Putin starts “military operation” on Ukraine

happy_man

On 8/29/2024 at 1:14 PM, macrosszero said:

And it seems the idea that Ukraine occupies parts of Russian territory has become normalized - and at some point of time, they become a bargaining chip to trade territory back. 

With Ukraine thrusting in the north while retreating in the east, they are making Russians reposition to defend, while simultaneously stretch their supply lines and depth of forces. 

What remains to be seen is whether this is Ukraine’s intentions or a forced decision out of desperation.

Expand  

Hard to say.

To put in perspective 1000km square of lands sound a lot.

But a single 155mm gun with 30km range covers about 2700km square. 

Both side trading land for lives. 

On 8/31/2024 at 1:25 AM, Kb27 said:

Such accuracy...

That was practice run for the Kerch bridge ?

Expand  

In Vietnam,  US regularly send dozens of planes to attack individual bridges... repeatedly. 

Amazing how technology changed things. 

First was Finland, then Sweden, and most anal among them in terms of neutrality has finally shaken abit. I recognized they jerk abit when Russian bomb the children hospital in Ukraine.

My BFF Pudding said to me Xi no more BFF him anymore.

I said it because he is losing mah!

When you winning your frens know you, 

when you losing you know your frens!

image.png.9e34a2149f68ec3b9240ce316a839cea.png

Edited by Jamesc

On 8/30/2024 at 6:25 PM, Ender said:

Thought the Russians using aerial bombs (glide bombs?) on civilian targets. This is new. Why doesn't the west see this as an step up escalation by Putin? Why is it only putin decides what is his red line? 

The su34/35 need to be taken care off asap.

Expand  

Russia did this and no one dare to say it's an escalation on Russia part? Ukraine wants to counter such air strike by hitting airfield inside Russia, but USA fear this will escalate? Something is not balance.  What Putin has already done should all be considered as an escalation

The horror uncensored picture is hidden inside the post below if you have the stomach to watch it. I won't post the direct link. Already warn you guys. I hope Biden gets to see this real horror picture. No reason to drop aerial bombs of civilian target other than to terrorize. Putin deserves to be arrested.

Edited by Ender

After a meeting with USA which ended with them still saying no to long range strike inside Russia, Zelensky appeals again almost immediately.

On 8/31/2024 at 8:31 AM, inlinesix said:

Mearsheimer sounds more and more like pessimistic scholar who advocate losing land better

Expand  

This is an attrition war.  4 against 1 and Russian strategies is now to cripple the Ukrainian army and then take more land.  Ukraine is taking lots of casualties going on the offensive. That is the reality. 

Nato needs to send more troops to at least even the odds, otherwise how to have a chance. 

On 9/1/2024 at 12:44 AM, Voodooman said:

This is an attrition war.  4 against 1 and Russian strategies is now to cripple the Ukrainian army and then take more land.  Ukraine is taking lots of casualties going on the offensive. That is the reality. 

Nato needs to send more troops to at least even the odds, otherwise how to have a chance. 

Expand  

Bro, u think nato, or US really want ukraine to win meh???

Why they keep sending ukraine sub standard weapon, from tanks to rocket launcher to fighter, all the best tech are taken out.

why send unwanted F16? and unwanted M1, why dun train f15 or even f35 from the start, 

because they dun want russia to win, but they dun want ukraine to win or lose also, the best case scenario is for the war to drag on as long as possible, US can get rid of unwanted weapon, all bill to ukraine, as long as the wars go on, EU economy cannot pick up, see germany economy now.

Eu need to buy super expensive US GAS, and best of all, US being the largest weapon exporter will have unlimited business to do.  dua dua tan tan.

the best thing that happen to ukraine is they 不死不活吊在那边.

same thing as TW, why US dun support TW independence, but they dun let tw rejoin main land china also, 

On 9/1/2024 at 1:09 AM, Beregond said:

Bro, u think nato, or US really want ukraine to win meh???

Why they keep sending ukraine sub standard weapon, from tanks to rocket launcher to fighter, all the best tech are taken out.

why send unwanted F16? and unwanted M1, why dun train f15 or even f35 from the start, 

because they dun want russia to win, but they dun want ukraine to win or lose also, the best case scenario is for the war to drag on as long as possible, US can get rid of unwanted weapon, all bill to ukraine, as long as the wars go on, EU economy cannot pick up, see germany economy now.

Eu need to buy super expensive US GAS, and best of all, US being the largest weapon exporter will have unlimited business to do.  dua dua tan tan.

the best thing that happen to ukraine is they 不死不活吊在那边.

same thing as TW, why US dun support TW independence, but they dun let tw rejoin main land china also, 

Expand  

Yes, another US proxy war to weaken their enemies and keep allies dependent on them.  Nuclear Russia can’t be defeated,  only boiled at the appropriate temperature, hopefully not enough to trigger a nuclear exchange.  The envelope will be pushed continuously. 

2 big bullies, 1 victim and many angmo onlookers who are goarding the Ukrainians on while reluctant to send troops / volunteers knowing there is no victory in sight for the Ukrainians, only more destruction and loss of Ukrainian lives. Sigh. 

On 9/1/2024 at 1:58 AM, yishunite said:

Lol this clown is senile lah. Worst take on Kursk I have seen, even the Kadyrovites dont try to spin until lidat lol

Expand  

He is a realist, he might be wrong and this might be THE move that will bring about a nuclear Russia capitulation.  

