pricing! my colleague from HK visited my place last yr and was blown away with my 5R BTO....and the price as well! 

and i know why after visiting his place in HK!!! :sick:....600 SQ for USD1.5 mil!!! and is not even in central!!