Help needed - Recourse for issue with car bought on consignment

Hi all new user here looking for advice.

Bought a 3 year old VW on consignment, confirmed via whatsapp (and verbal) that remaining 2 year warranty still valid. But when I sent to Volkswagen for servicing, was told they just discovered ECU tuned so warranty is now void. 

Questions:

1) any way to pinpoint when the ECU tuning was done (Volkswagen say they cannot - this is to make it clear the issue existed at the point I purchased the car)

2) any way to pinpoint what was done (in case Volkswagen are over-reacting e.g. if ECU records were simply wiped but no actual tuning done)

3) what recourses can I take against the previous owner / consignment agent (I know lemon law doesn't apply here) 

Thanks bros for your inputs. 

Mod would appreciate if you can create a thread if possible. TYVM

Will VW honor the warranty if the ECU is now uninstalled or tuned back to factory settings?

Bringing the car to a VAG specialist workshop may help you get the answers you looking for.

Void Warranty only on Engine Problems due to Reflash ECU,Parts like Coil packs,ECU & Engine itself like Internal Damages due to increase in Power,the rest of the Car,should be still covered by Warranty.

1 hour ago, ER-3682 said:

Void Warranty only on Engine Problems due to Reflash ECU,Parts like Coil packs,ECU & Engine itself like Internal Damages due to increase in Power,the rest of the Car,should be still covered by Warranty.

There is no rest of the car .

Can't say VCS 'overreacted'. Trying to pinpoint when the tuning was done is irrelevant. They oredi hv evidence that it has been tuned n unfortunately is within their right to void warranty 

The problem lies w the seller for misrepresentation. If have proof that the seller said warranty is valid but turns out not, either get seller to buy back or take it up thru legal channels 

If seller run road, make polis report as a cheating case. They probably won't go bang door for you but at least if u take up a legal case, got something to stand on

if me, i will ask seller for a discount and give up the 2 year warranty 

provided the car is in a mechanically good condition of course 

nowadays many workshops outside can service vag cars… don’t even need to go supposedly vag specialist expensive ones

in my experience, vcs workshop itself service also not very good

😬

Once ownership has transferred. No recourse. Or at least not worth whatever sum you gonna put in. 
just hope that nothing major happens down the road. 

31 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Once ownership has transferred. No recourse. Or at least not worth whatever sum you gonna put in. 
just hope that nothing major happens down the road. 

Lately so many newbies come in w facepalm situations n after posting, go MIA. Or maybe they could be regulars but paiseh to use real nicks.....lol

• Haha! 10

Thanks TS for sharing this as it tends to be overlooked. I have been comtemplating used cars from VAG groups, those with wet clutch, and this issue never come to my mind frankly. I will remind myself to get this checked in future if I am to get a used one. Thanks very much.

On 2/25/2022 at 3:10 PM, 44122863 said:

Bought a 3 year old VW on consignment, confirmed via whatsapp (and verbal) that remaining 2 year warranty still valid. But when I sent to Volkswagen for servicing, was told they just discovered ECU tuned so warranty is now void. 

Questions:

1) any way to pinpoint when the ECU tuning was done (Volkswagen say they cannot - this is to make it clear the issue existed at the point I purchased the car)

2) any way to pinpoint what was done (in case Volkswagen are over-reacting e.g. if ECU records were simply wiped but no actual tuning done)

3) what recourses can I take against the previous owner / consignment agent (I know lemon law doesn't apply here) 

Would lemon law help ?

2 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

Go read up on lemon law. It’s only if dealers are the sellers. 

That's why some dealer will act as private seller loh.. when i call i will not say which car.. for example i will ask "Your car available?" if he is selling a few normally his reply is "which one?" and hoh i always google their phone number.. if dealer sure got a few hits..

btw regarding ECU tweak.. as a layman i will not know it is tweaked leh.. if seller don say i oso will not know.. how to spot ECU tweak? 

On 2/25/2022 at 3:10 PM, 44122863 said:

Questions:

Think of it on bright side, rather than kena force to send in to VW for carrot-head servicing cost, just service outside at a fraction.

Just go temple and pray that no DSG problems in next 2 years.

The downside of buying used car here. No protection for consumers. Authorities like LTA dont give a hoot what problems you encounter. They only talk about collecting money and car-lite now. All the more dont care.

If you want to buy vw used car buy from their Authorized Dealer's affiliated used car dept. Buying from any other used car dealer they will just sell the car in the condition "as is"...very much like the IKEA "As Is" section. LoL... I also doubt they know what the previous owner did to the car.

Anyway TS knows what he is looking at or not? Skali the aftermarket tuning chip is still inside the car hidden somewhere? Like the RaceChip that I used to have and I kept it hidden. Only when service time I remove it.

Thanks all for the replies. Seems to general feeling is hard to get any recourse against the seller. 

Only reason I dared to go VAG (and dry clutch at that) is because of the warranty (coming off a 3 series for the past 7 years). My first question to seller when I reached out is "is warranty still valid" haha. 

I sent car to vicom for pre purchase inspection, but in hindsight there's no way to detect this unless it was sent to VCS for the inspection (which I don't think they'd do).

I've asked the seller for details of the tuning so I know what I'm dealing with (and what other problems might crop up cos of the tuning e.g. if torque too high). So far as expected all I've heard is....silence.....