So what is your expert view and predictions so that we can gain something from your wisdom? 

On 9/1/2024 at 3:28 AM, yishunite said:

What does nuclear Russia capitulation mean sorry my england not powderful

Expand  

Just to humour you, a surrender of nuclear armed Russia. 

Looking forward to your expert view. 

Edited by Voodooman

On 9/1/2024 at 4:09 AM, yishunite said:

Why Russia need to surrender? Just declare victorious withdrawal can already

But meanwhile Putin being played by NATO who are happy to see him throw all his conventional arms into the toilet as he fights over small patches of unstrategic land

Putin is getting played like an idiot and senile fools like Mearsheimer give his strategy credibility where there is none

Expand  

Unlike you, I am really no expert, so just sharing the realist views which I have collated from various sources (pro and anti): 
1. Putin is taking much more land in Eastern Ukraine and with the potential loss of less defended Pokrovsk next, the Russians will advance rapidly further west. Once lost, these territories will be hard to take back without expending more Ukrainian lives, which is in short supply. 

2. Fact. Putin is killing lots of exposed Ukrainian forces in Kursk.  The plan is to further decimate the Ukrainian forces as much as possible.

3. Ukraine can’t hold those Kursk lands for long (supply line and they have no local support) but Russia can hold Eastern Ukraine given ethnic Russians are majority there. Ukraine needs to play defensive and wear down the Russians as much as possible to even the numerical disadvantage. 

4. Russian economy is holding up and its industrial base can outproduce Nato on ammo/ shells, according to some reports.  

While many here are rooting for the Ukrainians and I am somewhat sympathetic, those deaths must have a purpose. I am just not sure it is for anything other than to support the Democrats in their November election.  It is a big gamble and potentially a costly one.  
Putin wants Trump back, so he will do what is necessary to deny democrat a victory on Ukraine and I am sure there is a plan, the number of deaths so far for the Russian in Kursk are too way too low. Is it a trap? I don’t know. 

At the end, the US always win. 

You are, at the very least, not a racist, just ideological, i am a realist these days. So let’s agree to disagree. 

Edited by Voodooman

On 9/1/2024 at 4:09 AM, yishunite said:

Why Russia need to surrender? Just declare victorious withdrawal can already

But meanwhile Putin being played by NATO who are happy to see him throw all his conventional arms into the toilet as he fights over small patches of unstrategic land

Putin is getting played like an idiot and senile fools like Mearsheimer give his strategy credibility where there is none.

Now your turn to answer question: What does a Putin victory for his "special military operation" look like? What does he gain?

Expand  

Really?  The reality is the Russians are not doing too badly given the whole of Nato is supplying weapons to Ukraine, just not foot soldiers which is what is really needed in a war of attrition. The Russians f… up initially but they are back. You can look at it from rose tinted glasses but that won’t alter what is really happening in the ground.

I am no supporter of Putin but I think US should also be held accountable for the killing and destruction of Ukraine as well. Both are culpable and based on that I have read, this war is totally avoidable. Biden was too much of a Cold War warrior and I am glad he will be gone by Nov.

On 9/1/2024 at 6:32 AM, Voodooman said:

Really?  The reality is the Russians are not doing too badly given the whole of Nato is supplying weapons to Ukraine, just not foot soldiers which is what is really needed in a war of attrition. The Russians f… up initially but they are back. You can look at it from rose tinted glasses but that won’t alter what is really happening in the ground.

I am no supporter of Putin but I think US should also be held accountable for the killing and destruction of Ukraine as well. Both are culpable and based on that I have read, this war is totally avoidable. Biden was too much of a Cold War warrior and I am glad he will be gone by Nov.

Expand  

Russia invaded Ukraine and both Putin as well as Biden need to hold accountable.

🤦🏻‍♀️

On 9/1/2024 at 6:46 AM, inlinesix said:

Russia invaded Ukraine and both Putin as well as Biden need to hold accountable.

🤦🏻‍♀️

Expand  

This is just like your Oct 7 analogy, who care about what happened before Oct 7? Who care about broken promises and NATO encroachment of Eastern Europe for 70 years. Never mind the Cuba equivalent, America set the rules for everyone. It is a mafia world.

Edited by Voodooman

On 9/1/2024 at 7:00 AM, Voodooman said:

This is just like your Oct 7 analogy, who care about what happened before Oct 7? Who care about broken promises and NATO encroachment of Eastern Europe for 70 years. Never mind the Cuba equivalent, America set the rules for everyone. It is a mafia world.

Expand  

Even NATO doesn’t invite these countries, these countries will join knowing how threatening Russia is.

Just look at Sweden & Finland.

Was there any promise not to expand eastward?

Edited by inlinesix

Massive strike by Ukraine on Russia's infrastructures. This will really hurt Putin, and the oil refinery will hurt Biden as somehow, who has low threshold for pain.

Hitting their power plant is right, coz Russia has been hitting Ukraine energy sector so they will go cold during winter. Two can play the game.

Just when Russia capability has improved on the front line, Ukraine's ability to strike strategic targets within Russia also has improved. Ukraine may not get back their 4 regions in the East, but Russia, will never have a peaceful night of sleep knowing that anytime a missile can hit anywhere inside and they will never have their oil production in full capacity.

Edited by Ender