Windwaver Turbocharged August 2, 2022 Share August 2, 2022 Where is the expensive? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 1 hour ago, mikk123 said: we are officially No. 1. So proud 😁 https://www.eiu.com/n/new-york-and-singapore-rank-as-the-worlds-most-expensive-cities/ Not sure how is this rated. But after my trip to NYC, I felt we are a long distance away from NYC. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 2 minutes ago, mikk123 said: a lot more cheaper than NYC? Definitely. I think Tohto mentioned previously, 30 minutes parking cost $9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 I wouldn’t solely use parking fees as a factor to judge that New York City is more expensive. Parking in most major cities are horrendously expensive be it New York, Sydney or Hong Kong, whereas there is plentiful free parking in the suburbs. Most people who work in the CBD would take the subway to get to work, even mid-management types. One piece of Cat B COE can buy quite a lot of parking… 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 I think no country can compete against us for private car ownership cost. 😁 Ours really no horse run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 24 minutes ago, Didu said: I think no country can compete against us for private car ownership cost. 😁 Ours really no horse run. Including our ministers salaries. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 36 minutes ago, Didu said: I think no country can compete against us for private car ownership cost. 😁 Ours really no horse run. On 1 hand, we can remove COE and jam until kee siao. On the other hand, we can have COE like lucky draw. A lot of ppl may not even have the chance to own a car. Don't try to be complicated. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 12 minutes ago, jcmm said: Including our ministers salaries. I believe some dead person said it is to deter corruption. You don't want Sg to be like MY right? 😜 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 (edited) We just leave the COE out of the picture. Compare food price, public transport including Uber, house rental.. everything here become so cheap. Edited December 2, 2022 by Tohto 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 4 hours ago, Tohto said: We just leave the COE out of the picture. Compare food price, public transport including Uber, house rental.. everything here become so cheap. I am now in Tokyo. If you compare their normal shop food against ours, I think here in Japan is slightly cheaper and better quality. ¥1,000+ set we won't be able to match. Of course they don't have our hawker centers. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Victor68 said: I am now in Tokyo. If you compare their normal shop food against ours, I think here in Japan is slightly cheaper and better quality. ¥1,000+ set we won't be able to match. Of course they don't have our hawker centers. i just return last week ... 1000 yen is like their "ceiling" for staple meal ... yummy ramen at 700-850 yen ... big portion ... that's their daily hawker meal 500-550 yen meal also have ... but pretty much basic Edited December 2, 2022 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 5 minutes ago, Wt_know said: i just return last week ... 1000 yen is like their "ceiling" for staple meal ... yummy ramen at 700-850 yen ... big portion ... that's their daily hawker meal 500-550 yen meal also have ... but pretty much basic And that is in Tokyo and not some lanes. So our standard of living or inflation has caught up so much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 4 hours ago, Tohto said: We just leave the COE out of the picture. Compare food price, public transport including Uber, house rental.. everything here become so cheap. Kailan not included hor 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Victor68 said: And that is in Tokyo and not some lanes. So our standard of living or inflation has caught up so much? japan stagnation for almost 20 years liao Edited December 2, 2022 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged December 2, 2022 Share December 2, 2022 1 hour ago, Wt_know said: i just return last week ... 1000 yen is like their "ceiling" for staple meal ... yummy ramen at 700-850 yen ... big portion ... that's their daily hawker meal 500-550 yen meal also have ... but pretty much basic I bought a plate of nasi padang at AMK coffee shop. It contains: White rice A chunk of sadine 1 x fried egg Some sambal goreng And a scoop full of curry vege Paid SGD5 for it. Is that considered basic? 😋 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...