Mother of all scams thread

Windwaver

from HWZ forum...

apparently the scam durian tour page still active in Fb

obviously Fb dun give a shit, and police not able to do anything (should be overseas scammers)

so best is to dun anyhow click Fb pages/adverts or even delete Fb sua 

0dYaVQH.png.1f5cf561982d415fe620dcb6689e731c.png

On 9/30/2023 at 9:40 PM, Blueray said:

Download these antivirus apps, CSA urges in latest drive against cybercrooks

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/download-these-antivirus-apps-csa-urges-in-latest-drive-against-cybercrooks

While using anti-viruses is a good measure, there is one more area that people need to be more vigilant.

People need to be more careful about their own privacy in the cyberspace. For some scams/hacks to work, the scammers/hackers usually need to know about the victims first in some ways. For example, friends/love scams worked because the scammer already did his homework on the victim.  Future scams/hacks could also use such information to win trust/entry.

Use anti-virus, but also keep personal information private as much as possible.  One will not freely let a stranger into their house, so people should not freely give  away their personal information/activities/financial info/etc  in the net.  

Edited by Starry

On 10/1/2023 at 3:06 PM, Starry said:

While using anti-viruses is a good measure, there is one more area that people need to be more vigilant.

People need to be more careful about their own privacy in the cyberspace. For some scams/hacks to work, the scammers/hackers usually need to know about the victims first in some ways. For example, friends/love scams worked because the scammer already did his homework on the victim.  Future scams/hacks could also use such information to win trust/entry.

Use anti-virus, but also keep personal information private as much as possible.  One will not freely let a stranger into their house, so people should not freely give  away their personal information/activities/financial info/etc  in the net.  

dunno whether people is never read news or what ...

for the past few months, all the same modus operandi

- facebook ad with "cheap" offer

- asked to download non-Playstore app for payment

- first payment fails, try again

and we still have cases reported daily. 🤷‍♂️

Let me ask the Q- Why can't the Police or Regulators who are key personnel in the investigation of scammers and such set-up different scenario of scammer being caught and charged ( Local and overseas cases ) take Photograph of heir faces, shame 'em win Public, distribute in all social media platforms . . . We are aware of many hours done by our men in blue. Also bear in mind the banking side keep on harping on new Malware to protect the banks customers, Haha, many seniors has lost confidence in the security system. The scammers are smarter than we dare think

On 10/1/2023 at 3:42 PM, Meanmachine said:

Let me ask the Q- Why can't the Police or Regulators who are key personnel in the investigation of scammers and such set-up different scenario of scammer being caught and charged ( Local and overseas cases ) take Photograph of heir faces, shame 'em win Public, distribute in all social media platforms . . . We are aware of many hours done by our men in blue. Also bear in mind the banking side keep on harping on new Malware to protect the banks customers, Haha, many seniors has lost confidence in the security system. The scammers are smarter than we dare think

Useless unless you catch the biggest fish.

Waiting for scammer to come up with ‘antivirus app’ for people to download. 🤦🏻‍♂️

Edited by Fcw75

On 10/1/2023 at 3:06 PM, Starry said:

I took up MR trial yrs ago when they just started and got a brand new number, dun tink is recycled iirc cos is a new range allocated to MR, imagin my surpise when i get spam calls/sms/whatsapp after some time.....when e oni person i share e number w is my main hp whatsapp.

Tat sim is in my tablet which i oni utilize e data.

Edited by zipping

On 10/1/2023 at 11:06 AM, Scion said:

from HWZ forum...

apparently the scam durian tour page still active in Fb

obviously Fb dun give a shit, and police not able to do anything (should be overseas scammers)

so best is to dun anyhow click Fb pages/adverts or even delete Fb sua 

0dYaVQH.png.1f5cf561982d415fe620dcb6689e731c.png

Always one of the first apps to be disabled whenever I get a new phone. Twitter too! 

On 10/1/2023 at 3:42 PM, Meanmachine said:

Shame in public? They don't give a hoot one. To them it's just a job. And you can recognise them meh? 

On 10/2/2023 at 5:16 PM, zipping said:

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/woman-loses-30k-job-scam-family-now-facing-multitude-financial-challenges

Woman loses $30k to job scam, family now facing 'multitude of financial challenges'

Again and again.

There was a CNA program and one ex-scammer said ‘if you have to pay first to get a job, it is a scam’. 

Precisely! It’s because one need money that’s why have to find job yet have to pay first??

Anyway, this lady really don’t know what to say. If it’s too good to be true, it probably is.

The jobseeker also heard that she would be able to earn between $200 and $500 daily. 

And I read she’s 42 but her daughter is 26? Think she got scammed long ago liao. 😅

Edited by Fcw75

Fake FairPrice and Sheng Siong apps leave victims $403k poorer

The victim would then be directed to the WhatsApp messaging platform, where the "sellers" tell them to download an Android Package Kit (APK) - an app created for Android's operating system - over WhatsApp, so that the victims could place their orders. The victims may also be told to download the APK via third-party websites, instead of an official app store such as Google Play Store. The downloaded app would resemble the FairPrice Group or Sheng Siong apps.

Scammers can then access the victim's device remotely to steal banking credentials and passwords after the victim installs the APK file, as the installation includes granting the app accessibility services.

Victims would also be instructed to make a PayNow or bank transfer to pay for or make a deposit for their order, or to sign up as a member, or to pay for delivery. They would then discover unauthorised transactions from their bank accounts.

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/fake-fairprice-and-sheng-siong-apps-leave-victims-403k-poorer

• Shocked 2

On 10/6/2023 at 10:06 PM, Fcw75 said:

What a piece of crap the Bank has to say …… open new AC they literally “ force” you to go digital and also extra charges for using non digital …… and still charge you annual fees ……. Oh well that’s the way the World is moving this days rather 

On 10/7/2023 at 3:25 AM, BanCoe said:

What a piece of crap the Bank has to say …… open new AC they literally “ force” you to go digital and also extra charges for using non digital …… and still charge you annual fees ……. Oh well that’s the way the World is moving this days rather 

I believe no compulsory for elderly. My mum was able to reject her new uob saving from linking to the internet banking. DBS/posb still issue hard passbook copy for elderly. 

Just tell them you aren't internet savvy. 

Edited by Kopites