BabyBlade Internal Moderator March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 Will Smith won his first Academy Award on Sunday (March 27), capturing the best actor honour for his portrayal of Richard Williams, the determined father who raised tennis champions Venus and Serena Williams, in King Richard. Earlier in the ceremony, he had seemingly punched comedian Chris Rock on stage after Rock cracked a joke about his wife, Jada Pinkett Smith. Chris Rock and Will Smith had an altercation during the 2022 Oscar telecast. Rock appeared on stage to present the Oscar for documentary feature and made a joke about Jada Pinkett Smith being in “G.I. Jane” because of her shaved head. Smith then took the stage to punch Rock. Although it appeared to be a joke at first, Smith returned to his seat and yelled at Rock, “Keep my wife’s name out of your f**king mouth!” https://variety.com/2022/film/news/chris-rock-punches-will-smith-oscars-fight-1235216387/ ↡ Advertisement 6 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 Appears that it could have been staged to garner publicity for a dwindling turnout, accdg to many he snapped liao 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 It's all acting. They are actors right? 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 Just now, Jamesc said: It's all acting. They are actors right? I’m still confused if Jada and Will are togr? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 I'll do the same if somebody bully my wife . 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 4 minutes ago, Windwaver said: I'll do the same if somebody bully my wife . If not, then you would be the one kena slapped...by the wife.😁 Joking only ahhh.😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 2 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said: If not, then you would be the one kena slapped...by the wife.😁 Joking only ahhh.😁 Confirm worse than not doing something 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 24 minutes ago, RadX said: Appears that it could have been staged to garner publicity for a dwindling turnout, accdg to many he snapped liao Yes, read that its a scripted comment. He's probably lost it and snapped. In his apology, he did mention the stuff that one in the entertainment industry is expected to endure but I guess some are ticking time bombs when they have had enough then. I guess there might be a trigger as his wife rolled her eyes at those remarks too. They could have heard the same b4. Stay safe Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 36 minutes ago, BabyBlade said: Will Smith won his first Academy Award on Sunday (March 27), capturing the best actor honour for his portrayal of Richard Williams, the determined father who raised tennis champions Venus and Serena Williams, in King Richard. Earlier in the ceremony, he had seemingly punched comedian Chris Rock on stage after Rock cracked a joke about his wife, Jada Pinkett Smith. Chris Rock and Will Smith had an altercation during the 2022 Oscar telecast. Rock appeared on stage to present the Oscar for documentary feature and made a joke about Jada Pinkett Smith being in “G.I. Jane” because of her shaved head. Smith then took the stage to punch Rock. Although it appeared to be a joke at first, Smith returned to his seat and yelled at Rock, “Keep my wife’s name out of your f**king mouth!” https://variety.com/2022/film/news/chris-rock-punches-will-smith-oscars-fight-1235216387/ Joked about the man's sick wife, what does he expect?? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 apparently there are two school of thoughts here, both also wrong but Will is more wrong regardless of whatever reason. there were more sad and sick jokes on stage in America, dun tell me Will Smith never tell those jokes before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 Oscars has been criticised as a white man's film award judged by white men for white men. 2 black men fight no one can now say its still all white man's event! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator March 28, 2022 Author Share March 28, 2022 I don't think this is staged. Repercussions from this will be serious and this is damaging to Will Smith's reputation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 (edited) Ouch. That looks real to me. Yeah. Chris shouldnt have make fun of anyone who has a condition or who is ill. Edited March 28, 2022 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 Will Smith does what most of us do not dare to do. Yes. Hes a celebrity, a huge name in fact. He got it all. But he snapped. Yes, its okay. As a human, as a husband, he did his best. Its a punch, no less, on world TV. But he did what a man gotta do. Meanwhile, lets pray for his wife's recovery. Its been a painful months to endure this illness. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 (edited) https://twitter.com/ABC/status/1508289414446866433?ref_src=twsrc^tfw|twcamp^tweetembed|twterm^1508289414446866433|twgr^|twcon^s1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fcnalifestyle.channelnewsasia.com%2Fentertainment%2Foscars-2022-will-smith-wins-first-oscar-tenacious-father-king-richard-308176 Looks real Edited March 28, 2022 by Inlinefour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 50 minutes ago, BabyBlade said: I don't think this is staged. Repercussions from this will be serious and this is damaging to Will Smith's reputation. I think the complete opposite, staged and it will enhance Smith's reputation. Chris has not much to lose, he's a comedian and these kind of jokes, and worse, never hurt Ricky Gervais. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 Common folks yardstick is very different from celebrities yardstick...showbiz is big bizness...tink politic... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 28, 2022 Share March 28, 2022 This Oscar award is all about Will Smith, nobody remember who or which film win what award ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...