Beregond Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 3 minutes ago, J_c_boy said: @Beregond Spot on. if u want to drive to the end 10 years u really need to factor those repair fees in. i didnt see ac compressor and ac condenser ( very hard to avoid this 2 ) 'C. Locked gearbox with inability to shift the gear from Parking to Drive' this 1 is the knob or switch mech damage ( its just a small mech part) But i notice u haven over haul your gear box before. If your mileage quite high, i think high chance around 200k it will come, that is another 3k+- otherwise , the radiator is quite lasting, the starter and alternator very seldom damage also. But u still haven cover the undercarriage repair. how is your suspension holding up? does your rear passanger feel like a boat ride behind? Is there any kik kok kik kok sound when u go over uneven road??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 3 hours ago, J_c_boy said: I own a 7+ years old sylphy. Your list of problems seem normal after 5 years, if they are not reoccurrences. Normal as in the bell curve. Some have it better, some worst. 90% of your problems also happened to my car, which happens be dig-turbo. Mine charge pipe, ignition coil, and bov also damaged after around 6 years. The various gasket leaks are very typical for tan chong most models. They started warning me after 3-4 years but I only changed after 6. The aircon started failing around 6.5 years, had to change the fan and cooling coil in separate events. At 7 years+, there is a feeling something gonna give way again soon, either lower control arm or engine mount whicever give way first. Your speaker problem seems weird though. At least this is a non critical problem. Mine stock speaker had some minor audio problem and I changed them out in the first 2 years. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 1 hour ago, J_c_boy said: @PSP415 No warning for all the problems listed above. They just popped up one after another within a short time frame despite the Qashqai having undergone at least two servicings at a respectable workshop annually. That's why it's so depressing. well, servicing cannot pick up some of the issues you mentioned. can be ok today, broken tomorrow. this is the same for ALL cars. actually servicing is just a change of engine oil and filters and some visual checks. even running a diagnostic check via the OBD2 port can check out all ok today but yet errors can pop up the next day. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 4 hours ago, J_c_boy said: Locked gearbox with inability to shift the gear from Parking to Drive As recently as last December, it had taken me an average of 5 to 10 minutes to wait for the gearbox to disengage and move off but the situation dovetailed to a complete lockdown last month in which I have to use a pen to depress the Shift Lock button in every instance of gear shifting. what did tan chong say about this one. should be able to scan and tell whats wrong. maybe solenoid that controls the shift lock is faulty. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 17 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: what did tan chong say about this one. should be able to scan and tell whats wrong. maybe solenoid that controls the shift lock is faulty. Ya most likely solenoid. My old Aveo5 has this problem. And it seems most Aveo5 are affected. Gotta change once. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 I drive the QQ 2.0. Bought in mid 2016. So far ok except for aircon unit died in Yr 5. Had it replaced. A few normal wear and tear issues which are brought up to my attention by the workshop but not critical for immediate attention. If all goes well in the next 3 years, might consider extending the COE for another 10 years. The QQ 2.0 is built in Sunderland UK. Build quality & fit can't compare to my old MIJ Latio. QQ starting to have a bit of tiny cabin rattling from don't know what loose parts. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 51 minutes ago, Columbian78 said: I own a 7+ years old sylphy. Your list of problems seem normal after 5 years, if they are not reoccurrences. Normal as in the bell curve. Some have it better, some worst. 90% of your problems also happened to my car, which happens be dig-turbo. Mine charge pipe, ignition coil, and bov also damaged after around 6 years. The various gasket leaks are very typical for tan chong most models. They started warning me after 3-4 years but I only changed after 6. The aircon started failing around 6.5 years, had to change the fan and cooling coil in separate events. At 7 years+, there is a feeling something gonna give way again soon, either lower control arm or engine mount whicever give way first. Your speaker problem seems weird though. At least this is a non critical problem. Mine stock speaker had some minor audio problem and I changed them out in the first 2 years. nice. almost forgot there is a turbo sylphy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 The thread title was so dramatic 😀 This is just another day in the life of many BMW owners . 