Mkl22 Supersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 2 hours ago, Soya said: From my own experience w a full-sized SUV w AWD (not those pretend jacked up FWD hatchbacks) Sorento, everyday use SUV sibei overkill in Sg. Lugging around so much weight & space in our traffic jam city roads made no sense. Simi got the 'great outdoors' to conquer? Drive to any place to cycle oso got nice carpark not as if hv to trek thru rivers, hills or mountains bah. And dun get me started parking in MSCPs......lol i was going to say exactly what you wrote. SUV in SG is useless, no snow, no trailer to tow, no offroad tracks to go to. everything is flat and paved. a MPV is a much better utility vehicle. still more mass than a sedan but you get the utility. heck, the SUV utility will never be as good as a MPV as they are all designed with 4WD drivetrain in mind, which takes up space and even if you end up with a 2wd one. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 1 hour ago, mersaylee said: I drove the xc90 into wisma carpark...then few months later agonised again becos I forgot about the first dreadful experience...😂 you paint their walls with volvo paint?🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 50 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said: SUVs got a few sub-categories: Full-fledged SUVs like Land Rover Defender, Discovery, Toyota Landcruiser/Landcruiser Prado, Mercedes G Wagon, GLS, Jeep Wrangler, etc. Soft SUVs like Mercedes GLB, GLC, BMW X3, X5, Audi Q3, Q5, Lexus RX, Toyota RAV4, Honda CR-V, Mazda CX5/8, Mitsubishi Outlander, Hyundai Tucson, Santa Fe, Kia Sportage, Sorento, etc. And Crossovers/CUVs like Mercedes GLA, BMW X1, X2 Audi Q2, Q3 Sportback, Lexus UX, Mazda CX3, CX30, Skoda Kamiq, Peugeot 2008, 3008, etc etc. Vehicles in each category got their own distinct attributes and ride-handling characteristics. Why it is called soft SUV ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 4 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: you paint their walls with volvo paint?🤣 Donno...my car white the wall also white...even no scratch but sure got a lot of cold sweat...😁 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: i was going to say exactly what you wrote. SUV in SG is useless, no snow, no trailer to tow, no offroad tracks to go to. everything is flat and paved. a MPV is a much better utility vehicle. still more mass than a sedan but you get the utility. heck, the SUV utility will never be as good as a MPV as they are all designed with 4WD drivetrain in mind, which takes up space and even if you end up with a 2wd one. MPV like the shuttle? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 22 minutes ago, 13177 said: I see some carpark has narrow, tight and sharp turning ramp and parking lot might also small, and yet i still see many big SUV and big sedan cars go in and out of the carpark? Dont know if the driver got scratch the car or not la? For me i dont think i am confidence enough to drive big cars into such carpark without risking scratching the car?! The mscp at my grandma in law house is very tight. i hate parking there. But then i saw 7 series, s class and even a GTR inside i diam diam liao. But most of our SUVs are around same size as sedans. Just check the wheelbase and you know that they are not much different in terms of navigation. The increased in ride height might give the perception of SUV being wider. 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 My next car will be a sports wagon. Now is a luxury sedan. I can carry 2 foldies and my other bulky sports barang2 in the boot. Fold seats down, can carry even more. SUV not my cup of tea. When I take corners at speed, it rolls like a ship. From days long ago , I always wanted a wagon. Was eyeing the Subaru Legacy GTB wagon. Then my daughter first said that if I drive one, will look like an uncle. Then the next time I looked at the Legacy GT wagon, she said I will be driving a hearse. Now that I am way into uncle age, and the day when I will be riding at the back of a hearse is closer, my next car will be a wagon! She cannot deter me anymore. I am dreaming of a Merc E43 wagon. My upstairs neighbour has one and I am so envious. 2 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 3 minutes ago, serenade said: My next car will be a sports wagon. Now is a luxury sedan. I can carry 2 foldies and my other bulky sports barang2 in the boot. Fold seats down, can carry even more. SUV not my cup of tea. When I take corners at speed, it rolls like a ship. From days long ago , I always wanted a wagon. Was eyeing the Subaru Legacy GTB wagon. Then my daughter first said that if I drive one, will look like an uncle. Then the next time I looked at the Legacy GT wagon, she said I will be driving a hearse. Now that I am way into uncle age, and the day when I will be riding at the back of a hearse is closer, my next car will be a wagon! She cannot deter me anymore. I am dreaming of a Merc E43 wagon. My upstairs neighbour has one and I am so envious. Don't care wat your girlfriend in previous life say...you're entitled to YOLO just as she does with her handbags, makeup kits, dresses...😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 4 hours ago, mersaylee said: Miss my wagon and suv…but not the fc 😅 Nice wagon you have... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 17 minutes ago, 13177 said: MPV like the shuttle? shuttle is a station wagon. MPV= Previa, odyssey, Toyota Noah, VW Sharan, etc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 2 minutes ago, Tohto said: Nice wagon you have... That was long time ago when petrol prices were still manageable...I'd go ccb pap every day if I still have it today...😁 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 14 minutes ago, yishunite said: The problem is MPV looks cui lah might as well get van even more utility 🤣 Only good looking MPV is Grand Scenic but it is Renault (hard pass)... For me ideal is a sportback SUV if not just a stationwagon (but affordable choices so few)... I also dont want too huge/high but the smaller SUV is all just hatchback on stilts as someone said... van very different. the only Van MPV are those like VW Caddy, Merc V -class. the rest of the MPVs are more car like with independent rear suspension and less beefy suspension to save unsprung weight. makes for a much better ride. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 2 hours ago, 13177 said: If never own a SUV before, i might consider driving one. But i find carpark in sg mostly like quite tight, dont know if i can handle a SUV? Lol. SUV lengths are normally the same as the sedan, the only difference is the height. Most of the so call SUV here are just CUV (Crossover). 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 14 minutes ago, mersaylee said: That was long time ago when petrol prices were still manageable...I'd go ccb pap every day if I still have it today...😁 My current XT is drinking around 9km/L. I think your T6 will be around 7km/L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 5 hours ago, mersaylee said: Miss my wagon and suv…but not the fc 😅 Nice vulva. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 1 hour ago, 13177 said: I think not all SUV is comfortable, must see one. I ride in toyota fortuner in a PHV before, i sit behind and i feel so sick. Maybe need to sit in front seat? Another time i ride in a PHV nissan xtrail front seat, the ride is nice. Fortuner is using a ladder frame set up, it is basically pickup pretending to be an SUV. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 8 minutes ago, Tohto said: SUV lengths are normally the same as the sedan, the only difference is the height. Most of the so call SUV here are just CUV (Crossover). So Forester, RAX4, harrier, CX5, tucson consider SUV or CUV? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 10, 2022 Share February 10, 2022 1 hour ago, Inlinefour said: most uncle pop blue pill than amino 🤫🤫🤫 I also dunno. hahaha. I haven't start popping blue pills yet. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...