Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 9/5/2023 at 11:00 AM, Watwheels said:

I think meat related food be it cooked or raw increased the most.

Take for example Chinese roasted pork meat be it char siew rice or siow bak rice. The portion not only shrunk to "kids meal" size the meats slices have become very thin. I think the poor hawker is hardly making profit if they just maintain the price but shrink the portion. I also gave up eating such places. Instead I go to finest/fairprice pre-prepared roasted duck and pork rice or no rice tabao home and heat up. Their prices are lower and is able to see more meat in the meal. Not kid's meal.

Dont you find the hawker food/foodcourt/restaurant food portion have shrunk a lot? One meal cannot satisfy your hunger?

yes confirmed.

i order charsiew and roast pork rice.  6 thin slices of charsiew and 6 small pieces of roast pork.  $5.  Basically have to ration the meat with every mouthful of rice…. Unsatisfying man.  They really can do at least 2 slices more of each, since its already so thin and small.   

6 thin slices is actually 3 proper slices.  

damn tulan

Edited by Throttle2

On 9/5/2023 at 1:02 PM, 13177 said:

I think nowadays kids not even start working already can buy starbuck coffee and branded bubble teas. So after start working sure can afford la, esp salary not low for these youngsters when start work.

Parents give them too much pocket 💰 😂

On 9/5/2023 at 6:19 PM, Benarsenal said:

Yesterday went to Koufu Fusionopolis and bought cai fan. Potato and ko lo yok and rice, $7.60 

KNNCCB [furious]

Next time need to ask cai png stalls. This one how much, that one how much? Economic rice, what an irony! 
but still less than a nasi Padang stall. I know the spices used are much better but that and the cooking prep sometimes doesn’t add up to the extra mark up. 

Edited by Mkl22

Yesterday went to Koufu Fusionopolis and bought cai fan. Potato and ko lo yok and rice, $7.60 

KNNCCB [furious]

Must be from one atas pig to command the premium...😁

• Sad 1

On 9/5/2023 at 12:57 PM, Voodooman said:

KNN. This 2 phase gst thingy is the stupidest PAP policy ideas in the last 10 years. 

It's like slapping your face in installments. Lai, slap right side first. Done liao it's time for left side 😁

KNNCCB [furious]

I think nowadays, if dine at most malls/commercial building foodcourts,  need to budget at least $10/pax (including drinks) for an average just enough meal.

really jialat man

The other day I go eat prata, naan and some briyani with indian dishes at a shop near mustafa, already $60 for 4 pax. 

Edited by Starry

KNNCCB [furious]

Find Fusionpolis quite an atas place. The food there should not be cheap even for a foodcourt.

On 9/5/2023 at 9:49 PM, 13177 said:

Find Fusionpolis quite an atas place. The food there should not be cheap even for a foodcourt.

Yeah, that area generally the food not cheap.

On 8/7/2023 at 9:12 AM, Wt_know said:

how come amdk inflation came down fast and furious 

what about spore? i still feel local inflation is fast and furious in sinkieland

IMG_4128.jpeg

Inflation is calculated YoY... after one full year, it's already too late as the prices are there to stay unless economy spiral downwards until deflation happens (like China)

from the data above, Jun 2022 is 9.1%, then Jun 2023 is 3%

so for example, on average, a $100 item in 2021 became $109.1 in 2022 (9.1% more than 2021), then became $112.4 in 2023 (3% more than 2022)

inflation rate slows down but item is still a lot more expensive as compared to just 2 years ago

On 9/5/2023 at 1:02 PM, 13177 said:

I think nowadays kids not even start working already can buy starbuck coffee and branded bubble teas. So after start working sure can afford la, esp salary not low for these youngsters when start work.

last time working at Raffles Place, i saw young smart looking professionals one hand Starbucks, one hand packet of cigarette, on a daily basis 😁

i guess at least $15 everyday just on these 

On 9/6/2023 at 8:06 AM, Scion said:

last time working at Raffles Place, i saw young smart looking professionals one hand Starbucks, one hand packet of cigarette, on a daily basis 😁

need caffeine and nicotine to destress la

everyday handle millions and millions in and out leh

:grin:

ommmphhhh ommmphhh ommmphhh

v1r0jZ.gif

On 9/6/2023 at 8:06 AM, Scion said:

Maybe their salary can sustain on these expenses lo.

On 9/6/2023 at 10:01 AM, 13177 said:

Maybe their salary can sustain on these expenses lo.

Can sustain. 

But living on credit card.

No saving in bank😅

On 9/6/2023 at 11:05 AM, Billard18 said:

@Beregond Y need savings? Live happy act professional can liao. Future can inherited parents million dollar HDB :0

Yes. Many of our youth are living off their parents income or property.

And many parents are happy to let their kids live that way and enjoy life.

😐

How to complete with kids from over sea that come over to look for work