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lybc 1st Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 I owned a Qashqai 2.0 till the last year before COE expiry (2018). No major issues except standard wear and tear (e.g. absorber, fuel pump). Only issue was the hardening of a value which cause the engine to overheat as the radiator wasn't able to circulate the coolant. Costed me $35 for the value and $80 for the manual labor. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cashcow Turbocharged January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 The second gen qashqai built in UK brought in by Tan Chong in 2014/5 onwards for the SG market has 2 versions (iirc) A - 1.2L DigT turbo to fit cat A which used a MIF Renault HR12DDT engine B - 2.0L NA engine to fit cat B which used a MIJ Nissan MR20DD engine Unfortunately, the lion share of issues are linked to the 1.2T cars whereas the 2.0L version seems trouble-free. So altho tthe brand being marketed is Nissan, it does not necessarily mean they have to supply you a MIJ engine. A case of clever marketing especially when the normal buyer would assume it's history of past reliability can be trust-worthy. Their marketing mantra for this car was "Excitement awaits".......... So there goes the long awaited excitement eventually 1 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 21 minutes ago, shrjun said: The thread title was so dramatic 😀 This is just another day in the life of many BMW owners . actually even compared with other Japanese makes, it isnt too bad. for sure one cannot compare with the past. Last time (when policeman wear shorts), all the parts quality were much better, nowadays everyone also cut corners and parts quality has declined everywhere. can no longer expect to get away with aircon systems lasting 10years, heck even the door locks spoil often now for conti and jap alike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 3 minutes ago, cashcow said: The second gen qashqai built in UK brought in by Tan Chong in 2014/5 onwards for the SG market has 2 versions (iirc) A - 1.2L DigT turbo to fit cat A which used a MIF Renault HR12DDT engine B - 2.0L NA engine to fit cat B which used a MIJ Nissan MR20DD engine Unfortunately, the lion share of issues are linked to the 1.2T cars whereas the 2.0L version seems trouble-free. So altho tthe brand being marketed is Nissan, it does not necessarily mean they have to supply you a MIJ engine. A case of clever marketing especially when the normal buyer would assume it's history of past reliability can be trust-worthy. Their marketing mantra for this car was "Excitement awaits".......... So there goes the long awaited excitement eventually the French always does it the best!!! 🤣 i'm waiting for the current Mercedes A/B Class engines (HR13DDT (Renault H5Ht / Mercedes-Benz M282) to kaboom!😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WWbarb 1st Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 Drove a MIJ Latio for 10yrs, i won't say it is problem free. The CVT gb barely made it to yr 10. It was so noisy, ppl kept staring at my car. I know many owners had to change the gb after yr 5. So i think the CVT on QQ should not be french. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 Just now, WWbarb said: Drove a MIJ Latio for 10yrs, i won't say it is problem free. The CVT gb barely made it to yr 10. It was so noisy, ppl kept staring at my car. I know many owners had to change the gb after yr 5. So i think the CVT on QQ should not be french. not sure about the CVT on the latio or QQ. but nissans have been using JATCO for a long time and jatco is not known for making good gearboxes. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 5 hours ago, J_c_boy said: @Dilemma My former cars, Hyundai Accent and Honda Edix with 10 years of driving each, were great. I cannot say for Honda edix, but for hyundai accent, i am sure the parts can last very long. When a car manufactuer is making a car, they will identify the market audience. For Accent, it is a low-entry level car. They will just find old but reliable parts to piece out the car. This is to save on R&D cost and such. You will be driving a old technology but the reliability have been proven. But then again, these day nothing last forever lah. relationship also dun last forever le. Don't even talk about cooling coil. 🤣 If you like the car, sayang abit and repair lor. If you don't, then sell and get a new car. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 I thought my Musso is bad….. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 13 minutes ago, Mustank said: I thought my Musso is bad….. That time your musso is alrd partner with Merc liao ah? Like that mercs also not good. 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 This is why Scott Kilmer ranks Nissan as the second worst Asia brand cars, just ahead of Suzuki. ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...