Michelin Pilot Sport 5 Improves On The Best Tire In The World

kobayashiGT

On 5/9/2023 at 9:37 PM, mersaylee said:

Soft...which I don't like...PS4 was better at cornering with direct feedback. This one very mild to no feedback. Maybe also becos I got the wrong size for the rim. Should have gotten 235 instead. 

Nearly wanted to trade in after a week. Oh...btw, the run in for this tyre was like over 1.2k km when usually 500-600 km gao diam liao 😅

It performs better in the wet than dry. Anti aquaplaning capability is superb just like the PS4...

Your tyre variant has quite a low profile sidewall height, and even rated XL, you still mention that the sidewall is soft; seems that soft sidewalls (even for Extra Load rated variant) is a general characteristic of Michelin tyres.

And a run-in of 1.2km seems high indeed.

By the way, is the 225x40x18 size OE size? Or you upsized the tyre (and rim) ? What is yr rim (cross-section) width?

On 5/9/2023 at 10:08 PM, Mkl22 said:

8in then for a sharper handling 225. With 235 you get a slightly more squishy feel. 

That's what I thot too but the outcum was the opposite...the sidewall of the PS5 was soft to the touch and I thot 225 should be more ideal and also didn't want to wait for the 235 to be delivered...went for the in stock 225 only to disappoint myself for the salah decision 😂

On 5/9/2023 at 10:16 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Your tyre variant has quite a low profile sidewall height, and even rated XL, you still mention that the sidewall is soft; seems that soft sidewalls (even for Extra Load rated variant) is a general characteristic of Michelin tyres.

And a run-in of 1.2km seems high indeed.

By the way, is the 225x40x18 size OE size? Or you upsized the tyre (and rim) ? What is yr rim (cross-section) width?

PS4 not soft to me. Even the used pair I got late last year to tahan for the newer pair to wear out together in order to change all 4 corners at one go also not soft. 

Oh, width is 8J 

On 5/9/2023 at 10:01 PM, mersaylee said:

8J not BJ hor 😁

Since your rim width is 8J, then tyre size of 225 x 40 is the optimal/ideal combo already. And as @Mkl22 said, a 235mm tyre may be a bit too pinched in.

2005095751_TyreWidthvsRimWidthv1.thumb.png.46f3742086840b48904990491d923efb.png

On 5/9/2023 at 10:54 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Since your rim width is 8J, then tyre size of 225 x 40 is the optimal/ideal combo already. And as @Mkl22 said, a 235mm tyre may be a bit too pinched in.

2005095751_TyreWidthvsRimWidthv1.thumb.png.46f3742086840b48904990491d923efb.png

That's weird. The chart I referred to indicated 235 for 8J and the tyre shop also said it's better to be 235 with a 8J to also help to prevent scratch on the rim 🤔

Anyway I'm more tuned to the placebo butt feel...and still find PS4 with 235 was better...wasted lor...i didn't knew PS4 and PS4s were still available in the market when I went for the PS5 😂

On 5/9/2023 at 11:07 PM, mersaylee said:

That's weird. The chart I referred to indicated 235 for 8J and the tyre shop also said it's better to be 235 with a 8J to also help to prevent scratch on the rim 🤔

Anyway I'm more tuned to the placebo butt feel...and still find PS4 with 235 was better...wasted lor...i didn't knew PS4 and PS4s were still available in the market when I went for the PS5 😂

Depends, 8J for sharper handling typically fit 225. the angmo cars fit 235, but some jap like Mazda and Lexus fit 225. 
I take whatever local shops says with a huge pinch of salt! Manufacturer spec more trusted. 

On 5/9/2023 at 11:07 PM, mersaylee said:

The chart is extracted from the following site which may explain more in-depth:-

https://www.tyresizecalculator.com/charts/tire-width-for-a-wheel-rim-size-chart

Also I managed to find a video about different tyre widths when mounted to different rim widths and their resultant feels and effects on performance:

On 5/23/2023 at 11:59 AM, Shazamm said:

The common feature found in most modern performance cars is Michelin tires. It has become increasingly common for high-performance cars to come equipped with a set of bespoke Michelin tires as part of their package. Michelin has recently introduced the all-new Michelin Pilot Sport 5, aiming to enhance the already highly regarded Michelin PS 4S tire.

Tires have gained significant recognition in recent years due to their crucial role in the driving experience. While upgrades like an ECU tune or coilovers may be more exciting, a good set of tires can truly transform the performance of a car. They have the potential to enhance all measurable aspects of a car's performance, and since they are the only part of the vehicle in direct contact with the road, their performance is vital for the overall engineering of the car.

So, what sets the new Michelin Pilot Sport 5 apart? Based on a combination of qualitative data and quantitative information gathered from years of reviews, it is widely acknowledged that the current Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the top tire available on the market. The Michelin Pilot Sport 5 has further improved upon the performance of its predecessor, excelling in both quantitative testing and qualitative feedback.

The Michelin PS5 is successor to to PS4; and recently i read that the successor to the PS 4S is the new Pilot Sport S 5.

On 5/23/2023 at 11:59 AM, Shazamm said:

The common feature found in most modern performance cars is Michelin tires. It has become increasingly common for high-performance cars to come equipped with a set of bespoke Michelin tires as part of their package. Michelin has recently introduced the all-new Michelin Pilot Sport 5, aiming to enhance the already highly regarded Michelin PS 4S tire.

Tires have gained significant recognition in recent years due to their crucial role in the driving experience. While upgrades like an ECU tune or coilovers may be more exciting, a good set of tires can truly transform the performance of a car. They have the potential to enhance all measurable aspects of a car's performance, and since they are the only part of the vehicle in direct contact with the road, their performance is vital for the overall engineering of the car.

So, what sets the new Michelin Pilot Sport 5 apart? Based on a combination of qualitative data and quantitative information gathered from years of reviews, it is widely acknowledged that the current Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the top tire available on the market. The Michelin Pilot Sport 5 has further improved upon the performance of its predecessor, excelling in both quantitative testing and qualitative feedback.

Have you quantified it with your car? share your personal review leh. . . 

Hi anyone know which other shop around West side carry the PS5? When to a few places they don't have it. There is a shop mention the tyre is made in China and cost around $295 for a 18inch. 

On 6/13/2023 at 11:17 PM, Evilernie said:

Hi anyone know which other shop around West side carry the PS5? When to a few places they don't have it. There is a shop mention the tyre is made in China and cost around $295 for a 18inch. 

West side come to East Side lo.

Sg not very big 

On 6/13/2023 at 11:36 PM, inlinesix said:

West side come to East Side lo.

Sg not very big 

Reason being my workplace in the West. 😅

On 7/26/2023 at 9:42 AM, geck072 said:

Anyone knows where is the place that sells this at a good price?

Thanks!

You can try south east tyre. Not the cheapest, but the service is good. 

On 9/23/2023 at 6:30 PM, Atlantis80 said:

One week of driving on the PS5. Changed from PS4. 

Grip feels better and also feel more comfy than PS4. 

New Tyres sure better.

On 6/13/2023 at 11:17 PM, Evilernie said:

Made in China PS5? I will run far away from the shop