shutterbox 3rd Gear March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 (edited) I see many Sgcarmart/fb/carousell ads will include engine flushing in their regular engine oil n filter change Heard ppl recommending not to do engine flush for cars that have been running for long, as the sludge acts as fillers to protect seals though. Does it mean if done when the engine is "young", it's a recommended step to do, as part of the regular eo+filter change steps? Edited March 3, 2022 by shutterbox ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 Always use good detergent engine oil, and you won't have to worry much about sludge. They contain cleaners/detergent besides lubricating your engine. And just about every modern engine oil nowadays contain detergent. They are qualified by SL, SM, etc. Use the latest as recommended by your car manual. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 Toilet should be flush often and some people never flush. Engines should not be flush and people flush it often! 3 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 When they advertise means your do not need it! You ever see any ads by petrol companies? Price so high and people still keep buying. I don't have to advertise for my massage services for good looking young ladies and they still come every time. 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 just ask yourself these questions. 1) how do you know that your engine needs flushing 2) Why do you need flushing? 3) who ask you to do flushing? 4) what is used to flush the engine? 5) When do you need to flush your engine. After asking yourself these 5 questions, probably you will ask yourself, it is a need or want? Complusary or non complusary? What are the implications that you dont do? Will your engine due for overhaul soon? What if you dont do? What will happend? it is necessary to spent this money to do it? After all these.. it is still better to move on and just do the normal servicing. Money in pocket is better than giving out to unnecessary flushing which is toal bulls**t. If flushing is required why it is not stated in the owner's manual and why did car makers not recommend this? Just ask yourself this question and it will help you make better decsion whether to do or not to do. Hope this helps.😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 A Wallet flush for sure! 😂 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DylanChen 2nd Gear March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 snake oilll Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 On 3/3/2022 at 1:45 PM, Jamesc said: When they advertise means your do not need it! You ever see any ads by petrol companies? Price so high and people still keep buying. I don't have to advertise for my massage services for good looking young ladies and they still come every time. Expand Q:How do you make sure your massage clients keep coming? A: By making sure my massage clients keep coming. 😁 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 On 3/3/2022 at 1:16 PM, shutterbox said: I see many Sgcarmart/fb/carousell ads will include engine flushing in their regular engine oil n filter change Heard ppl recommending not to do engine flush for cars that have been running for long, as the sludge acts as fillers to protect seals though. Does it mean if done when the engine is "young", it's a recommended step to do, as part of the regular eo+filter change steps? Expand @shutterbox I drove 7 car over the past 20 years..............so far did not need to perform engine flushing before. MY car mechanic also told me the same thing. When engine is young, just normal maintenance will do. For older engine, heard some people mixed some kind of oil (below) into engine oil to make the engine work harder and last longer. Not sure how true is it 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 (edited) @shutterbox interesting topic. Like other bros, I have never done engine flush on all of the cars that I owned before. However, recently I did notice some w/s that bundle engine flushing together with their regular service packages. This is one example https://www.carousell.sg/p/89-nett-1146309306/?t-id=pJ46rkAf4c_1646350554831&t-referrer_browse_type=search_results&t-referrer_context=category_slp&t-referrer_request_id=V9wK9wtoT0b23ehX&t-referrer_source=search_landing&t-tap_index=3 Will you do engine flush if it comes bundled with the service package? No rebates given if you opt out. btw, I am not sending my car to the w/s in the carousell link. It is purely for shared as an example. Edited March 3, 2022 by BoneStock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 4, 2022 Author Share March 4, 2022 On 3/3/2022 at 11:43 PM, BoneStock said: @shutterbox interesting topic. Like other bros, I have never done engine flush on all of the cars that I owned before. However, recently I did notice some w/s that bundle engine flushing together with their regular service packages. This is one example https://www.carousell.sg/p/89-nett-1146309306/?t-id=pJ46rkAf4c_1646350554831&t-referrer_browse_type=search_results&t-referrer_context=category_slp&t-referrer_request_id=V9wK9wtoT0b23ehX&t-referrer_source=search_landing&t-tap_index=3 Will you do engine flush if it comes bundled with the service package? No rebates given if you opt out. btw, I am not sending my car to the w/s in the carousell link. It is purely for shared as an example. Expand thats what got me thiking. for new cars, if flushing is done right at the start (at cost no less if you don't do), what harm will it do to engine reliability? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 On 3/3/2022 at 1:16 PM, shutterbox said: I see many Sgcarmart/fb/carousell ads will include engine flushing in their regular engine oil n filter change Heard ppl recommending not to do engine flush for cars that have been running for long, as the sludge acts as fillers to protect seals though. Does it mean if done when the engine is "young", it's a recommended step to do, as part of the regular eo+filter change steps? Expand flushing is like removing oil stain from the engine parts. imagine your wok u use to fry your meat. u drain those oil away. alot of left over will stick to the surface. over time the metal will have a dark stain on the surface. If the flush work as it advertise, it will help prevent those stain. How effective? does this increase the performance?? super hard to judge. But its not advisable for old car or cars who skip alot of oil change to do it. there could be too much soot flush out and choke the pump. for older cars, some time the seal and gasket worn off, it use those soot to cover up the gab, after u flush, might encounter other problems. