COVID-19: Living with COVID (Endemic & Opening Up)

Carbon82

7 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Problem is in the article by CNA (https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/hospitals-beds-waiting-time-50-hours-admission-ng-teng-fong-sengkang-3014596), it seems that our healthcare folks are taking a beating again.

Yes we are. 

But the onslaught on our emergency services is not directly linked to COVID-19. At present, most cases come in with other issues. At the senior level, we keep careful tabs on these things. 

There are indirect links, as mentioned in the article. And healthcare manpower is being compromised again by the new wave of COVID-19 affecting staff.

It is likely the situation will get worse in the near future, as the COVID-19 wave also adds a further patient load to the already untenable situation in our emergency departments and wards. 

I am saying that the gahmen was taken the stance that we are resolutely not going back to where we were in the days of the CB. And mandated WFH is not going to come back. Unless something drastic changes (and it will take a lot more than we're facing now), no policy U-turns are in the offing. 

16 minutes ago, 1fast1 said:

Yes we are. 

But the onslaught on our emergency services is not directly linked to COVID-19. At present, most cases come in with other issues. At the senior level, we keep careful tabs on these things. 

There are indirect links, as mentioned in the article. And healthcare manpower is being compromised again by the new wave of COVID-19 affecting staff.

It is likely the situation will get worse in the near future, as the COVID-19 wave also adds a further patient load to the already untenable situation in our emergency departments and wards. 

I am saying that the gahmen was taken the stance that we are resolutely not going back to where we were in the days of the CB. And mandated WFH is not going to come back. Unless something drastic changes (and it will take a lot more than we're facing now), no policy U-turns are in the offing. 

The crunch on hospitals started before COVID but all we did was to make it worse? I really hope the manpower situation gets better before more healthcare workers leave.

49 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Maybe thats why need to tighten some of the measures again soon?

Weekly average case is moving downwards lah. 

This week day to day compared to last week also getting lower.

Edited by Tohto

32 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

The crunch on hospitals started before COVID but all we did was to make it worse? I really hope the manpower situation gets better before more healthcare workers leave.

Our numbet of hospital just cannot coup the number increase in population.

1 hour ago, Windwaver said:

Yes to both parts. 

13 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Just let u know that theres china style covid management company in singapore lol

i know someone work in ICBC. till date:
Regular security check
during work no mask off

no lunch outside had to dabao to office

weekly ART test

even on leave also must take ART

Cannot go overseas

Power lah. The full Xinnie the Pooh protocol.

Only one part missing. When you get older, the security guards will escort you out during big meeting. 😁

9 hours ago, Windwaver said:

Want to live with covid just means that hospital beds and staff need to be scaled up.

But management probably won't do such thing as covid is a seasonal thingy. The demand for beds and staff will spike whenever there is wave but otherwise rest of the time it will be over-staff situation.

9 hours ago, 1fast1 said:

Power lah. The full Xinnie the Pooh protocol.

Only one part missing. When you get older, the security guards will escort you out during big meeting. 😁

Somemore still use punch card machine so better don’t be late or go home early😅

11 hours ago, Tohto said:

Our numbet of hospital just cannot coup the number increase in population.

Still cannot cope? Already open quite a few new hospitals over the years liao? 😅

45 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Still cannot cope? Already open quite a few new hospitals over the years liao? 😅

Hardware is there.. Heartware is missing..

• Sad 2

10 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

In sg? Seems they follow china govt rule than sg rule haha

Yes, in SG. It's funny how Singapore went backwards instead of China :XD:

18 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Coming week peak number expect to be on Wed since Monday is holiday.  Will be accumulated of 3 days long weekend. 

Just now saw news and heard OYK mentioned something like XBB already reached peak and cases seems to stabilize and coming down?

33 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Just now saw news and heard OYK mentioned something like XBB already reached peak and cases seems to stabilize and coming down?

If you check in MOH chart for the past 3 weeks, it can be seen already.  The week that just end the number is much lower than previous week. 

11 hours ago, 13177 said:

Any amateur can see that, no need for million dollar calibre to tell us. Problem is, really peak? Or counting/reporting system simply saturated and unknown thousands are recovering by themselves at home, unreported? Or still going around unknowingly infecting others? 

On 10/23/2022 at 10:20 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Somemore still use punch card machine so better don’t be late or go home early😅

Many companies still use electronic punch card, like staff card scan system. Cannot escape