Would you buy a new or used car for your next car?

1 minute ago, Lala81 said:

haha it also depends on the person itself and the usage of the car.

Like my car is low mileage. Even now at 7+ years, its just 95k. So ask me to take a huge loss when I'm a low mileage driver, bit hard lah.
My BIL was very happy to trade in his Wish cos he already clocked up 110k km in 4+ years and he say got some stuff need maintenance liao. 😄

Agree, each has their own unique situation,  the same formular cannot be applied for all but i mean there is such possibility. In addition, dont forget when COE goes to 100k, most of the cars sold are premium brands , hardly one can find a basic cat B Japanese or Korean model to scrap also. 

To each his own. Having gone thru the various cycles of coe with family and my own cars. It is always better to ride the wave of the the low coe prices. Those still holding on to 2013 cars will be hit again by the high coe. 
better to bite the bullet and let it go in 2018/19 when coe was less than half the price of the 2013 one. 

always buy COE car, not new car, when COE premium is low, otherwise, dont complain about it, we have a choice. 🤣  

9 hours ago, Dannnn said:

You worked for 9 months and can save 130k.

but you dont earn more than 2k a month, means you either dont have a steady flow of income, or the $ you saved is from someone else.

if you really want a car so badly, go for it. u r still young, $ can be earn. everyone u know discourage u from buying, why? maybe they know your financial status, but we dont.

Hi bro Dannnn, to address your queries, what i meant was I obviously earn way more than that, is just that i dont like to haolian to ppl about my earning power, so i go around telling people i dont earn much. And these people really assume i am not earning much. (Only a small handful of people know my true earning power). And yes its all my money, i work very hard for it (血汗钱) 

Also just want to let you know i really appreciate your reply to my post 🙂 thank you

9 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

since you can save up 130k in a short span of 9 month, go buy yourself a 9 yearold car adrive for a year to get yourself familiar with car driving and traffic handling, after one year, reward yourself with a new car because by then would have saved up another 150k. Dont bother with old car.  

Hi bro Ct3833, havent thought of this far yet as i dont even know whether i would want to buy a new car in future, right now i jus wan to have a experience of owning my own car first 🙂  really appreciate your reply to my post! 

6 hours ago, Meanmachine said:

Bro Solomidboy, I would advise you NOT to to get any Conti cars yet, as these Conti are sensitive and need TLC ( Tender Loving Care ) since you dont want a Gf or settle down, this could give you a chance to like human being 1st than a mistress, reason being a Mistress is temperamental that demand your attention often, both on weekday and weekends if you can find time to bring her out else, you'd lose either your gf and mistress simultaneously.

Get yourself a year or more on  " Kimchi or Sushi " car for a spin, they are reliable and less short fuse and demanding yet accommodating & easily pampered.I mean sent her for a hair salon spa, mani/ pedi shines bling bling, she is more than happy to meow meow for you . . . if you know What I mean .?

Trust me, Been there and done that. 😉

Hi bro Meanmachine, i roughly get what you mean but i dont see myself getting a gf anytime soon (i rather spend money on myself) and yes, i have heard of people saying car giving problems requiring you to head down to workshop often to fix this fix that, end up headache and waste time, but this kind of thing will happen so often? Fyi i will be using it like maybe 4-5 days per week driving to and fro work/home only. Really appreciate your reply to my post 🙂 

6 hours ago, PSP415 said:

Just buy any 2nd hand car that takes your fancy, within your means. 

Young, dun want to have wife/children, lots of free play in choices. 

This is one of the "all sorts of replies". 😅

Along the way, meet your soul mate and settle down ya. Cars can't yada when u happy or sad or bored or needing a human touch or warmth. 

You are a human hor? 😁

But if owning a car can make you happy and u seem financially sound at this point to do so, wear a pair of "just do it".  😂😂😂

Yada-ing. 

Stay safe 

Hi bro  PSP415, regarding your queries, yes im human but i like being alone ( i dont even reply to my friends messages most of the time) and also do not have good experience in past relationships with the opposite gender, hence i do not have interest in finding gf, let alone having kids. Really appreciate your reply to my post too! 

Just buy a small cheap car with 2-3 years left to go. 

Drive a while. Find out what u really want to do with the car in terms of hobbies etc. Cycling, like to carry kar chang to do side business etc. 

If u don't need the above then u can go small. Hatch or compact sedan for one pax. 

6 hours ago, solomidboy said:

Hi bro Dannnn, to address your queries, what i meant was I obviously earn way more than that, is just that i dont like to haolian to ppl about my earning power, so i go around telling people i dont earn much. And these people really assume i am not earning much. (Only a small handful of people know my true earning power). And yes its all my money, i work very hard for it (血汗钱) 

Also just want to let you know i really appreciate your reply to my post 🙂 thank you

this is my personal advice , since your earning power is strong( 9 month can SAVE 130k, some people 1 year dont even earn 130k ) , and its your dream to own a BBA , just go for it. you are still young , you should enjoy now before you couldnt in future. get your BBA in 2 door or convertible while you are single, before you got kids etc.

the reason many ppl discourage you is because you are hiding your financial means to them. earning 2k now even taking grab/taxi often is not prudent, less say getting a car.

even bank might not loan u much if u just tell them u earning 2k. 

