therock Supersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 40 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: Is there like a rule of thumb? Currently looking at Q930B with is 9.2.1 while the Q990B is 11.2.1. malaysia Samsung portal is selling at 3299 ringette for Q930B so thinking if there will be a better deal during 11.11 A well place real 5.1 system will beat a sound bar with any number of channels ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 16 hours ago, therock said: A well place real 5.1 system will beat a sound bar with any number of channels A well placed sound bar with any number of channels will beat a real 5.1 system in WAF (Wife Approval Factor) many times over...... 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) 6 hours ago, Vratenza said: A well placed sound bar with any number of channels will beat a real 5.1 system in WAF (Wife Approval Factor) many times over...... so we go one full circle as there is no real perfect platform to create a total sound experience and it’s probably looks like a interior design disaster after retro fitting it. Does it still make sense to spend more than 500 to get the sound bar? after all, it’s just to boost the sound output and not an all out attempt to recreate such sound immersion experience that you can feel the difference . you can probably hear a heighten sound output than the usual stock standard tv speakers and that’s sort of where I sense is the common response to this past message so in summary.. a above average sound bar will give you a better sound experience, but not an OMG. I could feel and almost smell the body odour from the vampire movie Edited August 18, 2022 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 1 minute ago, Sdf4786k said: so we go one full circle as there is no real perfect platform to create a total sound experience and it’s probably looks like a interior design disaster after retro fitting it. Does it still make sense to spend more than 500 to get the sound bar? after all, it’s just to boost the sound output and not an all out attempt to recreate such sound immersion experience that you can feel the difference . you can probably hear a heighten sound output than the usual stock standard tv speakers and that’s sort of where I sense is the common response to this past message if purely for tv and movie at home, i rather go watch in cinema i watch kdrama at home and good sound system doesn't matter to me cos i dun understand what they are talking about anyway 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Jman888 said: if purely for tv and movie at home, i rather go watch in cinema i watch kdrama at home and good sound system doesn't matter to me cos i dun understand what they are talking about anyway I kanna one time.. wife scolded me for talking with my daughter and she got problems reading the subtitles n following the k dialogue lol Edited August 18, 2022 by Sdf4786k 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 7 minutes ago, Jman888 said: if purely for tv and movie at home, i rather go watch in cinema i watch kdrama at home and good sound system doesn't matter to me cos i dun understand what they are talking about anyway A good HT system can best a cinema, but it requires effort and $$. No need to park, queue or endure phone calls and someone's knees against your seat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 15 minutes ago, therock said: A good HT system can best a cinema, but it requires effort and $$. No need to park, queue or endure phone calls and someone's knees against your seat... you very long never go watch movie in cinema liao, these days the cinema seat can stretch quite far 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 10 minutes ago, Jman888 said: you very long never go watch movie in cinema liao, these days the cinema seat can stretch quite far Or because ur legs shrunk? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 3 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: so we go one full circle as there is no real perfect platform to create a total sound experience and it’s probably looks like a interior design disaster after retro fitting it. Does it still make sense to spend more than 500 to get the sound bar? after all, it’s just to boost the sound output and not an all out attempt to recreate such sound immersion experience that you can feel the difference . you can probably hear a heighten sound output than the usual stock standard tv speakers and that’s sort of where I sense is the common response to this past message so in summary.. a above average sound bar will give you a better sound experience, but not an OMG. I could feel and almost smell the body odour from the vampire movie You need a decent size enclosure for bass and decent sound. Stock tv speakers cannot replicate that given have thin the frame is now. Same with the mobile phone. thus external speakers 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 You also need to spend some money.. Say 500 for 11 channels doesn't leave much room for quality.. 500 for a 2 channel soundbar will sound a lot better. For a proper 11 channel system I'll say 5-10k on speakers will give you pretty good sound. But even more important, is placement, and that is the vital reason why a HT system sounds better than a soundbar. Imagine you line up all 11 channels in a row in front and hope it sounds enveloping... it's not going to be that nice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 10 hours ago, Vratenza said: A well placed sound bar with any number of channels will beat a real 5.1 system in WAF (Wife Approval Factor) many times over...... You mean 2.1 WAR...wife approval rating...anything higher there will be domestic war 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 3 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: I kanna one time.. wife scolded me for talking with my daughter and she got problems reading the subtitles n following the k dialogue lol Your wife so drama until liddat 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 14 minutes ago, therock said: You also need to spend some money.. Say 500 for 11 channels doesn't leave much room for quality.. 500 for a 2 channel soundbar will sound a lot better. For a proper 11 channel system I'll say 5-10k on speakers will give you pretty good sound. But even more important, is placement, and that is the vital reason why a HT system sounds better than a soundbar. Imagine you line up all 11 channels in a row in front and hope it sounds enveloping... it's not going to be that nice... Yes, placement is vital, proper sound stage is important to get the optimal outcome. But to the Mrs...no clutter is of paramount importance 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 9 minutes ago, mersaylee said: You mean 2.1 WAR...wife approval rating...anything higher there will be domestic war 😅 I'm blessed.. my wife let me enjoy a good system. But right now, I only have a 120 db mono speaker that can do treble and mids only, haha... My main system is less used now, and I rely on the TV speakers for most nights, and sometimes I even fall asleep watching... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 8 minutes ago, therock said: I'm blessed.. my wife let me enjoy a good system. But right now, I only have a 120 db mono speaker that can do treble and mids only, haha... My main system is less used now, and I rely on the TV speakers for most nights, and sometimes I even fall asleep watching... See if she can still withhold her approval when your princess starts to crawl or think she can walk through walls...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator August 18, 2022 Author Share August 18, 2022 On 8/9/2022 at 1:35 PM, Sdf4786k said: This is Sonos arc .. envy .. This is Sonos Beam! Sonos Arc must ask @RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator August 18, 2022 Author Share August 18, 2022 On 8/8/2022 at 8:42 PM, Jman888 said: Sonos confirm good for both movie and music, dun believe ask @BabyBlade So far so good no complaints! One of my best buy for 2021. But I wouldn't say it's mind-blowing, but definitely a huge step up from my TV speakers. Good design + sound quality + ease of use (app). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 41 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Yes, placement is vital, proper sound stage is important to get the optimal outcome. But to the Mrs...no clutter is of paramount importance 😂 Unless you have a dedicated room, you have to accept a compromised placement and sound stage. A decent setup like a 2.1 or 3.1 (if you are anal about speech)is generally sufficient for most people lah. It’s the bookshelf speakers (1.5 to 2k) and the subwoofer (1.5 to 2k) which will cost you. A basic Denon or Marantz integrated amp with pre outs or subwoofer outs (< 1k) will do. Speakers got your basic B&W, Focal, Monitor Audio, KEF etc. Subwoofer can go SVS (if you like thumping bass) or the more refined JL audio. RCA cables just go down to sim Lim tower and get them done. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...