Soya Supersonic March 6, 2022 Share March 6, 2022 3 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Zero Growth on COE has been implemented since February 2018. It will continue till 2025. In 2018 ah gong didn't need to dig into reserves. Dun expect them to remain status quo after covid ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 6, 2022 Share March 6, 2022 Just now, Soya said: In 2018 ah gong didn't need to dig into reserves. Dun expect them to remain status quo after covid That's true. But Zero growth COE has been implemented since Feb 2018. The number of COE release is dependent on number of cars scrapped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 6, 2022 Share March 6, 2022 (edited) 8 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Thanks for sharing the info, it is why i said must ask Raymond Lim why he was fired. The guy was sleeping on the job, until near GE period they realized that there was not enough COE to release. LTA wasn’t sleeping IMHO, I think it was a political decision then to up the supply of coe from mid 2004- 2009. We did have a major change in leadership in 2004! 🤣 https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/who_we_are/statistics_and_publications/statistics/pdf/COE_Quota_Allocation.pdf Edited March 6, 2022 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 6, 2022 Share March 6, 2022 (edited) 5 hours ago, Mkl22 said: LTA wasn’t sleeping IMHO, I think it was a political decision then to up the supply of coe from mid 2004- 2009. We did have a major change in leadership in 2004! 🤣 https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/who_we_are/statistics_and_publications/statistics/pdf/COE_Quota_Allocation.pdf haha not i say one. But on a serous note, Raymond allowed free flow of COE supply around 2007 till 2009 He started to run out of COE in 2010, 1 year before GE, COE price started to escalate. By2011, COE price went up from the low of a few $k to $70k in the year of GE, that had caused a lot of complaints from car owners, and I believe the issue had caused quite a lof of political fall out, leading to Raymond getting fired, the rest is history. but to be frank, it will be quite surprising to anyone that running a more than $10b per year revenue business line, they did not review their past business performance, current and future years forecast, obviously they did not, it is why it was too late when they woke up one day to realise that they ran out of COE. Edited March 6, 2022 by Ct3833 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 10 hours ago, Ct3833 said: haha not i say one. But on a serous note, Raymond allowed free flow of COE supply around 2007 till 2009 He started to run out of COE in 2010, 1 year before GE, COE price started to escalate. By2011, COE price went up from the low of a few $k to $70k in the year of GE, that had caused a lot of complaints from car owners, and I believe the issue had caused quite a lof of political fall out, leading to Raymond getting fired, the rest is history. but to be frank, it will be quite surprising to anyone that running a more than $10b per year revenue business line, they did not review their past business performance, current and future years forecast, obviously they did not, it is why it was too late when they woke up one day to realise that they ran out of COE. That rise to 70k not rays fault but Uber n grab was chasing the cars .. no cars no revenue and Uber strategy or rather tragedy was to burn millions each month to gain market shares 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 2 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: That rise to 70k not rays fault but Uber n grab was chasing the cars .. no cars no revenue and Uber strategy or rather tragedy was to burn millions each month to gain market shares Grab and Uber only came in from 2014/2015. Thus even with the much bigger quota of coe, the prices didn’t come down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 22, 2022 Share March 22, 2022 Thread so quiet for 2 weeks So did anyone buy the new RS at $200k? Or is it $207k now? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged May 7, 2022 Share May 7, 2022 I am also curious to know the reliability of the infotainment system (i read about glitches) and the mechanical reliability of the previous generation ones. Anybody can share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 On 5/7/2022 at 7:17 PM, Toeknee_33 said: I am also curious to know the reliability of the infotainment system (i read about glitches) and the mechanical reliability of the previous generation ones. Anybody can share? VRS got mechanical reliability meh? I only know the new model now have a different turbo n is way better than the previous ones. may I know what you have heard on the VRS that’s so bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
emman 1st Gear May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 15 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: VRS got mechanical reliability meh? I only know the new model now have a different turbo n is way better than the previous ones. may I know what you have heard on the VRS that’s so bad? There's already been a recall for the new RS. Not saying it's bad though but this is the only issue that's surfaced so far afaik. https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.motorbiscuit.com/volkswagen-recall-2022-golf-gti-r-hot-hatches-get-hot/%3famp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 3 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: VRS got mechanical reliability meh? I only know the new model now have a different turbo n is way better than the previous ones. may I know what you have heard on the VRS that’s so bad? I assume you mean to say "VRS got mechanical reliability problems meh?" No i didn't hear anything locally but google search revealed mixed feedback, some good and some bad. So i was wondering if the "bad" are true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 On 5/7/2022 at 7:17 PM, Toeknee_33 said: I am also curious to know the reliability of the infotainment system (i read about glitches) and the mechanical reliability of the previous generation ones. Anybody can share? Pal, I am not driving the VRS but another ride from VW. From what I hear, It seems that delamination of the LCD screen (which affects the touch function intermittently) is not uncommon. Other than that, the HU work well function wise (Bluetooth, Apple carplay, Aux input, etc.). My car is coming to 5.5 years and the delamination occurred around 3 years mark. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 25 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: Pal, I am not driving the VRS but another ride from VW. From what I hear, It seems that delamination of the LCD screen (which affects the touch function intermittently) is not uncommon. Other than that, the HU work well function wise (Bluetooth, Apple carplay, Aux input, etc.). My car is coming to 5.5 years and the delamination occurred around 3 years mark. That is really sh!tty quality! Not replaced under warranty? Note to self - don't buy VW.... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 36 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: That is really sh!tty quality! Not replaced under warranty? Note to self - don't buy VW.... I first noticed a tiny bubble at the top right corner of the HU when I send my car in for 100,000km servicing (at 2.5 years mark), which is also when the warranty ended. Feedback to the service advisor about the bubble, they checked and said no problem with it (as the touch screen was working fine at that time. Few months later, the bubble spreaded across 1/4 of the screen and I started to experience intermittent touch issue. Brought the car back to VCS and they now said the whole HU need to be replaced and the cost was >$1.5K Voiced out that I have highlighted the issue within warranty period (at 100K servicing) but they insisted that it was working fine then and they are right not to replace it. F*ck it, don't want to waste my breath arguing with them. Consolations is that the car drive and handle well till date, so I am still able to bear with such "tiny" defects. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 (edited) My CONclusion that it’s is always CONvince, CONfuse then …… thus you can only CONsole yourself. 🤣 Edited May 10, 2022 by Mkl22 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear May 10, 2022 Share May 10, 2022 2 hours ago, Volvobrick said: That is really sh!tty quality! Not replaced under warranty? Note to self - don't buy VW.... Driving vRS, none of such issues. Coming 4yrs old. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 11, 2022 Share May 11, 2022 On 5/7/2022 at 7:17 PM, Toeknee_33 said: I am also curious to know the reliability of the infotainment system (i read about glitches) and the mechanical reliability of the previous generation ones. Anybody can share? The bolero headunit has small glitch that sometimes no sound or lag, just reset for 10-15s system back to normal only once in a while i encounter this those on columbus no issue 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 26, 2022 Share May 26, 2022 (edited) Wonder how's the sales for the new RS? Have yet to see one on the road. More rare than Bentley Neo's car sia Edited May 26, 2022 by Soya ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...