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 (edited) To put it simply... 1) If you have been doing regular oil change whenever you hit 10K km within 3-4months, no you dont have to do it so regularly. You can do engine flush at 60K-80K km. 2) If you long time hit 10K km. Then yes, do the oil flush at the same time you service your car. After 3-6 months the engine oil in your engine will deteriorate and thicken. As it accumulate more carbon deposits it will grow into sludge. This will affect the oil pump and affect the flow of the engine oil circulating within the engine. W/o lubrication getting to all the moving parts they will wear more quickly and then leads to failure. The moving parts in the engine head especially like the camshaft and intake/exhaust valves will wear faster cos the pump has to work against gravity to pump oil up to the engine head. With thicken oil and sludge/carbon build up the engine will lose power and feels sluggish. Many ppl dont believe this cos their eyes couldnt see what's going on inside the engine. They cannot see the the parts wear. Ignorance is bliss. I know many car owners will service their cars only once a year. During the pandemic maybe two years service once. Your car will start to have unusual vibrations and noise. Up to you. If ppl wants to save some money on servicing they might end up with a hole in their pocket. Their replies will be mostly, "the car is running fine". When there is not enough oil to go around the engine it will also produce more heat. More heat the ecu will pump in more petrol to cool it down. So ppl start asking what's with the increase fuel consumption. Most ppl dont know dont care. They think ppl are after their money. You can decide when to do it and you can say "no" when ppl suggest you to do engine flush. It's your car and you know it best. Edited March 4, 2022 by Watwheels 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 On 3/3/2022 at 1:16 PM, shutterbox said: I see many Sgcarmart/fb/carousell ads will include engine flushing in their regular engine oil n filter change Heard ppl recommending not to do engine flush for cars that have been running for long, as the sludge acts as fillers to protect seals though. Does it mean if done when the engine is "young", it's a recommended step to do, as part of the regular eo+filter change steps? Expand If you find your car sluggish, you just buy some kerosene and pour into your engine. the main ingredient for engine flush is kerosene. For me a shorter interval of engine oil change is better. And always choose good engine oil with good detergent. For filter, i think is worth to do a change every single year. Don't wait until your filter black black then change lah. So disgusting. hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 Here we every 10k synthetic oil change , drive 200k for 10 years then scrap. Bolehland they never follow oil change regime, use mineral oil , their protons can drive for 30 years mileage 500k no problem . No need engine flush la . 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 (edited) On 3/4/2022 at 12:41 AM, Watwheels said: To put it simply... 1) If you have been doing regular oil change whenever you hit 10K km within 3-4months, no you dont have to do it so regularly. You can do engine flush at 60K-80K km. 2) If you long time hit 10K km. Then yes, do the oil flush at the same time you service your car. After 3-6 months the engine oil in your engine will deteriorate and thicken. As it accumulate more carbon deposits it will grow into sludge. This will affect the oil pump and affect the flow of the engine oil circulating within the engine. W/o lubrication getting to all the moving parts they will wear more quickly and then leads to failure. The moving parts in the engine head especially like the camshaft and intake/exhaust valves will wear faster cos the pump has to work against gravity to pump oil up to the engine head. With thicken oil and sludge/carbon build up the engine will lose power and feels sluggish. Many ppl dont believe this cos their eyes couldnt see what's going on inside the engine. They cannot see the the parts wear. Ignorance is bliss. I know many car owners will service their cars only once a year. During the pandemic maybe two years service once. Your car will start to have unusual vibrations and noise. Up to you. If ppl wants to save some money on servicing they might end up with a hole in their pocket. Their replies will be mostly, "the car is running fine". When there is not enough oil to go around the engine it will also produce more heat. More heat the ecu will pump in more petrol to cool it down. So ppl start asking what's with the increase fuel consumption. Most ppl dont know dont care. They think ppl are after their money. You can decide when to do it and you can say "no" when ppl suggest you to do engine flush. It's your car and you know it best. Expand I am one of those don't care type. Just change oil and filter. The rest replace as and when spoilt. If driven less frequently, I would stretch the servicing to 1.5 year. Modern cars have oil/water level sensors. When not enough, they will alert you. No need even to check dipstick. Some don't even have dipsticks. As for flushing it's definitely no no. Don't bo tai jee chuay tai jee. PS I am not don't know don't care, but know don't care.... Edited March 4, 2022 by Volvobrick 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 On 3/4/2022 at 12:54 AM, kobayashiGT said: For filter, i think is worth to do a change every single year. Don't wait until your filter black black then change lah. So disgusting. hahaha. Expand u refering to the oil filter? It must be change for every oil change. even if drive below mileage. if change oil just change the filter. 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 Bo Dai Ji Mai Cheh Dai Ji! ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...