View this subaru WRX listing at tp compound

Fitz4i

On 3/10/2022 at 7:35 AM, Daniu82 said:

That's a PHV rental car. I am quite surprised that Mazda 3 can chiong so fast. 

Expand  

That is a (corpse) recovery vehicle at best.  I supposed the police was quite determined to catch them by tracing the surveillance camera from express way and small road till every of their car park. 

Edited by Ct3833

Honestly, why the motorcyclist need to post this video? what does he gain by doing so?

Watching the video a few times, those cars are simply speeding.

how to define they are actually racing?

if this is illegal racing, i think the traffic laws need to re-define. by using in-car cameras or biker's cameras to prove racing, i think the drivers and biker should have do more thing to prove they are actually racing.

By videoing few high speed cars passing by the biker who is slow. can cause such big media coverage. it is not right at all. however, my kakis told me this is SINGAPORE!

The biker did not even follow up the whole entire "racing" actions executed by these cars drivers, how can this biker or TP claimed they are racing?

Handcuffing these drivers for traffic offence that have no evidence to prove they are racing, is really disappointing.

if they are drink, drunk and driving, and arrested on the spot, I am not against the police to handcuff these drivers

but the video show no action of swerving in and out or caused "any" danger to other road users. THEY ARE SIMPLY SPEEDING at a speed that nobody can define it.

I am not siding these drivers, i am not blaming the biker who posted the video.

my concern is: if "ONE" intentionally wish to make a fool out of other people doing to make himself "famous". i personally think that the "ONE" need to do more by proving thing otherwise.

By posting something to satisfy individual desire or feel great. that is wrong, the "ONE" need to seek help from psychiatrics.

By zooming passed you at a higher speed is racing, then my question is: how about those delivery cyclists on E-bicycle, zooming pass several vans, buses and even cars at 60-65kmph. What offence did they commit? racing? speeding? they even ride against traffic flow. Should we post them online and report them, and getting them handcuff by 'TP"????

Please pardon me if i said something not right here. but i guess we should be impartial.

• Dislike 4

On 3/10/2022 at 3:30 PM, Jiaksiaoyok said:

Honestly, why the motorcyclist need to post this video? what does he gain by doing so?

if this is illegal racing, i think the traffic laws need to re-define. by using in-car cameras or biker's cameras to prove racing, i think the drivers and biker should have do more thing to prove they are actually racing.

By videoing few high speed cars passing by the biker who is slow. can cause such big media coverage. it is not right at all. however, my kakis told me this is SINGAPORE!

The biker did not even follow up the whole entire "racing" actions executed by these cars drivers, how can this biker or TP claimed they are racing?

Handcuffing these drivers for traffic offence that have no evidence to prove they are racing, is really disappointing.

if they are drink, drunk and driving, and arrested on the spot, I am not against the police to handcuff these drivers

but the video show no action of swerving in and out or caused "any" danger to other road users. THEY ARE SIMPLY SPEEDING at a speed that nobody can define it.

my concern is: if "ONE" intentionally wish to make a fool out of other people doing to make himself "famous". i personally think that the "ONE" need to do more by proving thing otherwise.

By posting something to satisfy individual desire or feel great. that is wrong, the "ONE" need to seek help from psychiatrics.

By zooming passed you at a higher speed is racing, then my question is: how about those delivery cyclists on E-bicycle, zooming pass several vans, buses and even cars at 60-65kmph. What offence did they commit? racing? speeding? they even ride against traffic flow. Should we post them online and report them, and getting them handcuff by 'TP"????

Please pardon me if i said something not right here. but i guess we should be impartial.

Expand  

Don't think TP will just make arrest based on this video from the biker.
The video from the biker is just the catalyst, I'm sure TP will look at all the video cams and determine they are really speeding and racing right?

Expand  

This group of people were driving way beyond speed limit judging from the relative speed of the cars from the video. The noise prodcued by the roaring engine is the other indication that the cars were being pushed hard, this is certainly not the noise that will be produced by a  2,000rpm engine at cruising speed. While laymen like us are unable to determine how fast they were driving, lets not fool ourselves that they were not speeding. So far I have not seen anyone disputing that these people were not speeding anyway.

There are many posts about reckless driving behaviours every day, there is absolutely nothing wrong of him posting the video in the social media. I am not sure what is your intention of picking this particular one? If his judgement is wrong, then it is up to the forum to correct him and he better be prepared to face public criticism. But it will be wrong of the biker for not reporting this case.

When a number of cars speeding down the expressway, if they were not chasing one another,  what else were they doing? So let say there were not racing, they were still wrong to be speeding.

The cam bike does not have to prove that the cars were racing, it is up to the authority to make their conclusion after their investigation. I dont believe anyone would think that TP are so naive to simply take drastic actions by impounding so many cars after wathcing a video submitted by an individual. The SGP TP are a bunch of fools? There are enough surveillance cameras on the road, it will be wrong for anyone to think like this group of people that they can do anything funny and get away with it.

