Bye Bye Blackberry

Blueray

37 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

oh yes, another trivial...

i obviously underestimated and underutilised the BB when i had it...

About 13 years ago, we drove to Genting. Those days were before all the many smart phones (of GPS) became common. But my bro-in-law had a HTC smartphone which was a forerunner for smartphones, which he had also used successfully to navigate to genting about 5 mth before us.

My BIL set up the bearings for us, told us just follow. Those days still didn't know GPS at all lor...

The problem was, the phone was quite old/used already, and he already warned us that the touchscreen was not v responsive anymore... Anyway, long story short, the HTC didn't work when we needed to use it, and we were helpless.

I had my BB with me, and remembered there was a GPS feature. Launched it, but it didn't look like it was working... so closed it back, and eventually had to ask the locals for directions...

Then much later, i found out that the GPS on the BB actually works! Just that it needed a longer time (maybe ~2-3 min) for it to launch/sync, before it will start displaying and running.

Wah piang... really stupid lor... could have saved us the anxiety (with parents and young kids on tow)...

see the info regarding Cold Start.

i think those days don't hv A-GPS.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_to_first_fix

Edited by Shibadog

2 hours ago, Atrecord said:

arrh later on i also read about A-GPS, but had forgotten it all now... just wasted that trip... actually had a device with GPS navigation but didn't realise or know how to use it...

better than my friend. He brought his Garmin car device for a road trip to Thailand, only found out after crossing into Thailand that it didn't have Thailand map lol

5 hours ago, Wt_know said:

it's a good learning lesson that KING can be dethrone ... no matter how great it "was"

once upon a time ... i see Motorola and Nokia are unshakeable ... 

some don't see it coming ... some see it coming and still do nothing [sweatdrop] 

just like Mark saying Facebook would be obsolete if not moving to Metaverse

BB wanted a closed ecosystem and refused to share BBM, they failed but Apple succeeded?  

They failed to live up to their Research In Motion (RIM) namesake. 

Edited by Voodooman

44 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

BB wanted a closed ecosystem and refused to share BBM, they failed but Apple succeeded?  

They failed to live up to their Research In Motion (RIM) namesake. 

I think BB's decline and ultimate demise is due to a few factors.
Firstly, its ecosystem and apps were too enterprise or business centric and didn't find much embracement with mainstream consumers.
Secondly, when Apple launched the iPhone, a full screen touch screen experience just opened up a whole new world of possibilities and interaction with device which enabled apps to be much more engaging and interesting to use. Although Apple was not the very first company to launch a full screen touch screen phone, its status and very wide global recognition of the brand enabled it to gain very wide consumer acceptance of its product and accelerated the iPhone's and iOS' adoption rate.
And thirdly, the introduction of the Android OS with Google's huge range of services under one roof and with very customisation settings, layout and moddings and the fast expanding number of apps put the final nail in the coffin for Blackberry which got laggard in its by then antiquated interface and operating system.

15 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Mine was a Palm Treo running on Windows OS, it was like a BB but better. Palm died long ago. But back then I simply loved it. I can put my schedules in the calendar, read my mail, I even installed navigation software(Papago) and run it with an external gps module (Holux). It has BT to link to my single ear piece receiver/speaker. Like all Palm devices it has a stylus that is stored at the back of the phone. Surprisingly it was very reliable. Back then it was the best phone I have ever come across...until Apple came up with the iphone. LoL...

Palm-Treo-750-Upgrades-to-Windows-Mobile

Sigh ... I LOVED my Palm Treo. It stored everything. I remembered using a FiloFax then moved on to Palm OS before this and this was a big upgrade for organising my life! I never really figured out why Windows Mobile OS did not catch on cos Microsoft did have an ecosystem and default OS for desktops! Those were the days ... 

7 minutes ago, Mcscot said:

Sigh ... I LOVED my Palm Treo. It stored everything. I remembered using a FiloFax then moved on to Palm OS before this and this was a big upgrade for organising my life! I never really figured out why Windows Mobile OS did not catch on cos Microsoft did have an ecosystem and default OS for desktops! Those were the days ... 

Cos it was laggy and the interface suxs big time.

Once first time users had a sour experience with it, they would stay off MS Mobile OS.

12 hours ago, Shibadog said:

better than my friend. He brought his Garmin car device for a road trip to Thailand, only found out after crossing into Thailand that it didn't have Thailand map lol

TMD... mai gong Garmin liao...

when we went Aust for a trip, i took the trouble to come here ask, then went to trace and loaded in Aussie map to bring it along. Told my wife to bring cable... and she did - except that instead of the mini USB that's required, she brought more micro USBs which we also use to charge phones... 🤦‍♂️

9 hours ago, happy_man said:

OMG...you needed GPS to get to Genting  ??? 😖

bo biang... i kiasi, keep reading how dangerous m'sia is, so only went in maybe less than 20 times over the years. Mostly JB, and just once to Malacca... not familiar lor... 😅

37 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

TMD... mai gong Garmin liao...

when we went Aust for a trip, i took the trouble to come here ask, then went to trace and loaded in Aussie map to bring it along. Told my wife to bring cable... and she did - except that instead of the mini USB that's required, she brought more micro USBs which we also use to charge phones... 🤦‍♂️

Bro, if you are driver, you are in-charge of everything in the car.

During my uni years, I am always the default main driver.

I write note on the road to use and corresponding page.

Front passenger is in charge of reading my notes.

wah seh. Alot of high ses people here. My ex company only allow BB for managers. the rest of the small prawns like us only can buy the Nokia E72 and act satki. 

6 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Bro, if you are driver, you are in-charge of everything in the car.

During my uni years, I am always the default main driver.

I write note on the road to use and corresponding page.

Front passenger is in charge of reading my notes.

sigh... i learnt my lesson. Next trip, i wanted to bring car cam, so i handled it myself.

that time, she was the one who ever used the GPS, so i thought it's ok to ask her bring, since she's also in charge of packing. 人算不如天算