Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

1 minute ago, D3badge said:

but on the flip size if one borrow a million 30 years ago to buy property , that pieces of property could easily be worth at least $4m now. so to me borrowing money for investment is Generally ok but not for spending 😁

yup. But i think you misunderstood 
This is not about whether buying property is right or wrong. Or whether borrowing is right or wrong
i personally made millions from properties too.

Was pointing out the wrong way of calculating.  In terms of that, there is no question about right or wrong.   
when you are calculating it wrongly, you are calculating it wrong.   No two ways.

On 4/29/2022 at 12:41 PM, Ingenius said:

While prices is rising, some of this will translate to higher profit for businesses, and hopefully it will translate to higher wages for employees. Wage increase is only possible if businesses profit has increased.  So it is not all a bad thing. 

Higher wages in an inflationary environment is dependent on demand and supply.

Don't think inflation is good for workers. Some inflation is good for business but this level of inflation screws almost everyone except the irresponsible debt loving Americans. 

At this rate, CPF life won't cover you for subsistence living and they might need to up the min sum.

Sigh…….Cuban cigar prices in the last 2 yrs really shot up.  50% to 500% increase depending on brand and format. 

non cuban cigars still cheap and plentiful but i only smoke Cubans. Dang!

so that has hit me quite a lot despite the fact that i hv an 8-10 year personal inventory .   Of course i make money should i sell, but i didnt buy to sell.  

Edited by Throttle2

13 hours ago, Playtime said:

Tell him go downstairs exercise corner lor..

this one for senior citizens leh, later residents complain to MP.

18 hours ago, inlinesix said:

No fixed term of repayment?
🤭

long term debt, maybe write off after 3 years [laugh]

21 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Well, then she's lucky that she managed to find a coffeeshop that has enough customer base/physical moat in terms of location to support such an endeavour.
And her balance of charging enough so that the stalls don't just outright cancel their tenancy or are turned off not to start in the first place.

Who don't want to be a landlord? I also want to be lol.

But not every coffeeshop will be raking in the money. There's one coffeeshop in yishun near the Yishun Park. Two master tenants died over several years. Only finally a 3rd master tenant managed to change it to a halal dinner/supper muslim stall coffeshop.

Some of the many older estates neighbourhood centers in AMK whereby entire rows of shops are just shuttered up. Or 1 shop is open out of 5.
Where i used to stay, there are several other coffeeshops with shuttered stalls or only half the stalls operating in new BTOs. And some of them are run by experienced coffeeshop owners like Broadway etc.

My parents' side there quite good in business. Most are around there since started. 10 to 20 years. Alot of mei mei there from young girls to now mothers. Lol. 

My old place bto coffeeshop has similar issues. Every few months landlord increase rent. Alot came in a move out after a few months. Left less than half the stalls are occupied. 

21 hours ago, Jman888 said:

my son borrow $1.2k from me to pay for the annual fee for the gym, cos they going to increase the fee next month.

I never like these upfront payment or upfront package deals.  anytime can Toh. 

8 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

I never like these upfront payment or upfront package deals.  anytime can Toh. 

Now that is a valid point. 😂😂😂

On 4/29/2022 at 6:10 PM, Jman888 said:

my son borrow $1.2k from me to pay for the annual fee for the gym, cos they going to increase the fee next month.

That's a bit exorbitant. SSC gym only $2.50 per use and cheaper if you are regular can pay for 'season' rate. I go a gym that only charge $2 per use [laugh] just for the treadmill and power rack. All else can do at fitness corner, calisthenics etc. But no chiobu lah

Edited by Sosaria

33 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

That's a bit exorbitant. SSC gym only $2.50 per use and cheaper if you are regular can pay for 'season' rate. I go a gym that only charge $2 per use [laugh] just for the treadmill and power rack. All else can do at fitness corner, calisthenics etc. But no chiobu lah

is a boxing gym that he goes 4-5 time a week.

7 hours ago, Sosaria said:

Most of the CBD gym either this price or more.

More or less the normal price.

SSC gym for Unker🤭

I don’t use gym.

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

SSC gym for Unker🤭

I don’t use gym.

Ya, around $100 or even more per month for those so called atas gym in town is standard price lo. I find even the safra gym price like also went up now. Remember last time it was like $32 per month. 😅

This is all temporary. There is shortage of oil, grains etc from Russia but opec and others are ramping up. The issue is the link between producer and retailer due to covid which saw supply chains ruptured but slowly coming back up. So we should see things come back to normal but I bet the prices will stay up and companies will have record profits. Oh but pay increase remain 2.5%. Same thing happened to me. Employer just made very good profit, most staff awarded 2.5% increment. Capitalism and trickle up effect. Another gcb for the boss, jb petrol/ grocery runs for staff. 

3 hours ago, inlinesix said:

SSC gym for Unker🤭

I don’t use gym.

i don't like the ActiveSG gyms. Basically lot of egos when it comes to the weights areas. 

The regulars act like its some sorta club. So if I'm into gym, 100% won't go all these places.

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Ya, around $100 or even more per month for those so called atas gym in town is standard price lo. I find even the safra gym price like also went up now. Remember last time it was like $32 per month. 😅

must be many donkey years ago. 15 years ago already not that price LOL.

20 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

i don't like the ActiveSG gyms. Basically lot of egos when it comes to the weights areas. 

The regulars act like its some sorta club. So if I'm into gym, 100% won't go all these places.

Not only ActiveSG gyms, many other gyms when it comes to the free weights areas, the regulars always act like the area belong exclusively for them to use. 

23 hours ago, Jman888 said:

this one for senior citizens leh, later residents complain to MP.

long term debt, maybe write off after 3 years [laugh]

Can ask your son to consider those gym membership at hotel. Annual fee with access to pool and other facilities/gym organised courses.