Jamesc Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 Different people like different sounds A 2.1 with a really good subwoofer with really good bass can be very satisfying A good middle channel so you can hear the dialogue clearly can also be very satisfying 2 good front speakers that can create the rear effects without rear speakers can also be very satisfying Like a car that has good front speakers and a good sub can be very satisfying without any rear speakers. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 For WAF put a false ceiling or false cornice and put in some ceiling speakers for the rear channels. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 1 hour ago, Mason016 said: Unless you have a dedicated room, you have to accept a compromised placement and sound stage. A decent setup like a 2.1 or 3.1 (if you are anal about speech)is generally sufficient for most people lah. It’s the bookshelf speakers (1.5 to 2k) and the subwoofer (1.5 to 2k) which will cost you. A basic Denon or Marantz integrated amp with pre outs or subwoofer outs (< 1k) will do. Speakers got your basic B&W, Focal, Monitor Audio, KEF etc. Subwoofer can go SVS (if you like thumping bass) or the more refined JL audio. RCA cables just go down to sim Lim tower and get them done. High ses spotted...your basic is premium brands to me 😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 13 hours ago, Jman888 said: you very long never go watch movie in cinema liao, these days the cinema seat can stretch quite far Yeah .. I was pleasantly surprised at the space as well as the plush seats.. watch top gun 2 with wife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 9 hours ago, Jamesc said: For WAF put a false ceiling or false cornice and put in some ceiling speakers for the rear channels. This one cannot la. Used for meeting rooms or toilet. Like those in hotel rooms. Lol. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Supercharged August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 25 minutes ago, Stratovarius said: This one cannot la. Used for meeting rooms or toilet. Like those in hotel rooms. Lol. Me next time got do minor reno will prob change my current 2 wall mount rear speakers to in-ceiling ones mounted in the L-box.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 10 hours ago, Jamesc said: For WAF put a false ceiling or false cornice and put in some ceiling speakers for the rear channels. then you find out the new false ceilings using soft steel as a frame can vibrate. the old school timber strips are more robust. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 (edited) my old school idea of 5.1 or 7.1 will be all 5/7 speaker are the same, driven by the same 7channel amp or 7 mono blocks. the sub will be an active sub. No such thing as smaller rears or center or sides. all 7 speakers are identical. no half assed setup! 😁 if no one makes a 7 speaker setup then buy 4pairs or bookshelf or floorstanders and keep one as spare. this was what THX "taught" me 30years ago. Edited August 19, 2022 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Mkl22 said: my old school idea of 5.1 or 7.1 will be all 5/7 speaker are the same, driven by the same 7channel amp or 7 mono blocks. the sub will be an active sub. No such thing as smaller rears or center or sides. all 7 speakers are identical. no half assed setup! 😁 if no one makes a 7 speaker setup then buy 4pairs or bookshelf or floorstanders and keep one as spare. this was what THX "taught" me 30years ago. 5.2 or 7.2 Your doors will open and close by themselves and might have to invite your angry neighbour in for a beer. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghgan 5th Gear August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 21 hours ago, Jamesc said: For WAF put a false ceiling or false cornice and put in some ceiling speakers for the rear channels. Wait false ceiling too heavy become like this 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 Haha no lah! I put a false ceiling in my MIL's room. 2 hours ago, Ghgan said: Wait false ceiling too heavy become like this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 On 8/18/2022 at 9:58 PM, BabyBlade said: So far so good no complaints! One of my best buy for 2021. But I wouldn't say it's mind-blowing, but definitely a huge step up from my TV speakers. Good design + sound quality + ease of use (app). Hi @BabyBlade is your Beam still serving well? Since then have you pulled the trigger on the subwoofer or upgraded to another soundbar/system? If you don't mind sharing, what sort of "mind-blowing" were you looking for while shopping for a soundbar? My bto coming next year so recently got poisoned into looking for soundbar. Standard 4room flat living room size. I don't consider myself an audiophile and never used more than TV inbuilt speakers so frankly I am not sure what I am looking for. Media is netflix, YT, Disney+, spotify, I don't game. Well, I think one thing I need is improved dialogue clarity - currently have to blast the volume just to hear dialogue more clearly. Seems like I might be looking for minimum 3.0ch with the centre speaker for dialogue. Based on my internet research the Beam gen 2 constantly stands out as a good choice packed full of features for the price, only downside is the standalone sub is pricey. Question is, starting as a noob listener will I miss having the standalone sub? At that 700+ price point there are bar+standalone sub systems to consider as well, of course sacrificing some features compared to the Beam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 5 minutes ago, boonhat_91 said: Hi @BabyBlade is your Beam still serving well? Since then have you pulled the trigger on the subwoofer or upgraded to another soundbar/system? If you don't mind sharing, what sort of "mind-blowing" were you looking for while shopping for a soundbar? My bto coming next year so recently got poisoned into looking for soundbar. Standard 4room flat living room size. I don't consider myself an audiophile and never used more than TV inbuilt speakers so frankly I am not sure what I am looking for. Media is netflix, YT, Disney+, spotify, I don't game. Well, I think one thing I need is improved dialogue clarity - currently have to blast the volume just to hear dialogue more clearly. Seems like I might be looking for minimum 3.0ch with the centre speaker for dialogue. Based on my internet research the Beam gen 2 constantly stands out as a good choice packed full of features for the price, only downside is the standalone sub is pricey. Question is, starting as a noob listener will I miss having the standalone sub? At that 700+ price point there are bar+standalone sub systems to consider as well, of course sacrificing some features compared to the Beam. if you intend to pair other single SONOS speakers, then go for the Beam. Otherwise, just get any of those Sony bars can already. I have been using a Beam for maybe 3 to 4 years with the intention of adding single speakers but never got around to it. No complaints so far. With the woofer, definitely better. But I don't demand much. Before you commit to SONOS, go to Millenia Walk Commune shop. They showcase SONOS products in a semi real world room setting. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 On 8/19/2022 at 8:12 PM, Ghgan said: Wait false ceiling too heavy become like this wah lau.... just miss the baby bed . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 If u want budget. I think either yamaha or Creative. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 3 minutes ago, Lala81 said: If u want budget. I think either yamaha or Creative. Yamaha or Creative is not 'mind-blowing' enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 But once buy the best you can afford. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic December 23, 2022 Share December 23, 2022 (edited) Bose 700 on sale ... pretty good, especially if you use it with the sub.. Edited December 23, 2022 by therock ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...