The price of simplicity

On 12/15/2021 at 10:33 AM, Voodooman said:

What you are saying is "my time is my time". I don't disagree but i think there is more to a happy and healthy full retirement than everyday zuo bo. Of course walking the dog, reading the papers for front to back and back to front while having breakfast and running at the beach (or exercising) can be a purpose for some, just not for me (maybe in my 70s).

Just my take, different strokes for different folks. 

Expand  

Yah

Confirm cannot zho bo

On 12/15/2021 at 11:21 AM, Karoon said:

Remind me next year when this guy is back in banking because he misses the buzz. 

Expand  

Or misses those sweet young things in the typical banking office [laugh] Go back before get too old to enjoy

On 12/15/2021 at 8:27 AM, Sosaria said:

Yeah, those guy like in the article, is because they slaved away to become rich, then start pondering how they  missed out on life. Only after they had enough riches to buy whatever they wanted, then realize something still missing. If take away all his riches and make him a typical HDB dweller with mid 4-figure job, will he still be realizing this "time value of money"? [laugh] Or complain money no enough, inequality in society?

It's good to start right off the bat. Come out and work in a job that is not too demanding, won't be rich, just enough and learn to enjoy work-life balance. Stay in the rank-and-file, don't rise up to upper management, won't be rich, but enjoy less stress and can switch off when on leave.

Then, we talk [laugh] And write article.

Expand  

a typical HDB dweller with mid 4-figure job can also live happily and contentedly what

everyday hawker food is fine, there are so many variety that are affordable

no Rolex and Tesla are okay too

On 12/15/2021 at 6:11 AM, Throttle2 said:

I love full retirement.  Full retirement doesnt mean doing nothing or having no purpose.   It means not having to be accountable to any business work related matter to anyone but yourself.   Therefore as long as you are at the beck and call of someone something related to work, you hv not retired fully.  
thats my take.

Expand  

Retirement mean wake up next day don’t need worry about financial liao lol

On 12/16/2021 at 3:34 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Expand  

Of course, abo then.

it also means, you have a good budget to spend and you can spend all you like as long as it is within that budget.

Of course that budget is different for different people.  But according to stupid reports $1200 monthly is enough. I say Lan Jiao!

On 12/16/2021 at 3:34 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Expand  

So many people i know can retire financially but are not. Financial is just one of the aspects (in fact it is a prerequiste), there are many other boxes to check. Best to ease into it gradually with a dial otherwise the body and mind go into check and mati very fast.  

On 12/16/2021 at 12:26 PM, Voodooman said:

So many people i know can retire financially but are not. Financial is just one of the aspects (in fact it is a prerequiste), there are many other boxes to check. Best to ease into it gradually with a dial otherwise the body and mind go into check and mati very fast.  

Expand  

I know someone retired then find too boring and find some part time job lol

On 12/20/2021 at 11:03 AM, Throttle2 said:
Expand  

i dare, tmr i quitting without a job, to take a break for an indefinite amount of time, and no, not becoming influencer 😂

On 12/20/2021 at 1:47 PM, SiLangKia said:

i dare, tmr i quitting without a job, to take a break for an indefinite amount of time, and no, not becoming influencer 😂

Expand  

Your Signals Salah lah again ....... or rather Mixed Signals (GoAhead Gostan) 🤣🤣 

On 12/20/2021 at 1:47 PM, SiLangKia said:

Expand  

Finally we can catch up haha across the road

Simple is never simple.

Take cooking for example. The simplest dish is usually the hardest thing to master and takes lots of preparation too despite the simple looks of the dish. Reminds me of Stephen Chow movie where he had to cook a claypot rice using the cheapest ingredients. Yet he had to expend so much effort to bring the dish to the next level so that he could win  his rival who used all the goody expensive ingredients. Of course this is cinematics and overly dramatised but there is some truth in it.