Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 11/8/2024 at 3:10 PM, Ginyu said:

Notice quite a number are living on credit, for only a few items of groceries or a cup of coffee also need to use Visa to pay? Not those debit ones but the credit type🤣

Besides the purpose of collecting cashback and reward points, another key reason why people are using credit card to pay for minor things is that they probably have those high interest savings "multiplier" accounts promoted by the banks in the last 4-5 years.

To earn that high interest , there is a slew of conditions to meet such as crediting salary into it, charge $x/month of credit card bills, x number of GIRO payments, etc, etc.  And so they use their credit card to clock the amount of $ needed to earn that high interest.

Edited by Stary

On 11/10/2024 at 6:15 PM, Stary said:

Besides the purpose of collecting cashback and reward points, another key reason why people are using credit card to pay for minor things is that they probably have those high interest savings "multiplier" accounts promoted by the banks in the last 4-5 years.

To earn that high interest , there is a slew of conditions to meet such as crediting salary into it, charge $x/month of credit card bills, x number of GIRO payments, etc, etc.  And so they use their credit card to clock the amount of $ needed to earn that high interest.

Are they the minority or majority?🤣

IMG_0007.jpeg

IMG_0008.jpeg

On 11/10/2024 at 6:51 PM, Throttle2 said:

why no money still want to buy?  Hai……..🤦🏻‍♂️

To keep up with the jones and impress people that they don’t even know🤣

On 11/10/2024 at 6:51 PM, Throttle2 said:

why no money still want to buy?  Hai……..🤦🏻‍♂️

coz neighbour buy, so need to buy to show that I also got....:grin:

On 11/10/2024 at 6:45 PM, inlinesix said:

Total CC debt: $20b

Rollover balance: $7b (35%)

Bad debt: $89.4m (5%)

What you think?

i wonder how many % use this to pay condo instalment...:sick:...jia lat..

$20B is no joke...and bad debt is only 5%? i would provide a higher amt for those categorized as rollover $7b for bad debt....dunno how many % there will become bad...jin cham!

On 11/10/2024 at 6:40 PM, Ginyu said:

Are they the minority or majority?🤣

dunno and dun care.....

credit card is not my interest since I am not eligible to apply ( cos no celery) lol.....

Edited by Stary

On 11/11/2024 at 10:18 AM, Spidey10 said:

$20B is no joke...and bad debt is only 5%? i would provide a higher amt for those categorized as rollover $7b for bad debt....dunno how many % there will become bad...jin cham!

It's not the $20b itself being a problem, it's the whole $7b+$90m that will highlight the gravity of those struggling and the number of people in that situation.

It's no joke to pay cc interest on late payment.

On 11/11/2024 at 10:18 AM, Spidey10 said:

They have to borrow either to sustain their lifestyle or fight inflation through loan🤣

IMG_0010.jpeg

On 11/11/2024 at 11:13 AM, Stary said:

dunno and dun care.....

credit card is not my interest since I am not eligible to apply ( cos no celery) lol.....

Aiyo nowadays even no celery , the bank also offer you. They only need know if you want or not then the card will be delivered within a week or so🤣

On 11/11/2024 at 1:28 PM, Ginyu said:

They have to borrow either to sustain their lifestyle or fight inflation through loan🤣

IMG_0010.jpeg

Besides the credit card debt, the increase (year-on-year) in the rest of the loans are pretty much inline with wage increment percentages.

As for the increase in credit card debt, those are serious, but well, their parents will settle it for them either when alive or dead (inheritance). lol......😄. No scare, no scare.....

On 11/11/2024 at 1:46 PM, Ginyu said:

Aiyo nowadays even no celery , the bank also offer you. They only need know if you want or not then the card will be delivered within a week or so🤣

Sure or not......so lax now?  Long time ago I remember I need to submit some documentation proof of celery....

On 11/11/2024 at 11:13 AM, Stary said:

dunno and dun care.....

that's an advantage....pay everything by cash! cannot afford no need to buy....best situation in the world...can sleep very soundly at night...:grin:

On 11/11/2024 at 1:48 PM, Stary said:

Besides the credit card debt, the increase (year-on-year) in the rest of the loans are pretty much inline with wage increment percentages.

As for the increase in credit card debt, those are serious, but well, their parents will settle it for them either when alive or dead (inheritance). lol......😄. No scare, no scare.....

so basically nothing for savings from their increment....what they get is what they spend....huat ahhh...:grin:

suddenly kena sotong goreng.....sure huat like mad...

On 11/11/2024 at 1:52 PM, Stary said:

Sure or not......so lax now?  Long time ago I remember I need to submit some documentation proof of celery....

I got my card even I have retired. The bank just call me and ask if I want it🤣

Edited by Ginyu