One year can save 130k, should just work more years to save up even more and buy house. If you haven't owned car before, don't start, it's like drugs, once you started you cannot live without it. Just take grab since you don't have to ferry kids. I would tell my children the same thing. 

Edited by Ingenius

20 hours ago, solomidboy said:

Hi all, cant seem to create my own thread hence am hijacking this thread to ask fellow forumers for help.

Just got my license a few days ago and am looking to buy a used car, but i wana seek advice from seasoned and experienced people from this forum before i commit to buying a car. Hopefully you guys can clear my doubts 🙂 (welcome all kinds of advice/criticism) Some info about me:

>am in my mid twenties

>Managed to save up 130k after around 9 months of working

>i do not smoke/drink/gamble/go out with friends

>Not spending much on anything else except for food/protein stuff(i workout often) 

>parents do not need me to take care of them ( they have enough to cover for themselves for retirement)

>Single, do not want to have wife/children

im looking at used merc/bmw/audi with 2-3 years left before they need to renew coe, but everyone is saying buying a car now is stupid since coe so ex bla bla bla, i know this is true but i really wana have the experience of owning a car of my own. However am abit discouraged from buying since everyone i know irl are discouraging me from buying car ( because i tell all of them i dont even earn more than 2k a month haha) 

Looking forward to all sorts of replies from the people around here. Thanks in advance 🙂 

For a first timer (with median but responsible income), I would advise a 8-9 year old Japanese PARF car. Driving a car in driving school versus actually owning and driving a car (jam, maintenance, parking, misc) is very different. The cost of repair is not too much for a Japanese car.

However, if you can save an average of 14.4k a month, which translates to an annual saving of 173k. My personal take would be to buy something at the maximum cap of 17k depre (or 170k if it's 10 year lease left). Since you are going for conti cars, do expect more TLC and repair costs. 

PARF: 
Mercedes C class or CLA?
BMW 2/3 series?
Audi A3/A4?

Since mostly 1 or 2 pax in the car ..
COE:
BMW Z4, Mercedes SLK, Audi TT within your likes? 😁

Just my 2 cents.

On 4/11/2022 at 4:34 PM, solomidboy said:

Hi all, cant seem to create my own thread hence am hijacking this thread to ask fellow forumers for help.

Just got my license a few days ago and am looking to buy a used car, but i wana seek advice from seasoned and experienced people from this forum before i commit to buying a car. Hopefully you guys can clear my doubts 🙂 (welcome all kinds of advice/criticism) Some info about me:

>am in my mid twenties

>Managed to save up 130k after around 9 months of working

>i do not smoke/drink/gamble/go out with friends

>Not spending much on anything else except for food/protein stuff(i workout often) 

>parents do not need me to take care of them ( they have enough to cover for themselves for retirement)

>Single, do not want to have wife/children

im looking at used merc/bmw/audi with 2-3 years left before they need to renew coe, but everyone is saying buying a car now is stupid since coe so ex bla bla bla, i know this is true but i really wana have the experience of owning a car of my own. However am abit discouraged from buying since everyone i know irl are discouraging me from buying car ( because i tell all of them i dont even earn more than 2k a month haha) 

Looking forward to all sorts of replies from the people around here. Thanks in advance 🙂 

You are young, single and no commitment at all. Don't be discourage by what others said. Just be yourself. 

COE is super high, new car is expensive. Now is the best time to buy used car to pamper yourself. 

Used merc/bmw/audi with 2-3 years left is definitely value for money! You are smart and mature enough to think of this! 

Just walk into any honest used car dealer and they will tell you Now is the best time to get a used car, especially Merc, BMW or Audi. 

Don't wait any further. Life is short, so just YOLO.

22 hours ago, Dannnn said:

this is my personal advice , since your earning power is strong( 9 month can SAVE 130k, some people 1 year dont even earn 130k ) , and its your dream to own a BBA , just go for it. you are still young , you should enjoy now before you couldnt in future. get your BBA in 2 door or convertible while you are single, before you got kids etc.

the reason many ppl discourage you is because you are hiding your financial means to them. earning 2k now even taking grab/taxi often is not prudent, less say getting a car.

even bank might not loan u much if u just tell them u earning 2k. 

Do you really belive him?

49 minutes ago, RogerNg_185295 said:

Do you really belive him?

I dont care much as this is just an online forum.. giving advice doesnt hurt . think too much hurt my brains

On 4/8/2022 at 4:24 PM, Ct3833 said:

good luck. mine will be 2029, provided the car door will still be intact by then. 

I am also hedged all the way to 2029 but I can't seems to find an instrument to hedge against itchy backside. 

I need to learn from you, drive COE car but money always enough.  😂😂😂

1 minute ago, Voodooman said:

I am also hedged all the way to 2029 but I can't seems to find an instrument to hedge against itchy backside. 

I need to learn from you, drive COE car but money always enough.  😂😂😂

money always enough <<< you say one, I no say. haha. I still money no enough.