Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

I feel that a commercial establishment can sometimes be more effective than the opposition party in conveying ground sentiments to the ruling party. When folks like Ikea offers help, it doesn't first check whether you're staying in a 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 room, executive HDB, or private property. That's why I like to go Ikea jalan jalan.  😁

'We know that customers in Singapore are feeling the pinch': IKEA slashes prices for over 140 product

IKEA Singapore in September reduced the prices of 144 products, with price cuts planned for more than 60 other products by Apr 1, 2024. This comes after IKEA announced last week that it would be cutting the prices of some of its products globally. 

“I think 2023 was the year where we turned the corner on prices and started lowering them again,” chief executive of Inter-IKEA Group Jon Abrahamsson Ring told Bloomberg, referring to the wholesale prices that are charged to retailers such as IKEA Singapore.

“We are delighted that wholesale prices will finally come down on IKEA products in the future and we always pass on savings where we can,” said Mr Jansen. 

He added that IKEA’s 2022 Life at Home report revealed that 74 per cent of Singaporean respondents - over 1,000 were surveyed - expressed worries about their household finances.

“That’s why we work hard to keep prices as low as possible on essential and best-selling items so these savings really matter and count for the many Singaporeans looking to get the most for their home,” said Mr Jansen.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ikea-singapore-furniture-home-decor-lower-price-cost-saving-3851491

On 10/17/2023 at 2:53 PM, Didu said:

I feel that a commercial establishment can sometimes be more effective than the opposition party in conveying ground sentiments to the ruling party. When folks like Ikea offers help, it doesn't first check whether you're staying in a 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 room, executive HDB, or private property. That's why I like to go Ikea jalan jalan.  😁

'We know that customers in Singapore are feeling the pinch': IKEA slashes prices for over 140 product

IKEA Singapore in September reduced the prices of 144 products, with price cuts planned for more than 60 other products by Apr 1, 2024. This comes after IKEA announced last week that it would be cutting the prices of some of its products globally. 

“I think 2023 was the year where we turned the corner on prices and started lowering them again,” chief executive of Inter-IKEA Group Jon Abrahamsson Ring told Bloomberg, referring to the wholesale prices that are charged to retailers such as IKEA Singapore.

“We are delighted that wholesale prices will finally come down on IKEA products in the future and we always pass on savings where we can,” said Mr Jansen. 

He added that IKEA’s 2022 Life at Home report revealed that 74 per cent of Singaporean respondents - over 1,000 were surveyed - expressed worries about their household finances.

“That’s why we work hard to keep prices as low as possible on essential and best-selling items so these savings really matter and count for the many Singaporeans looking to get the most for their home,” said Mr Jansen.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ikea-singapore-furniture-home-decor-lower-price-cost-saving-3851491

Winner….heh heh

On 10/17/2023 at 11:31 PM, Fcw75 said:

I wonder why would people want to eat there .  But the problem is this is like a mini coe system, they raise their price and there are still wiling buyers, so there is nothing for us to complain about 

If all wives can quit the job, stay home and cook healthy meals for the family, within a month or two, all these expensive cafe and hawker will go bankrupt. 

But won't happen lah. Majority of ppl in SG depend on eat-out for daily main meals, even weekends for some. They have no choice.

On 10/17/2023 at 11:52 PM, Sosaria said:

If all wives can quit the job, stay home and cook healthy meals for the family, within a month or two, all these expensive cafe and hawker will go bankrupt. 

But won't happen lah. Majority of ppl in SG depend on eat-out for daily main meals, even weekends for some. They have no choice.

If wife is more capable, man also can stay home🤭

Nowadays, a lot of mall and mall-like food court are charging these kind of prices for anything that has meat. 

I can only hope my caipng stall dun raise prices when I am back to SG soon....🙏

Counter inflationary breakfast, $2.10, tea $1.30, senior passion card get me into a sardin packed train trip $0.94 . Total $4.34 to get me a breakfast plus transport, can live on budget retirement or not ? I think can , mai comprain. 

20231018_081137.jpg

20231018_083026.jpg

Edited by Ct3833

On 10/18/2023 at 12:00 AM, inlinesix said:

If wife is more capable, man also can stay home🤭

Yah i think now in SG, your scenario is more likely. Better the man stay at home. At least high chance more capable of cooking and cleaning.

On 10/18/2023 at 8:33 AM, Ct3833 said:

Counter inflationary breakfast, $2.10, tea $1.30, senior passion card get me into a sardin packed train trip $0.94 . Total $4.34 to get me a breakfast plus transport, can live on budget retirement or not ? I think can , mai comprain. 

20231018_081137.jpg

20231018_083026.jpg

$4.34 is as of now. Many years down the road don’t know become how much more expensive liao.

Learn from gahmen! I don't care if hawkers charge more but they must display the prices clearly for us to decide. 

On 10/18/2023 at 8:33 AM, Ct3833 said:

20231018_081137.jpg

20231018_083026.jpg

I miss those days of taking mrt

img_2_1697595965968.jpg

• Haha! 8

On 10/17/2023 at 11:52 PM, Sosaria said:

Why must wife cook leh. Guy cannot cook ah.

On 10/18/2023 at 12:01 AM, Starry said:

Nowadays, a lot of mall and mall-like food court are charging these kind of prices for anything that has meat. 

I can only hope my caipng stall dun raise prices when I am back to SG soon....🙏

Cai png difficult to find cheap nowadays. Even those cai png at heartlander coffeeshop and hawker centre charges at least $4 plus with 1 normal meat and 2 normal veggies.

On 10/18/2023 at 11:06 AM, Benarsenal said:

Why must wife cook leh. Guy cannot cook ah.

You will he surprise in this era, many guys know how to cook than wife lo. 😂