Flashing Hazard lights 2 times = Thank you

Stratovarius

12 hours ago, Hamburger said:

My way of saying  thank you is lup you and be on my way. 

This is best. Don't waste anyone's time. Including the driver u lupped. Don't slow down to fumble to press the hazard light button. 

Hazard lights are for hazards, mai kay kiang! 

Like high beam is used to tell the hogger in front to get out of the way, don't use it to say thank you or telling others you are giving way.... 😉

Edited by Volvobrick

12 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

This is best. Don't waste anyone's time. Including the driver u lupped. Don't slow down to fumble to press the hazard light button. 

Hazard lights are for hazards, mai kay kiang! 

Like high beam is used to tell the hogger in front to get out of the way, don't use it to say thank you or telling others you are giving way.... 😉

my hazard light button is not at the most convenient and prominent place on the dashboard

it's quite dangerous to remove my vision and hand from the road and steering wheel to look for this button while overtaking

Edited by Phang

8 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Flash two times is thank you 

Flash three times is I thank you 

Flash four times is thank you very much

Flash five times is I thank you very much

On the flip side... 

2 is F U

3 is C C B

4 is K N N B

5 is K N N C B

6 is K N N B C B

7 is K N N B C C B

Anything above 7 is special regards to all ancestors and body parts...😁 

can you decipher the message? 😁

K~~~~~~ NNBCCBCCBCCB?

My way of saying thank you is to either raise my hand around my rear view mirror so that the driver behind could see it , or i will wind down my window to raise my hand out from the window to gesture a thanks.

Guess flash hazard lights 2 times really = thank you le. Cause just now on the road, one car signal to change lane and i slow down for the car, after that i saw the car flash hazard lights 2 times. 😂

15 minutes ago, Phang said:

K~~~~~~ NNBCCBCCBCCB?

This one needs someone who's naval navigation trained to decode...i hazard a guess it's still a message about someone's ancestors... 😁

40 minutes ago, Phang said:

my hazard light button is not at the most convenient and prominent place on the dashboard

it's quite dangerous to remove my vision and hand from the road and steering wheel to look for this button while overtaking

Unless you are driving the car for the first time, you should know all the controls at your fingertip, especially it is your own car.

Btw, the thank you gesture is given after overtaking, not while overtaking.

9 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Anything above 7 is special regards to all ancestors and body parts...😁 

or DLLM ... :XD:

anyways, SG drivers are either high strung or kayu, don't need to flash this flash that. wait ppl take offence.

so better just be observant and keep safety distance. 

2 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

My way of saying thank you is to either raise my hand around my rear view mirror so that the driver behind could see it , or i will wind down my window to raise my hand out from the window to gesture a thanks.

Yup I am also old school. A raise of hand is good enough  for me to show my appreciation. 

There is no need to mimick what other countries or their cultures do. 

I am glad that I have inculcated this friendly gesture to my children who also drive. 

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Guess flash hazard lights 2 times really = thank you le. Cause just now on the road, one car signal to change lane and i slow down for the car, after that i saw the car flash hazard lights 2 times. 😂

maybe it means  "f**k u road hogger"

:XD:

29 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

Yup I am also old school. A raise of hand is good enough  for me to show my appreciation. 

There is no need to mimick what other countries or their cultures do. 

I am glad that I have inculcated this friendly gesture to my children who also drive. 

sometimes i will wave at the guy who give way while overtaking. 

2 hours ago, Phang said:

K~~~~~~ NNBCCBCCBCCB?

from the rhythm of the high beam, i think u are spot on. lol.  

2 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

That's wonderful! 
I hope I can install a dashtop/dashboard short-cut button just for that!

last time got a period of time a few people install a light bar. can switch between smiley, thank you and middle finger. 

465a12e284a0a36a59941cdb4e18b44c.jpg.17fb9c3a240a34e49d5c69e66d1e57d3.jpg

2 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

last time got a period of time a few people install a light bar. can switch between smiley, thank you and middle finger. 

465a12e284a0a36a59941cdb4e18b44c.jpg.17fb9c3a240a34e49d5c69e66d1e57d3.jpg

Oh yea!😃 I remember I saw a police escort car has it!
May be I should give it a go...😁 image.thumb.png.a22304c70c99999f0fc8a6903950a4c5.png

image.thumb.png.9d3c326034f3a2b13122eaf5b21bfe09.png

Idiots everywhere. Better dun.

Wait all sorts of blinking/flashing hazard lights come on, like a mouse code, I mean mores code, oh, morse code, whatever. 

Imagine the biggest improvement in future car cabin will be this one BIG button with breakdown sign on it. And numbers 1-10 at its side. 😵💫

I just put up a hand near rear view mirror with all fingers standing so Centre one can't take credit. 😂

Or power down window to give a thumbs up. 

Standard response from driver behind is a shy one. Automatically, their car will suddenly leave 3 cars length behind mine. Machiam very shy liao. Works on bikes too. 

I think. I hope. Maybe they did not expect such a gesture. 

Stay safe 

@Stratovarius

On 4/28/2022 at 3:45 PM, Stratovarius said:

https://mothership.sg/2022/04/blinked-car-rear-lights-to-thank-driver-for-giving-way/

So hazard lights 2 times is thank you. High beam 2 times is f**k you? 😂

Apparently originated from Japan. Might give it a try. 

My Malaysian friend taught me.

If you are on the right most lane, and a car comes behind you signalling RIGHT, it's a polite way to tell you to get out of the way.

They don't flash lights or high beam.  They signal right while driving along the right most lane.