[Awareness] Misleading Car Advertisements

Carbon82

44 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

What's wrong with audiohouse? I found them quite cheap

pamphlet and newspaper advertise "A for $xxx".
Go to the place, they say sold out. Don't have. Come i show u another model. Also very good. xxx + $200. good model.

But since u specially went all the way down, easier to make the sale.

Lol it happened to my in laws twice. But since my BIL specially brought them down, ok lor. buy there lor. Anyway they still need the TV and my BIL cant be bothered to like really go price hunt and compare. 

Haha maybe they have 1 set on sale lah. 

I remembered Volvo had a buy 1 get 1 free promo a few years back. Heard that the free cars are actually cars that others trade in

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Go to the place, they say sold out. Don't have. Come i show u another model. Also very good. xxx + $200. good model.

Lol it happened to my in laws twice. But since my BIL specially brought them down, ok lor. buy there lor. Anyway they still need the TV and my BIL cant be bothered to like really go price hunt and compare. 

alot of tyres shop also like that.

xxx tyres   selling @ $xxxxx

call to check before going, say got stock come come come.

go liao then say sold out offer u goodyear xxxxx @ xxxxxx

basket...........

3 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

lol that's kinda shit....

i usually go down knowing exactly what model i want and the cost elsewhere.

2 minutes ago, Eyke said:

@Lala81 i remember going down on seeing attractive price but only there they say is for display set

haha yes. 

Anyway i don't think they are overpriced per say. No carrots chopped.
But just that that's the way they get people to visit them. Lol

Marketing job is to bring footfall

Sales job is to close deal

Service job is to educate with their in house Newton law 😁

There are also PIs that advertised cars exclusive of COEs.

And obviously there are naive ones that asked how come the car is so cheap.

2 hours ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

What's wrong with audiohouse? I found them quite cheap

For audiohouse, I would buy from them online since they sell on Lazada. I would not go to their shops based on their advertised promos cos the promos cannot be trusted.

18 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

What is your first impression upon seeing the following advertisement, as a general public / consumer?

6RsrXIl.png

SHBP6qs.png

While I believe many seasoned buyers would expect the "from" price to be that of the lesser model (e.g. entry level trim, lower priced model, etc.), I don't think anyone would expect it to be for USED CAR!

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1075337&DL=2038

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1078169&DL=2213

Taking the Volvo S60 / V60 advertisement for example, anything that make it look like a used car advertisement? Used car need to "Book" and can choose to be registered (re-registered) in April meh? Wow... Wearnes Automotive and Vertex Automobile have really taken things to a new low!

There might be more ADs doing the same... beware!

I think the white S60 advertised is a test drive car.....that I test drove 

Edited by Soya

I quite immune already such advertisements. take the recent Omega Watch thingy as a case study, they only got 100 watches, but 500 people queue. unfair for 400 people.

I think they take into considerations and assume that if the 400 people that didn't get, will buy whatever watches they have too. (just to get you down their store)

P.S whenever i go some websites, the pop up say "the milf nearby you wants to fxxx" 

when i click and it's not what as advertised. very misleading also. i thought my vicinity really got milf wants me. 🤔

• Haha! 8

Yes both advertisement look misleading to me. The promotion is under new car section, of course reader would take it for new car. If I am not wrong, Wearnes have a used car arm and such advertisement should rightfully come under Wearnes Pre-owned. 

For Vertex, the 2 prices shown for the 2 trim of Tarraco odd to be for new cars, and I see no ambiguity at all. @Carbon82 you might have a case with CASE if you goes by the consumer protection act. Maybe you can also consider writing in to Straits Times forum to garner more attention towards such despicable practices in the industry. Jia you! 

1 hour ago, SGCM928 said:

Yes both advertisement look misleading to me. The promotion is under new car section, of course reader would take it for new car. If I am not wrong, Wearnes have a used car arm and such advertisement should rightfully come under Wearnes Pre-owned. 

For Vertex, the 2 prices shown for the 2 trim of Tarraco odd to be for new cars, and I see no ambiguity at all. @Carbon82 you might have a case with CASE if you goes by the consumer protection act. Maybe you can also consider writing in to Straits Times forum to garner more attention towards such despicable practices in the industry. Jia you! 

Now that you mentioned it, I go click on the link that Carbon82 provided. The white Volvo S60 was clearly under Wearnes Pre-Owned. 

https://m.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?DL=2038&ID=1075337

I'm also confused. Maybe the SE which Carbon82 was talking to also blur, mistaken the $199,999 offer as this exact unit of white S60, which was effectively a used car. 

6 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Classic bait and switch tactic

Can fool ppl maybe once 

After that the reputation sticks