Sdf4786k Twincharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 On 2/13/2022 at 1:16 PM, BabyBlade said: One eternity later, my life is complete! This is Sonos arc .. envy .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 On 2/13/2022 at 5:11 PM, mersaylee said: Colour is subjective but the texture of the wall is very contemporary…in the 80s 😁 but ok lah…current furniture retro design cue is 70s inspired anywhere…the 80s will be in vogue again soon 😝 Probably right…. when we are 70 year old or 80, it will be in vogue again 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 17 hours ago, Jman888 said: Sonos confirm good for both movie and music, dun believe ask @BabyBlade I went cheapo n bought creative instead at $280 . I doubt it will be earth shattering sound and since no more wfh it’s just the occasional playing of Netflix n not hardcore blue ray references movie.. else the Dolby Atmos would required a up firing speakers like the Sonos arc or the Vizio M elevate model Edited August 9, 2022 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 44 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: I went cheapo n bought creative instead at $280 . I doubt it will be earth shattering sound and since no more wfh it’s just the occasional playing of Netflix n not hardcore blue ray references movie.. else the Dolby Atmos would required a up firing speakers like the Sonos arc or the Vizio M elevate model I bought my creative cheaper one last black Friday. The 120+ dollar one. No complaints. But nothing out of this world though. I seldom switch it on with a higher volume. Edited August 9, 2022 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 5 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I bought my creative cheaper one last black Friday. The 120+ dollar one. No complaints. But nothing out of this world though. I seldom switch it on with a higher volume. I also feel 80% will be within a tad lay back volume to avoid neighbours rile up … Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 1 hour ago, Sdf4786k said: I also feel 80% will be within a tad lay back volume to avoid neighbours rile up … Yeah. My amp usually 30% my wife complain liao. 40% outside can hear already. Unless got tokong sp panels, else no point. Really want to blast 80 percent and see my speakers can take it anot. Lol. My soundbar usually 50%. Anything more will be a nuisance to others. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 2 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: Probably right…. when we are 70 year old or 80, it will be in vogue again ...in diaper again also 😂 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 45 minutes ago, Stratovarius said: Yeah. My amp usually 30% my wife complain liao. 40% outside can hear already. Unless got tokong sp panels, else no point. Really want to blast 80 percent and see my speakers can take it anot. Lol. My soundbar usually 50%. Anything more will be a nuisance to others. Oops 80% of the time… anyway, gut feel is that Dolby Atmos still have a 2 years of runway to go before it catches up with a Low price range of 400 with 9 speakers setup for sound bar Edited August 9, 2022 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic August 12, 2022 Share August 12, 2022 On 8/9/2022 at 4:35 PM, Sdf4786k said: Oops 80% of the time… anyway, gut feel is that Dolby Atmos still have a 2 years of runway to go before it catches up with a Low price range of 400 with 9 speakers setup for sound bar What’s your review of your new setup? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 13, 2022 Share August 13, 2022 On 8/12/2022 at 4:42 PM, Mason016 said: What’s your review of your new setup? Not too bad really .. not many Dolby Atmos around but the surround sound n dts SRS playing on kungfu panda cartoon n bad boys n 6 underground gives good sound effect.. definitely worth the small sums I paid.. n now for buyer remorse.. bought at 280 now at 223 at Lazada 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 13, 2022 Share August 13, 2022 $678 is good price. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 13, 2022 Share August 13, 2022 Don't buy a Sonos because of the brand, buy it because it sounds good. Also temper your expectations on what a soundbar can achieve. Unless you have a perfect room with symmetrical solid walls that are equidistant, be prepared to be disappointed. Also, not every soundbar with "Atmos" on the box actually produces the 3D sound field. Some of the basic ones only have two speakers inside. There is really no substitute for physical surround speakers and a real subwoofer if you really wish to get that kind of surround soundfield. Caveat emptor, and audition first. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged August 13, 2022 Share August 13, 2022 53 minutes ago, therock said: Don't buy a Sonos because of the brand, buy it because it sounds good. Also temper your expectations on what a soundbar can achieve. Unless you have a perfect room with symmetrical solid walls that are equidistant, be prepared to be disappointed. Also, not every soundbar with "Atmos" on the box actually produces the 3D sound field. Some of the basic ones only have two speakers inside. There is really no substitute for physical surround speakers and a real subwoofer if you really wish to get that kind of surround soundfield. Caveat emptor, and audition first. After testing and auditioning many soundbars, I gave up. Really nine can substitute for surround speakers . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 14, 2022 Share August 14, 2022 11 hours ago, Jman888 said: $678 is good price. Saw this as well .. just not sure if it’s agent warranty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 14, 2022 Share August 14, 2022 9 hours ago, therock said: Don't buy a Sonos because of the brand, buy it because it sounds good. Also temper your expectations on what a soundbar can achieve. Unless you have a perfect room with symmetrical solid walls that are equidistant, be prepared to be disappointed. Also, not every soundbar with "Atmos" on the box actually produces the 3D sound field. Some of the basic ones only have two speakers inside. There is really no substitute for physical surround speakers and a real subwoofer if you really wish to get that kind of surround soundfield. Caveat emptor, and audition first. I fully acknowledge that in terms of theatre experience, which may be lacking in a home , the nearest one that I feel can step up at a decent price point is the Samsung Q990B. but that’s just me and my Low expectations Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 14, 2022 Share August 14, 2022 16 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: I fully acknowledge that in terms of theatre experience, which may be lacking in a home , the nearest one that I feel can step up at a decent price point is the Samsung Q990B. but that’s just me and my Low expectations IMO, the idea of a soundbar is to improve dialogue, add some bass, and in an ideal setting, add surround via some reflections. If the soundbar is really good, and also wide enough, you may get a bigger soundstage too, plus better music reproduction. If you hanker after more channels / speakers for the same money, then resources are stretched thinner, and you won't get any sonic improvements and you have to try it to see if those extra channels really give you that surround soundfield you want. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 (edited) On 8/14/2022 at 9:29 AM, therock said: IMO, the idea of a soundbar is to improve dialogue, add some bass, and in an ideal setting, add surround via some reflections. If the soundbar is really good, and also wide enough, you may get a bigger soundstage too, plus better music reproduction. If you hanker after more channels / speakers for the same money, then resources are stretched thinner, and you won't get any sonic improvements and you have to try it to see if those extra channels really give you that surround soundfield you want. Is there like a rule of thumb? Currently looking at Q930B with is 9.2.1 while the Q990B is 11.2.1. malaysia Samsung portal is selling at 3299 ringette for Q930B so thinking if there will be a better deal during 11.11 Edited August 17, 2022 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 On 8/14/2022 at 12:43 AM, Davidklt said: After testing and auditioning many soundbars, I gave up. Really nine can substitute for surround speakers . wear headphones ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...