Nissan Qashqai, A Driver's Nightmare

J_c_boy

49 minutes ago, Invigorated said:

I see a lot of old Altis, estimas, old harriers, RXs, vellfires, civics still running around. Probably the lower depreciation as compared to new too and Toyotas and hondas do hold up well. Parts are easy to source too.

These models are relatively aplenty on the roads as they are the "volks wagens", the people's cars. Good or functional parts are easily available from scrapped vehicles, and there are also more stockists willing to inventory the parts.

Edited by DOBIEMKZ

Nissan is not that bad. Drove a sunny for 8+ years and nothing major internal needed replacement. Only those wear n tear items like belts etc. the rest were all tip top with regular servicing. No roadside breakdowns, ever.

Mazda 3 gave me a huge bill near the end of its 8+ years service when aircon compressor quit. No roadside breakdowns too, however.

So I guess it still boils down to a little bit of luck and based on the individual car. There could be lemon in the production line.

SG being such a small country, these cars are enough, cheaper to operate, if cost is a concern.

Edited by Sosaria

10 hours ago, Invigorated said:

I see a lot of old Altis, estimas, old harriers, RXs, vellfires, civics still running around. Probably the lower depreciation as compared to new too and Toyotas and hondas do hold up well. Parts are easy to source too.

It’s pretty much the same in the USA. Where Camry, Prius, accords hold value so well vs. bmw Mercedes Audi Volkswagen etc. bottom line is that people of the world aren’t dumb. The market is what it is. 

14 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

the best judge of which cars to keep locally are those that renew coe. Granted there are some shit cans around that have renewed and wasted a quota. But the popular cars do give a gauge on what cars people desire. Cefiro and its older brothers isnt one of them. 🤣

Most popular COE cars on the road are Altis, Vios, Civic, E200, Estima

21 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Most popular COE cars on the road are Altis, Vios, Civic, E200, Estima

What about 911? Saw many on the road recently 😂 the Ah peks looks like retirees. Maybe collected  CPF  and splurge on themselves 😂 

Edited by Ginyu

11 hours ago, Vid said:

Still can move... floor the pedal and only 50km after 10 sec 😂😂 cannot tahan so scrapped the car and bought new

You mean the turbo charger cost 5 digit ? Or there are other parts need to be replaced ? 

37 minutes ago, Ginyu said:

What about 911? Saw many on the road recently 😂 the Ah peks looks like retirees. Maybe collected  CPF  and splurge on themselves 😂 

people who can drive a COE 911 is already different class apart, dont think they will depend on CPF at 55 to buy car. Road tax and maintenance alone will be a killer to the normal joes on the street. But in terms of popularity, we dont get to see a  lot of COE 911 on the road because they are rare to begin with, the popular COE cars are those that I have mentioned, we will see those cars onthe road all the time, I might have missed out some though.

Edited by Ct3833

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

You mean the turbo charger cost 5 digit ? Or there are other parts need to be replaced ? 

Yes, replacing the turbo was 5 digit. The car also needed a major servicing which would have cost even more.

• Shocked 3

1 hour ago, Vid said:

Yes, replacing the turbo was 5 digit. The car also needed a major servicing which would have cost even more.

mind sharing what chia? I will avoid at all cost, though likely one that i could not afford 

Edited by Ct3833

12 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

mind sharing what chia? I will avoid at all cost, though likely one that i could not afford 

😂 😂

Just BMW F10 lah

• Shocked 2

On 1/24/2022 at 1:41 PM, PSP415 said:

It's only from the 6th year that things kinda needed more attention, that the first 5 years of ownership was a breeze. 

Frankly, the items listed sounded much like wear n tear. The speakers though, is a very loud surprise as some dun break down at all 😁. Some will just mod these out from day 1 as they like an orchestra in the car. 

What may be a big question mark is what has been really changed/replaced whilst under warranty.

Locked gearbox shifting from P to D. Totally no prior symptoms at all? 

I dun own one hence pardon my ignorance per this model. But some stuff are generic like cooling coil, aircon fan motor etc which are common wear n tear items that comes over time. 

Do find a reliable workshop as the journey ahead will be peppered with more replacement and you may think your ride is the only one to shock your wallet

Its your car's 7th year come September.

Prepare your wallet. A good practice to relieve some stress on wallet is preventive maintenance eg please do your servicing on time, oil changes, oil filters, drive car as if its your lover, dun save pennies and end up poorer.

Some items need to part ways, dun use "tapes" and "cable ties" to hold on. 

Welcome to true ownership of cars. After whatever free servicing and under warranty to enjoy free replacement. It starts from one day after the 3 or 5 years. 

Btw, there is a thread on this ride. Lots of good information and some not so good news there too. 

Stay safe 

hmm my car just entered it's 7th year. Other than changing car batteries. no additional maintenance required. Got squeaking brakes but think its cos of irregular surface of the brake disc pad according to some workshop guy.

Please renew W124 Mercs they will last forever.

W124 COE renewal year was always very lucky.

Many renewed in 2009 and 2019 and will last till 2029.

3 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Please renew W124 Mercs they will last forever.

W124 COE renewal year was always very lucky.

Many renewed in 2009 and 2019 and will last till 2029.

Indeed they are many Mercedes W124 still on the road.
I think that model was the pinnacle of Mercedes Benz build quality and robustness.

22 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

Nobody misses the Cefiro ?. Had one as courtesy car for a few days  after minor car accident in 2013 if I recall correctly. Cefiro really drives like a boat with non existent cornering ability and shocking fuel consumption. Every time complete a trip see the fuel needle go down a bit. Only  Good thing it’s damn comfy 

Don't be so like that ley.

I drive a COE Teans, quite happy with this boat.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

hmm my car just entered it's 7th year. Other than changing car batteries. no additional maintenance required. Got squeaking brakes but think its cos of irregular surface of the brake disc pad according to some workshop guy.

Thought your ride is Honda Accord? You changed to this model? 

Reading his account of what was already needed from 6th year, I think he needs to be prepared for more issues for this particular model as it enters its 7th year. 

Most rides only wear n tear maintenance. Then there are picky rides that makes workshop visits like it's weekly shopping trips or spa treatments. 😜

Squeaking brakes due to irregular surface of brake disc pad? Brake dust? Happens only from morning start and goes off after awhile? 

No expert but I dun like squeaking  brakes.... I imagine a mouse trapped there and crying for help.

So, yes, will want to get rid of the mouse, I mean, squeaks, whether changing out to a better pad or maybe the rotor (in my case). 

Stay safe