badlammy 6th Gear December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 10 hours ago, Theoldjaffa said: Next time I’ll go to Goodyear directly or to Hock Tyre liao. cos I’ve checked with LS, Arrow and Hurry and all say don’t have. Try Yap Bros. I find their prices more attractive too. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 20 minutes ago, badlammy said: Try Yap Bros. I find their prices more attractive too. Got my last few sets from them but they closed their Toh Guan outlet recently and moved to Kaki Bukit. Not convenient for those in the West anymore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 (edited) 12 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Got my last few sets from them but they closed their Toh Guan outlet recently and moved to Kaki Bukit. Not convenient for those in the West anymore. in the west , if really want GY tyres, can go enmaru @ international road there, ENMARU is 1 of the GY AD, ( HOCK tyre also 1 of them) international road that 1 is their retail , their store at tuas, even if they no stock, they can order easily and fast , Edited December 31, 2021 by Beregond 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: in the west , if really want GY tyres, can go enmaru @ international road there, ENMARU is 1 of the GY AD, ( HOCK tyre also 1 of them) international road that 1 is their retail , their store at tuas, even if they no stock, they can order easily and fast , That's too West! Like no man's land! I need Toh Guan/Bukit Buttocks area. But probably no need to replace tyres for another 2 years as my annual mileage very low. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Volvobrick said: That's too West! Like no man's land! I need Toh Guan/Bukit Buttocks area. But probably no need to replace tyres for another 2 years as my annual mileage very low. Your car mileage too Low. Drive more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 2 hours ago, badlammy said: Try Yap Bros. I find their prices more attractive too. I did go there but the attitude abit ai mai ai mai.. so I passed them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 (edited) 28 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said: I did go there but the attitude abit ai mai ai mai.. so I passed them. ya , alot of times its not about price. 😁 Edited December 31, 2021 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said: I did go there but the attitude abit ai mai ai mai.. so I passed them. I found their service quite good. Asked them to clean the rims too and they did for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Beregond said: ya , alot of times its not about price. 😁 This one I agree. Service and workmanship is important. Some might ask what's the big deal? First of all, the changing of he Tyres also involved the changing of the valve. This itself is no big deal but if not done properly, potentially the new valve can leak. So an SOP for the mechanic is to spray some soap water to ensure and check that the new valve is installed properly. Never ever assumed that it is perfect. I ended with one flat tyre in the same day due to a faulty valve. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 3 minutes ago, Hosaybo said: This one I agree. Service and workmanship is important. Some might ask what's the big deal? First of all, the changing of he Tyres also involved the changing of the valve. This itself is no big deal but if not done properly, potentially the new valve can leak. So an SOP for the mechanic is to spray some soap water to ensure and check that the new valve is installed properly. Never ever assumed that it is perfect. I ended with one flat tyre in the same day due to a faulty valve. some place that is really cheap, they dun even replace your valve😅 some place they 'throw' our rim onto the machine. if your rims is those original rim still ok. if those expensive aftermarket rim, u hear liao also heart pain. Not to mention , some really cheap place is alway in a rush , they wont have time to entertain u any small detail and questions And some boss behave as if u are more desperate for their cheap tyres, then they more desperate to sell u their tyres.🤐 But to be frank these type of job, their attitude depend alot on their mood and workload , esp if u not their regular, its not an easy job, alot of time patience is needed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 6 hours ago, badlammy said: Try Yap Bros. I find their prices more attractive too. Yap. Been going to Yap B for my last 2 sets. Good price n less attitude 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koster 4th Gear December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 5 hours ago, Volvobrick said: That's too West! Like no man's land! I need Toh Guan/Bukit Buttocks area. But probably no need to replace tyres for another 2 years as my annual mileage very low. Can try the tyre shop at the shell station beside bt buttocks autobacs. They did carry my odd size F1A5. The prices not the cheapest though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 6 hours ago, Beregond said: in the west , if really want GY tyres, can go enmaru @ international road there, ENMARU is 1 of the GY AD, ( HOCK tyre also 1 of them) international road that 1 is their retail , their store at tuas, even if they no stock, they can order easily and fast , My bro just called them looking for 205/50/17 efficient grip2. They had stock on hand. This size is odd and rather rare. Was also given the option of 89 or 93 load rating with 89 being cheaper. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 5 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: My bro just called them looking for 205/50/17 efficient grip2. They had stock on hand. This size is odd and rather rare. Was also given the option of 89 or 93 load rating with 89 being cheaper. Ya. Very odd size. What car ? 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 34 minutes ago, Beregond said: Ya. Very odd size. What car ? 😅 He wanted 215/45/17, but efficient grip2 doesn’t have this size. So with a 7” rim, he went for 205/50/17. The next closest was 225/45/17, which is a tad too wide for a 7” rim. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic December 31, 2021 Share December 31, 2021 2 hours ago, Mkl22 said: He wanted 215/45/17, but efficient grip2 doesn’t have this size. So with a 7” rim, he went for 205/50/17. The next closest was 225/45/17, which is a tad too wide for a 7” rim. EG P2 is a great tyre for those liking comfort and quietness with more than enough grip wet and dry. Am using it now. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 1, 2022 Share January 1, 2022 (edited) I'm rocking Goodyear Eagle F1 Super Sport tyres on my M140i. This is one step above the Asymmetric 5. I'm very happy with the SS. The dry road grip is almost indistinguishable from the Michelin PS4S I used to run (I'll need a proper track day to separate them), and the wet grip feels a lot better subjectively. I'm waiting to see if they'll release an upgraded SS above this new Asymmetric 6. But even before that I might go with the A6 on my Renault Megane RS and leave the updated SS for my next M140i tyre change. I'm probably not going back to Michelin. Edited January 1, 2022 by Turboflat4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic January 1, 2022 Share January 1, 2022 On 12/31/2021 at 10:14 AM, Volvobrick said: That's too West! Like no man's land! I need Toh Guan/Bukit Buttocks area. But probably no need to replace tyres for another 2 years as my annual mileage very low. I am considering hong tyres at Jurong kechil as they patched my flat tyre for free the first time I visited them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...