Properties info

lukeber

On 2/13/2024 at 8:10 AM, 13177 said:

Buy such hdb at $1m is like throwing money into drain? 😅

Expand  

depends on perspective.

if the buyers are DINKS, they dun need to leave any money or legacy to anyone.

If they are in mid 40s, the house can last them until they die  .

At $1,280,000 over 570 months of lease remaining, its about 2.3k per mth. 

plus season parking for 1 kar, S&CC.. maybe tops 2.6k p/m. cheaper than renting a terrace house of this size and no fear of landlord raising rental price.

i'm just painting a simple amortization scenario.. mai flame me.

On 2/14/2024 at 2:48 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

depends on perspective.

plus season parking for 1 kar, S&CC.. maybe tops 2.6k p/m. cheaper than renting a terrace house of this size and no fear of landlord raising rental price.

Expand  

This shift of mindset also give rise to flexi 2rm bto flats.

cash out if 1 spouse pass on and move into 2m flat.

die w zero

On 2/13/2024 at 8:22 AM, inlinesix said:

Any leasehold property is the same 

Expand  

But if buy a leasehold property with a longer lease tenure then more 'worth it even you paid $1m or if you buy property with such a short remaining lease tenure, then the price should be cheaper.

On 2/13/2024 at 8:33 AM, ccc888 said:

Maybe sold their FH Landed for 5M and downgrade to HDB Landed lol.

Expand  

No wonder can find $1m plus resale HDB. High chance it is from these people who downgrade from their FH landed for 5m to HDB.

On 2/13/2024 at 8:41 AM, Spidey10 said:

some may not be able to take it....downgrade leh...lose face hor...:lll._.:

Expand  

True, if you ask those people who have stay in landed or private since they are born until now, don't think they can 'downgrade' to stay in HDB la. Face value is one thing, and they also cannot get used staying in a public flat lo, to them the flat itself and the surrounding is low class.

On 2/14/2024 at 2:48 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

depends on perspective.

Expand  

If based on your analogy, even spend $1.28m to buy such an old HDB is quite worth, since per month only $2.3k. Based on current rental market, $2.3k not easy to find even a small whole HDB unit to rent lo.

On 2/14/2024 at 4:13 AM, ccc888 said:

This shift of mindset also give rise to flexi 2rm bto flats.

cash out if 1 spouse pass on and move into 2m flat.

die w zero

Expand  

Like this book:

https://www.amazon.sg/Die-Zero-Getting-Your-Money/dp/0358099765

The concept of Die with Zero means spend every dime (on yourself and family) before one is gone, leaving no legacy wealth behind.  It means make good of every dollar to gain fulfilling experience and memories while one is still alive.  It is about living rich and not dying rich.

Quite a provocative book 

On 2/14/2024 at 6:15 AM, 13177 said:

No wonder can find $1m plus resale HDB. High chance it is from these people who downgrade from their FH landed for 5m to HDB.

Expand  

I guess for this case is ex-Landed buyers since this is also HDB Landed 

On 2/14/2024 at 6:19 AM, 13177 said:

True, if you ask those people who have stay in landed or private since they are born until now, don't think they can 'downgrade' to stay in HDB la. Face value is one thing, and they also cannot get used staying in a public flat lo, to them the flat itself and the surrounding is low class.

Expand  

My ex boss (employee, not owner) grew up in prime bungalow, moved to Condo, cashed out move to HDB.... 

On 2/15/2024 at 4:20 AM, Volvobrick said:

My ex boss (employee, not owner) grew up in prime bungalow, moved to Condo, cashed out move to HDB.... 

Expand  

Your ex-boss can get used to HDB flat siah! But also must see what type of HDB and which HDB location he buys la. If buy an EA/EM or in 'atas' HDB location or some million dollar high floor unblock facing, maybe still not so bad. Esp he should pocket a huge profit made from selling his private even after buying an HDB liao.

On 2/15/2024 at 4:20 AM, Volvobrick said:

Expand  

I like your boss already......

Flexible and adapt to his family dynamics and needs.

Ego cannot feed a stomach.....there is nothing wrong downgrading to a HDB if it means bringing better financial independence

On 2/15/2024 at 6:14 AM, Starry said:

I like your boss already......

Flexible and adapt to his family dynamics and needs.

Ego cannot feed a stomach.....there is nothing wrong downgrading to a HDB if it means bringing better financial independence

Expand  

Ego is one thing, but some rich people who have stay in private in their whole life really cannot get used in staying in an HDB lo, maybe even they try to adapt?! 

Same as if the person has been driving a luxury brand of car all the while, you ask him/her to drive a cheapo budget B&B car and see if he/she can adapt. 😂

On 2/15/2024 at 6:25 AM, 13177 said:

Ego is one thing, but some rich people who have stay in private in their whole life really cannot get used in staying in an HDB lo, maybe even they try to adapt?! 

Same as if the person has been driving a luxury brand of car all the while, you ask him/her to drive a cheapo budget B&B car and see if he/she can adapt. 😂

Expand  

Bro....as we age, our life and family dynamics will change. An illness, a sudden loss of job, of some unexpected events will often force us to change.

More so during this current era of VUCA (Volatility, Uncertainty, Complexity and Ambiguous).

For those who cannot accept changes or adaptable in this era of disruption, then be prepared to feel pain and emotional/financial stress when the time comes. Change is the only constant. 

Edited by Starry

On 2/15/2024 at 7:18 AM, Starry said:

Bro....as we age, our life and family dynamics will change. An illness, a sudden loss of job, of some unexpected events will often force us to change.

More so during this current era of VUCA (Volatility, Uncertainty, Complexity and Ambiguous).

For those who cannot accept changes or adaptable in this era of disruption, then be prepared to feel pain and emotional/financial stress when the time comes. Change is the only constant. 

Expand  

Like you said, only an illness, a sudden loss of job, of some unexpected events will often force people to change. if not don't think people will change for a worst, at least to them it is a worse change. Like downgrade from private to HDB, luxury car to cheapo car etc. These people will continue to enjoy their good life until they die.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/property/time-review-planning-increase-supply-senior-living-redas

Time to review planning to increase supply for senior living: Redas

“With this demographic shift comes an increased demand for senior-living accommodation,” he noted.

Such accommodation could also be integrated within a mixed development, he said. “The unit size, functional layout, design and smart features for such housing units also needs to be adjusted. We think that more piloted projects should be pushed out.”

Edited by lukeber

On 2/20/2024 at 9:48 AM, lukeber said:

Toa Payoh Crest BTO was launched in 2012 and the 3 room flat was sold for $289k to $364k.

In Dec 2023, a 3 room flat was sold for $795k. This is a capital gain of $431k from a 3 room flat property.

https://sgpf.sg/property/toa-payoh-crest-hdb-resale-transaction-with-potential-431k-capital-gains/

1286566543_TPYCrestPropertySGPF2.thumb.jpg.da7396193f1a7d80b2c87300e4bc7be7.jpg1523016929_TPYCrestPropertySGPF1.jpg.fe637a681b4864382fc886149b497c0c.jpg390205537_TPYCrestPropertySGPF.thumb.jpg.6ed30d00efa39b8e307844d46a1065ca.jpg

Expand  

SIao liao, 3 rm resale flat can sell at $795K now! I thought $600k to $700K already crazy ex. No wonder people always say die die also must buy brand new BTO and sell 5-10 years later, confirmed gain a lot a lot.