Speeding kills, not only the driver himself but the action endangers other road users. These people ought to be brought to task and kudos to the biker for doing the right thing to report the case.

Edited by Ct3833
  • Praise 12

Expand  

If you are driving, you can observe that every 5th lamp post on the highway, there is one or two traffic cameras mounted on top.  The m/cycle cam can't gave any reading of those cars involved but help to trigger TP investigation and view those cameras along that stretch of highway. 

Every lamp posts are 25 meters apart and by hitting the first lamp post clock by the camera & passing the 5th lamp post will give the speed of the car travelling. (Speed = distant divided by time)

So TP just observe all the cameras from one point to another along the stretch of highway will know whether they are racing & speeding. 

You can run but you cannot hide as there are cameras all over Singapore. Even when you are walking along the void deck of HDB or waiting for a lift. Lift up your head and you can see a "round" camera with the word in blue 'Police'. 

When you are in happy mood, just give a  [wave]  to the camera.   

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

On 3/10/2022 at 10:45 PM, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

If you are driving, you can observe that every 5th lamp post on the highway, there is one or two traffic cameras mounted on top.  The m/cycle cam can't gave any reading of those cars involved but help to trigger TP investigation and view those cameras along that stretch of highway. 

Every lamp posts are 25 meters apart and by hitting the first lamp post clock by the camera & passing the 5th lamp post will give the speed of the car travelling. (Speed = distant divided by time)

So TP just observe all the cameras from one point to another along the stretch of highway will know whether they are racing & speeding. 

You can run but you cannot hide as there are cameras all over Singapore. Even when you are walking along the void deck of HDB or waiting for a lift. Lift up your head and you can see a "round" camera with the word in blue 'Police'. 

When you are in happy mood, just give a  [wave]  to the camera.   

Expand  

They cannot catch bicycle one :XD:

I remember a few years ago LTA confiscated a GTR & Lambo for racing in LCK. Is it the same here where LTA will confiscate and never return the car to the owners? I can't imagine the impact of that especially if you still have an outstanding loan to pay but no car to drive or the PHV Mazda driver, how he will need to compensate the rental company.

On 3/11/2022 at 1:23 AM, neoki_29 said:

I remember a few years ago LTA confiscated a GTR & Lambo for racing in LCK. Is it the same here where LTA will confiscate and never return the car to the owners? I can't imagine the impact of that especially if you still have an outstanding loan to pay but no car to drive or the PHV Mazda driver, how he will need to compensate the rental company.

Expand  

Unable to pay up then rental company sues him till pants drop lor! And bankrupt. 

On 3/11/2022 at 1:23 AM, neoki_29 said:

Expand  

I believe that LTA will still return the remaining Parf and COE value to the owner. So the damage will not be a lot. As for the PHV, it's a rental car, so the rental car will be returned to the rental company. The person who rented, of course have to pay additional fees to the rental company, like excess.

Expand  

racing may not be specifically defined but racing means competition - one car alone drive fast may not be racing because there is no competition/racing against someone else (that may just be speeding or dangerous/reckless driving etc) .. but many cars driving fast at the same time in the same direction means either they all running away from ghost at the same time, or they likely competing with each other who is faster = racing ..

one man run fast may be he want to exercise, but many men run fast in same direction trying to over take each other = probably a race to compete who is faster ..

when one gets arrested it may be SOP to get handcuffed .. if police try to arrest someone and he run away then how? people will kpkb police cannot even arrest someone?

swerving in and out goes more towards dangerous/reckless driving .. racing can be no swerving in and out - racing is who is faster, can be all drive in straight line ..

dont worry, ultimately we have a judicial system, based on video evidence (like what others have said here, its not just one cam video, there are likely also other traffic cams) it would seem to many reasonable people that these cars were racing .. or at the very least driving dangerously/recklessly and speeding .. if the drivers can prove that they were not driving dangerously/recklessly or speeding (hmm .. hard to say not speeding right?) or that they were not racing (how come you all driving so fast all same direction at the same time ..) then surely they will be acquitted of the charge(s) and be free ..

same same i am not siding anyone, i am only thinking aloud ..

cheers!

On 3/11/2022 at 1:34 AM, Adrianli said:

I believe that LTA will still return the remaining Parf and COE value to the owner. So the damage will not be a lot. As for the PHV, it's a rental car, so the rental car will be returned to the rental company. The person who rented, of course have to pay additional fees to the rental company, like excess.

Expand  

wah now we all know what to do, it we want to go "racing', it is safer   to rent a car instead. 😄

On 3/10/2022 at 7:22 AM, Stratovarius said:

happy endings really. lol.

i think people should know that now when you do anything illegal on road your actions will be recorded since literally every vehicle on the road is a camera. If you race and zoom pass 100 vehicles, you better pray than non of them report you. 

Expand  

No, they still do not know. If they know,  why still do it?