Fcw75 Hypersonic October 18, 2023 Share October 18, 2023 On 10/18/2023 at 9:38 AM, Arogab said: Sigh, another issue is these days, people use cards, vouchers and apps here for all discounts. So more people get into the trick lor QR code…don’t anyhow scan. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 18, 2023 Share October 18, 2023 On 10/18/2023 at 12:05 PM, Fcw75 said: QR code…don’t anyhow scan. Society has become more dirty with the technology. Sigh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 18, 2023 Share October 18, 2023 On 10/18/2023 at 2:11 PM, Arogab said: Society has become more dirty with the technology. Sigh This world is farked bro. Humans are the worst. Want to scan, scan KTV lady WeChat QR code still can. 🤪 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 18, 2023 Share October 18, 2023 On 10/18/2023 at 1:17 PM, Fcw75 said: This world is farked bro. Humans are the worst. Want to scan, scan KTV lady WeChat QR code still can. 🤪 Waha..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 19, 2023 Share October 19, 2023 $1.4 trillion lost to scams globally; S’pore victims lost the most on average: Study Quote The study found that scam victims in Singapore lost the most money on average, at US$4,031 per victim. Switzerland was second at US$3,767 per victim, followed by Austria at US$3,484. https://www.straitstimes.com/world/14-trillion-lost-to-scams-globally-s-pore-victims-lost-the-most-on-average-study 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged October 19, 2023 Share October 19, 2023 On 10/19/2023 at 5:18 PM, Blueray said: $1.4 trillion lost to scams globally; S’pore victims lost the most on average: Study https://www.straitstimes.com/world/14-trillion-lost-to-scams-globally-s-pore-victims-lost-the-most-on-average-study Naise. We are the top again. This means we are the richest ignorant nation! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 19, 2023 Share October 19, 2023 On 10/19/2023 at 6:54 PM, Stratovarius said: Naise. We are the top again. This means we are the richest ignorant nation! we are the world's lumbar 1 Robert 🏆 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 (edited) https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/retiree-scammed-64000-computer-take-over-man-receive-money-trial-3848836?fbclid=IwAR1fJRq6EW2NrbGnbY3MtxwIkYZoUyby1SJbT9TOOqHbehS7bUDwJkxPixw_aem_ATdJi2zQHbMYjLlKCdcRIJr_2fb8kPmuJafnDmrRS92MMR5dpy2IECrX7N4VCFEgQg0&mibextid=S66gvF Typical of them. Really can cook up any story….knn. When confronted in the course of investigations with the transfers, the accused gave an incredible explanation - he thought they were gifts from an unnamed well-wisher." Edited October 20, 2023 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/19/2023 at 6:54 PM, Stratovarius said: Naise. We are the top again. This means we are the richest ignorant nation! The study found that scam victims in Singapore lost the most money on average, at US$4,031 per victim. Switzerland was second at US$3,767 per victim, followed by Austria at US$3,484. We have achieved the Swiss standard of living. 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 Partly because they are targetting the richer countries , higher earning per capita, scammers are very educated ok. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 (edited) https://mothership.sg/2023/10/taylor-swift-ticket-scam/ This one even gotten hold of the scammer IC. Still gotten scammed. The only lesson learnt is to goggle the IC details before remitting the money. Edited October 20, 2023 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 8:45 PM, Kopites said: https://mothership.sg/2023/10/taylor-swift-ticket-scam/ This one even gotten hold of the scammer IC. Still gotten scammed. The only lesson learnt is to goggle the IC details before remitting the money. Scammer so smart to use other people IC to scam. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 8:45 PM, Kopites said: https://mothership.sg/2023/10/taylor-swift-ticket-scam/ This one even gotten hold of the scammer IC. Still gotten scammed. The only lesson learnt is to goggle the IC details before remitting the money. my girl got scam in carousell for buying concert tickets few year back, since then she only buy from official website. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 9:38 PM, Jman888 said: my girl got scam in carousell for buying concert tickets few year back, since then she only buy from official website. Kids being kid always think they are "smartest" when come to the know how of latest technology. Always throw caution to the wind. We old folk, deem conservative, would never get the respect when conversing with them on IT topics. 🤔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 22, 2023 Share October 22, 2023 was doing regular check on my ocbc cc online and found a transaction yesterday paid to Microsoft, no email or whatsoever from Microsoft that I purchase or subscribe anything from them. Called the bank and they told me could be recurring charges but they did detail check and found this was the 1st time. Log in to my Microsoft account and found no purchases (never did) or any subscription and no cc link to the payment method. I have to lock my cc and probably cancel it on monday since this is a monthly subscription which I google and found many people having the same issues. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic October 22, 2023 Share October 22, 2023 (edited) Simple lesson: Don't be greedy to get rich quick + also don't be a cheapskate save few dollars Good video for ppl who thinks they're very tech savvy but don't even know what are keylogger and screenlogger. Edited October 22, 2023 by Jellandross 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic October 25, 2023 Share October 25, 2023 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/financial-institutions-telcos-share-liability-consumers-scam-losses-mas-framework-3871356 Negligent banks, telcos to bear liability ‘ahead of’ consumers under proposed framework for scam losses The shared responsibility framework will focus on “a defined scope” of phishing scams as a start. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 i'm fascinated by the innovative and variety of these online scams 😂 Quote https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/woman-transfers-400-thai-bank-account-singapore-pools-ticket-after-seeing-facebook-post Woman transfers $400 to Thai bank account for 'Singapore Pools ticket' after seeing Facebook post, gets scammed It is not something she is proud of. A woman lost $400 after responding to a Facebook post and wants to share what happened so others don't fall for the same scam. "I know it is embarrassing that I got scammed, but I still would like the media to know and create awareness. That is my main motive," said Stomp contributor Low. It started on Oct 17 when she saw a post by a Facebook user named Gentlmen's Agreement that read: "Power huat! Congrats to all customers! Next one. Interested contact us inbox or WhatsApp for details." This was followed by a Singapore mobile number. The post included a photo of a hand holding a $29,000 UOB cheque from Singapore Pools and a Singapore Pools "Pick The Score" betting slip for a French League football match between Brest and Toulouse on Oct 8. The Stomp contributor said: "It contained all the betting predictions and a photo of the ticket and a cheque on hand. Almost all of the posts have someone commenting 'a great win'. "I was pretty sceptical, but due to some personal reason, I wanted to earn some extra income and decided to join." The Stomp contributor messaged Gentlmen's Agreement on Oct 20. "They instructed me to PromptPay (a Thai version of PayNow) $400, which was supposed to be the first transfer and they would send me the ticket that they drew from Singapore Pools for me to bet. The result is usually on the same week," recounted the Stomp contributor, who transferred the money to a Thai bank account as instructed. "They claimed they needed two to three hours for verification, which I found to be amiss. When they communicated with me through Messenger, they took only a few minutes to reply. But they were so inefficient when verifying a payment. "Nearly three hours later, they replied that their upper management gave instruction that I had to transfer an additional $400 on top of the $400 I had transferred to them, which made it a total of $800." She refused. "They tried to convince me that as assurance, they could send me that ticket first, but the transfer needed to be made. "I got inconsistent statements from them. They told me an overseas source provided them with the match information, but they later changed and said actually, the ticket was with them. "I felt the whole thing was a red flag. I only transferred $400 and I went again to block them." ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...