Jman888 Moderator May 23, 2022 Author Share May 23, 2022 33 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Cut my finger trying to remove gristle and also burnt my thumb while browning due to oil splash. Knn. looks like it put up a good fight you already not happy with the meat so you didn't cook it with a happy willing mood, hence injured yourself along the way. ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 7 minutes ago, Jman888 said: looks like it put up a good fight you already not happy with the meat so you didn't cook it with a happy willing mood, hence injured yourself along the way. This is true, no matter what you do, if you do not do it with a happy willing mood, very high chance would make mistake or injured yourself. I have experience so many times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Porridge and clay pot rice at a1 porridge is edible claypot rice is bad. Chicken is dry and over cooked, don’t feel fresh. Lup Cheong has a stale oily taste chi ca San qian compliments of MyRepublic 16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 23, 2022 Author Share May 23, 2022 9 minutes ago, Etnt said: Porridge and clay pot rice at a1 porridge is edible claypot rice is bad. Chicken is dry and over cooked, don’t feel fresh. Lup Cheong has a stale oily taste their porridge not bad, last 2 yrs of covid always buy $5.50 voucher from lazada (or was it cashback) for the porridge. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 3 hours ago, SGMCF328 said: Had this kway chup on Styrofoam tray at T3 yesterday, a big turn off in term of food presentation. I thought we are doing away with Styrofoam packing for environmental purpose? T3 basement kopitiam? They have be using plastic container instead of a proper bowl or plate before open up to live with Covid. Now they still not yet return to normal bowl even for dine in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 2 hours ago, Etnt said: Porridge and clay pot rice at a1 porridge is edible claypot rice is bad. Chicken is dry and over cooked, don’t feel fresh. Lup Cheong has a stale oily taste chi ca San qian compliments of MyRepublic The last time I tried A1 porridge was years ago. Cos that time, porridge had so much msg that I kept drinking water to clear taste and satisfy thirst. The memory is a big mental block, still no motivation to jump over. Think reason could be cos I heavier now. 😁😂😂😂 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 2 hours ago, Jman888 said: their porridge not bad, last 2 yrs of covid always buy $5.50 voucher from lazada (or was it cashback) for the porridge. same, been eating their porridge using the voucher. Seems like business is back, don't see any good online voucher deals from them anymore. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 10 minutes ago, PSP415 said: The last time I tried A1 porridge was years ago. Cos that time, porridge had so much msg that I kept drinking water to clear taste and satisfy thirst. The memory is a big mental block, still no motivation to jump over. Think reason could be cos I heavier now. 😁😂😂😂 I find A1 foods not nice le. Like you said, their foods seems like too much MSG. Never go back again. Lol. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Fish & chips from Smiths. Miss travelling to the UK. 😃 18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 2 hours ago, Etnt said: Porridge and clay pot rice at a1 porridge is edible claypot rice is bad. Chicken is dry and over cooked, don’t feel fresh. Lup Cheong has a stale oily taste chi ca San qian compliments of MyRepublic I quite like A1 when they first had a branch near my house around early to mid 2000s. I had it almost every Fri night as a late night dinner. Porridge was so chockful with scallop shreds and many many liao as I always order the teng zhai porridge. Cheap then as well. Really VFM. Then they closed that branch and upgraded themselves to malls and also upgraded their prices by at least 2x. Sibei expensive. But I tried their porridge again during Covid. Still quite nice but not as much liao. And super not VFM because so expensive. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 3 hours ago, Jman888 said: their porridge not bad, last 2 yrs of covid always buy $5.50 voucher from lazada (or was it cashback) for the porridge. 1 hour ago, PSP415 said: The last time I tried A1 porridge was years ago. Cos that time, porridge had so much msg that I kept drinking water to clear taste and satisfy thirst. The memory is a big mental block, still no motivation to jump over. Think reason could be cos I heavier now. 😁😂😂😂 1 hour ago, Dafansu said: same, been eating their porridge using the voucher. Seems like business is back, don't see any good online voucher deals from them anymore. 1 hour ago, 13177 said: I find A1 foods not nice le. Like you said, their foods seems like too much MSG. Never go back again. Lol. 31 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I quite like A1 when they first had a branch near my house around early to mid 2000s. I had it almost every Fri night as a late night dinner. Porridge was so chockful with scallop shreds and many many liao as I always order the teng zhai porridge. Cheap then as well. Really VFM. Then they closed that branch and upgraded themselves to malls and also upgraded their prices by at least 2x. Sibei expensive. But I tried their porridge again during Covid. Still quite nice but not as much liao. And super not VFM because so expensive. I think the last time I went to A1 before this was more than 5 years ago. They used to be pretty good, lotsa dried scallop in the porridge, and I favor the 3 egg porridge (salted egg, century egg and regular egg). Till they started added the salted egg white in with the salted egg yolk. Whether as filler or otherwise, it just make the whole thing overly saltish. Fast forward to today, they use the shallow claypot now rather than the ol' taller claypot. portion seem less. dried scallop also less. still some salted egg white. It's edible, but not something that I would purposefully go and eat. rather I see @Silver_bladefish and chips and got craving liao. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 I think they pivoted to the wrong strategy of going into malls where the rents are much higher. Of course, there are other challenges like labor crunch and the recent general price increase for almost everything. But their popularity had already waned for some years before this. Their branches are always empty when I walked past because the food is not worth it anymore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Malaysia to halt chicken exports and abolish import permits for wheat Quote Chicken is the most widely consumed meat in Singapore, with a per capita consumption of 36kg in 2020, according to data from the Singapore Food Agency. The Republic imports more than a third of its chicken supply from Malaysia. https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysia-to-halt-chicken-exports-and-abolish-import-permits-for-wheat 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Kxbc said: I think they pivoted to the wrong strategy of going into malls where the rents are much higher. Of course, there are other challenges like labor crunch and the recent general price increase for almost everything. But their popularity had already waned for some years before this. Their branches are always empty when I walked past because the food is not worth it anymore. Global warming. Hot weather ask me to eat porridge, I'd rather not eat... Even though my family likes sin heng kee porridge which is affordable, I've not eaten for two months already. Lol. Edited May 23, 2022 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 2 hours ago, Etnt said: I think the last time I went to A1 before this was more than 5 years ago. They used to be pretty good, lotsa dried scallop in the porridge, and I favor the 3 egg porridge (salted egg, century egg and regular egg). Till they started added the salted egg white in with the salted egg yolk. Whether as filler or otherwise, it just make the whole thing overly saltish. Fast forward to today, they use the shallow claypot now rather than the ol' taller claypot. portion seem less. dried scallop also less. still some salted egg white. It's edible, but not something that I would purposefully go and eat. rather I see @Silver_bladefish and chips and got craving liao. I had Fish n Chips craving after I saw one of friends eating it on his holiday in London. Tried to tahan for 2 days, gave in after that and when to eat it at Smiths. 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Dinner in office cafeteria. What a huge piece of chicken cutlet and at just $4! Fat die me... 16 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 6 hours ago, 13177 said: Ikan bilis consider ''fish'', so you have ordered 2 meats 1 veg liao. Lol. Felt like I had nasi padang instead of cai png 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Order Grabfood self collect 4 Fingers chicken wing for dinner. ↡ Advertisement 14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...