Blueray Hypersonic January 4, 2022 Share January 4, 2022 Your BlackBerry dies on Jan 4: End of an era for iconic handset NEW YORK (BLOOMBERG) - BlackBerry devices running the original operating system and services will no longer be supported after Tuesday (Jan 4), marking the end of an era for the storied device that catapulted work into the mobile era. Ontario-based BlackBerry Ltd, the company formerly known as Research In Motion, whose signature handset in the 1990s came to embody working on the move, said handsets running its in-house software "will no longer be expected to reliably function" after Tuesday, according to its end-of-life page. The move, first announced in 2020, effectively kills off a line-up that remains popular to this day in parts of the world for its reliability and security. BlackBerry devices and their physical keyboards were once the go-to mobile device both for professionals keeping up with e-mail and younger people messaging on its proprietary platform. The company's appeal waned as Apple's iPhone and a slew of Android handsets with larger displays, better graphics and wider app offerings took over the market during the past decade. The Canadian company stopped making its own smartphones in 2016, shifting to a software-only business and licensing its brand and services to TCL Communication Technology Holdings, which continued to release devices until its deal ran out in 2020. The TCL devices were powered by Alphabet's Android OS and will be supported until August. Yet nostalgia for the BlackBerry name made it one of the meme stocks of 2021, triggering a massive spike in its share price in January before a similarly steep decline. "These devices will lack the ability to receive over-the-air provisioning updates and as such, this functionality will no longer be expected to reliably function, including for data, phone calls, SMS and 9-1-1 functionality," the company wrote. "Applications will also have limited functionality." https://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/your-blackberry-dies-on-jan-4-end-of-an-era-for-iconic-handset ↡ Advertisement 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 4, 2022 Share January 4, 2022 I believe blackberry has move on to cybersecurity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 4, 2022 Share January 4, 2022 (edited) wow ... couldn't forget the 1st time i got my BB (no color) that can check email like god sent .... some more got keypad ... unbelievable ... lol then iphone 3G come ... jit dong jeng ! Edited January 4, 2022 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 Mine was a Palm Treo running on Windows OS, it was like a BB but better. Palm died long ago. But back then I simply loved it. I can put my schedules in the calendar, read my mail, I even installed navigation software(Papago) and run it with an external gps module (Holux). It has BT to link to my single ear piece receiver/speaker. Like all Palm devices it has a stylus that is stored at the back of the phone. Surprisingly it was very reliable. Back then it was the best phone I have ever come across...until Apple came up with the iphone. LoL... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 Not a techie guy, had never heard of it beforehand, but company used it and issued one. Was amazed that could check email without computer or data plan (for my personal hp). Lost one once... and had to use an older model for months before given a newer model. trivial: A junior colleague who also didn't know of this product, had thought that it's a fruit!!! When her boss asked her to go to the boss' office to help bring over the BB, the colleague went back to say that she looked, but couldn't see any fruits there... 🤣 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 the last i had was the bold one. It was do cool And sleek Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 I remember carrying one around for almost 3 years. Fantastic phone to have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 11 hours ago, Wt_know said: wow ... couldn't forget the 1st time i got my BB (no color) that can check email like god sent .... and from then on.... cursed whoever the fish invented it and made you a slave to constant email updates and demands. 🤣 actually also cant remember the last time i saw anyone carry BB... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 Loved my BB when I was using it in the past. Actually bought a 2nd one cos the keyboard was just fantastic for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 3 hours ago, Watwheels said: Mine was a Palm Treo running on Windows OS, it was like a BB but better. Palm died long ago. But back then I simply loved it. I can put my schedules in the calendar, read my mail, I even installed navigation software(Papago) and run it with an external gps module (Holux). It has BT to link to my single ear piece receiver/speaker. Like all Palm devices it has a stylus that is stored at the back of the phone. Surprisingly it was very reliable. Back then it was the best phone I have ever come across...until Apple came up with the iphone. LoL... back then I always wanted qwerty keypad phone. No money get blackberry, so i gotten this. I very good phone also. hahaha. Accompanied my NSF days. 😂 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 hated that non stop blinking red light esp when it comes on at night 🙄😬 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 (edited) Never use a BB before....... To me at that time, BB is to make someone work beyond 9-5..........😂 Edited January 5, 2022 by Starry 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 5 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said: the last i had was the bold one. It was do cool And sleek BB used to be king in Indonesia. Was carrying one for 10 years, loved the keyboard before someone invented swype keyboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Voodooman said: BB used to be king in Indonesia. Was carrying one for 10 years, loved the keyboard before someone invented swype keyboard. it's a good learning lesson that KING can be dethrone ... no matter how great it "was" once upon a time ... i see Motorola and Nokia are unshakeable ... some don't see it coming ... some see it coming and still do nothing just like Mark saying Facebook would be obsolete if not moving to Metaverse Edited January 5, 2022 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 had a few different models of BB, including a few Bold models, the Q10 and the Prive. miss the keyboard but the full screen experience + apps designed for the screen really killed it off, not to mention their stubbornness in not allowing non-bb hp to use BBM. By the time they allowed it, it was way too late. Overtaken by WhatsApp. good thing abt BBM is can exchange pin to text each other while not revealing hp number. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 1 hour ago, Starry said: Never use a BB before....... To me at that time, BB is to make someone work beyond 9-5..........😂 Me too From pager to Nokia, then to cheap android phone then iPhone never think of buying one those holding one is suay siao kena force by office to hold one like the 9 rings, 3 for the elven kings …. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Wt_know said: it's a good learning lesson that KING can be dethrone ... no matter how great it "was" once upon a time ... i see Motorola and Nokia are unshakeable ... some don't see it coming ... some see it coming and still do nothing just like Mark saying Facebook would be obsolete if not moving to Metaverse I think their advertising revenue was dropping so have to move on when they develop virtual sex parties, tours across land time and dimensions that would be the time Edited January 5, 2022 by Mustank 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 5, 2022 Share January 5, 2022 oh yes, another trivial... i obviously underestimated and underutilised the BB when i had it... About 13 years ago, we drove to Genting. Those days were before all the many smart phones (of GPS) became common. But my bro-in-law had a HTC smartphone which was a forerunner for smartphones, which he had also used successfully to navigate to genting about 5 mth before us. My BIL set up the bearings for us, told us just follow. Those days still didn't know GPS at all lor... The problem was, the phone was quite old/used already, and he already warned us that the touchscreen was not v responsive anymore... Anyway, long story short, the HTC didn't work when we needed to use it, and we were helpless. I had my BB with me, and remembered there was a GPS feature. Launched it, but it didn't look like it was working... so closed it back, and eventually had to ask the locals for directions... Then much later, i found out that the GPS on the BB actually works! Just that it needed a longer time (maybe ~2-3 min) for it to launch/sync, before it will start displaying and running. Wah piang... really stupid lor... could have saved us the anxiety (with parents and young kids on tow)... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...