M'sia prime minister wants Malay to be second language in Asean

BabyBlade

Ismail Sabri put forth this idea on March 23, in response to questions in the Upper House (Dewan Negara) asking about efforts to elevate the country's mother tongue at the international level and if the Malaysia government would work with Asean leaders to coordinate the use of Malay at the regional level.

Malay in use in many countries in region

Ismail Sabri said apart from Malaysia, Malay was used as a medium of instruction in several neighbouring countries such as Indonesia, Brunei and Singapore, as well as in southern Thailand, southern Philippines and in parts of Cambodia.

There were hundreds of thousands of people who can speak Malay in Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos, he said.

Ismail Sabri said, according to Bernama: “So there is no reason why we cannot make Bahasa Melayu as one of the official languages of Asean."

"We will coordinate on this matter and I will discuss with the leaders of countries that do use Bahasa Melayu so that they agree to make it the second language of Asean."

Elaborating on the matter, Ismail Sabri said: “At this time, only four out of 10 Asean countries use English in official events at the international level. Whereas six other countries use their mother tongues for official matters which require translation.”

https://mothership.sg/2022/03/malaysia-malay-second-language-asean/

Here we go again! 

• Haha! 8

13 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

M'sia PM trying to stir Shxx in Asia,while his own Country still in Shxx.

This is the art of distraction! You don't know one. 😂

another Malaysia minister high on drugs. Even Indonesian do not want to hear bahasa malaysia ,letting alone speaking malay. I used to have a regional helpdesk in cyberjaya, i received complaints from the indo customers that they didn't want to speak to agent in bahasa malaysia, they would only want to speak to people in bahasa Indonesia. 

12 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

another Malaysia minister high on drugs. Even Indonesian do not want to hear bahasa malaysia ,letting alone speaking malay. I used to have a regional helpdesk in cyberjaya, i received complaints from the indo customers that they didn't want to speak to agent in bahasa malaysia, they would only want to speak to people in bahasa Indonesia. 

Bahasa Indonesia sounds nicer than Melayu. 

1 hour ago, ER-3682 said:

M'sia PM trying to stir Shxx in Asia,while his own Country still in Shxx.

On hindsight isn't it better to has such type of neighbour than one that is able to compete with us.

I welcome more of such delusional proposals from our neighbour. 

😁 

1 hour ago, BabyBlade said:

Ismail Sabri put forth this idea on March 23, in response to questions in the Upper House (Dewan Negara) asking about efforts to elevate the country's mother tongue at the international level and if the Malaysia government would work with Asean leaders to coordinate the use of Malay at the regional level.

Malay in use in many countries in region

Ismail Sabri said apart from Malaysia, Malay was used as a medium of instruction in several neighbouring countries such as Indonesia, Brunei and Singapore, as well as in southern Thailand, southern Philippines and in parts of Cambodia.

There were hundreds of thousands of people who can speak Malay in Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos, he said.

Ismail Sabri said, according to Bernama: “So there is no reason why we cannot make Bahasa Melayu as one of the official languages of Asean."

"We will coordinate on this matter and I will discuss with the leaders of countries that do use Bahasa Melayu so that they agree to make it the second language of Asean."

Elaborating on the matter, Ismail Sabri said: “At this time, only four out of 10 Asean countries use English in official events at the international level. Whereas six other countries use their mother tongues for official matters which require translation.”

https://mothership.sg/2022/03/malaysia-malay-second-language-asean/

Here we go again! 

Shuld we make chinese the official language in asean? Every country have a chinatown leh. Means evry country have chinese right? hahahahahaha.

apa yang anda bercakap! :grin:

42 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Shuld we make chinese the official language in asean? Every country have a chinatown leh. Means evry country have chinese right? hahahahahaha.

apa yang anda bercakap! :grin:

liddat Little India how ??? Mana Boleh??  

Edited by BanCoe

30 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

It Is good to have dreams,  all great things started from a dream.  

But day dreaming no count hor.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Wet dream count or not?
🤭

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Not yet Open la.

Kamsiah for checking it out for the benefit for all in MCF 😆😁 

Just now, BanCoe said:

Kamsiah for checking it out for the benefit for all in MCF 😆😁 

Even though I stay very near, I got no lobang.