Have you got your Moonwatch from Swatch x Omega yet? LoL

Watwheels

8 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

well said. please go and buy a real speedmaster, not a plastic one that color fades and spoils in less than a year. 

I used to have the rare blue speedmaster Gemini 4, probably the only sunburst blue Speedmaster around.  It is to commemorate the first American spacewalk by Ed White in 1965 with only 2,005 pieces around.

I am still kicking myself for selling it.

4 hours ago, Inlinefour said:

Soon OYK will declare OxS biggest COVID cluster at ION cum MBS ☠️☠️☠️

and we are going back to 5 per table and mask on  ..... :a-bang:

4 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

and we are going back to 5 per table and mask on  ..... :a-bang:

tot CB 2.0 Liao if Deltacron Cluster ☠️☠️☠️

27 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Would you drive a 3 speed auto ie driving a piece of history day to day? History belongs to the museums!  [laugh]

OK it's just a joke. No need to justify how you spend your money. 

Those loving mechanical watches are like those loving manual cars.. 

Those loving quartz watches are like those loving automatic cars..

Those loving smart watches are like those loving EVs...

Those who dun like any watches are like those who like public transport..

Peep seem to forgotten about the war in Europe liao...thread not even in the Latest...watching (pun intended) this space for more "shooting requests"...😁

8 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Peep seem to forgotten about the war in Europe liao...thread not even in the Latest...watching (pun intended) this space for more "shooting requests"...😁

Aiyah Rusia lost already lah.

Now I want to get a moon watch for my MIL.

Can win free one way ticket to the moon?

1 hour ago, Starry said:

For most people, a watch is unnecessary because you can use the phone to tell time.

I used to think the same, until one day, I realised that inside that mechanical watch, there are 200-300 small parts (complication watches will have even more parts) that has be machined and hand-assembled perfectly in order to tell accurate time.   No batteries required.

And this "tech" was invented more than 100-200 years ago, made it even more impressive.  It is a historical display of human craftsmanship and ingenuity. 

When we wear a watch today, we wear a piece of that century old  human ingenuity and their historical significance.  It is not just to tell time. 

And in the case of the Omega Speedmaster,  it is the only watch that is certified to go to the Moon.  Many brands were tested, but only Omega Speedmaster was selected.  The watch not only has to be accurate, but it has to withstand the extreme conditions that are different from Earth.  When Apollo 13 got into trouble, it was the Speedmaster that was used in 2 occasions to help the astronauts safely back to Earth.  The re-entry timing back to Earth was  so critical that any error would have rendered the astronauts forever in space. No other watches could say that they  have done such a life saving feat at a  distance of 384,400 Km away from Earth.

If you can appreciate the above, you will understand why people pay crazy money to wear a good watch when a cheap smartphone could have done the job and more.

Honestly, I am not sure if the whole lot that queued there are aware about the background behind this, to appreciate it and queue hours to get the watch for this reason?

I would otherwise believe they are trying their luck with a possible flip..

Actually my favorite watches were swatch watches that i wore during my schooling years..
My mum still wears a swatch.

But of course last time no HP, really need a watch to tell time.

10 minutes ago, Solar said:

Honestly, I am not sure if the whole lot that queued there are aware about the background behind this, to appreciate it and queue hours to get the watch for this reason?

I would otherwise believe they are trying their luck with a possible flip..

I would think most of  them knows very little about the Moonwatch.   They are either flippers or just want a very affordable watch with the Omega word on it .

12 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Actually my favorite watches were swatch watches that i wore during my schooling years..
My mum still wears a swatch.

But of course last time no HP, really need a watch to tell time.

Swatch saved the Swiss-watchmaking  industry back in the 80s when the Japanese quartz movement were taking over.

6 minutes ago, Starry said:

I would think most of  them knows very little about the Moonwatch.   They are either flippers or just want a very affordable watch with the Omega word on it .

Ya. quite a few of my friends who wanted the watch dont really know about the speedmaster moonwatch. They are kind of casual, budget collectors. But still love watches though. i also saw a few online post about people seeing scalpers and resellers in the queue.🤣