Would you buy a new or used car for your next car?

13 hours ago, Soya said:

In MCF, it's not about whether buy new or used car hor

It's about whether pay full cash or not

So there

I hate to come to MCF because everytime i read your post like this my glass heart feels badly hurt and I will cry for days.😪😪

Edited by Ct3833
  • Haha! 12

very likely used car when my time comes in Q4 2024 cos my car expires in Jan 2025.

My COE threshold for getting a new car would be around 45-50k. Hopefully can reach such levels in the next low cycle.

14 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

very likely used car when my time comes in Q4 2024 cos my car expires in Jan 2025.

My COE threshold for getting a new car would be around 45-50k. Hopefully can reach such levels in the next low cycle.

Shouldn't be a difficult target to hit...for a 5 years see orh ee 😂

Edited by mersaylee

1 minute ago, mersaylee said:

Shouldn't be a difficult target to hit...for a 5 years see orh ee 😂

money is less valuable now. Previous previous cycle 10k COE. Then 2017-2018 is high 20 to low 30k.
I don't foresee going back down to below 40k for the next low phase. So my estimate of 45-50k should be around there hopefully.

If you take out inflation

90-100k many years ago is more than 90-100k today

so COE at 100k today is way cheaper than people paying 100k COE last time.

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

I hate to come to MCF because everytime i read your post like this my glass heart feels badly hurt and I will cry for days.😪😪

I recommend u my psychiatrist ai mai? 

How people know COE in 5 years time will be 40k?

Can it not be 140k?

So if COE 140k how much can they sell their car for?

@Lala81 Whatever COE amount is, only G Huat Huat, it does not really matters as the money channels to the right department, AH GONG always said:" There is nothing wrong to make more MONEies 😝

15 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Sell ur Cat B buy used Cat A

and if die die want change car best get used. Much lower depre than getting new. Don’t care how much the price of prev owner bought, better than paying additional 30-40k now for new car

But many used cars asking depre higher than new. How liddat?

27 minutes ago, Soya said:

But many used cars asking depre higher than new. How liddat?

That's what i thought too last cycle during last relatively high COE peak, depre boh hua vs new. So bought new.
But since we are looking at a 10 year cycle, does make sense to get used in high COE times. But the used should be at least >5-6 years old. So that it allows u to potentially change to a new vehicle in few years time. 

If u buy a 2-3 year old car during a high COE phase, i would rather get new like u said.

5 hours ago, Lala81 said:

2025 stands a chance to gave COE at 45k, 2026 would be higher, but but but but provided all else equal

6 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

2025 stands a chance to gave COE at 45k, 2026 would be higher, but but but but provided all else equal

who knows. So wait and see how. My one is Jan 2025. So i more or less need to decide by q4 2024.

39 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

who knows. So wait and see how. My one is Jan 2025. So i more or less need to decide by q4 2024.

surprised you didnt make a move in 2019 when it was low. the next low points will still be 2028/29.

48 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

good luck. mine will be 2029, provided the car door will still be intact by then.