Is country club membership worth it?

Philipkee

52 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

some shower downstairs to save on water..... 🤣

No more free coffee and biscuits, it is maybe worth considering for Philip..... 

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

I used to shower in office after evening run

😂

Your colleagues didn't mind their workstations getting wet?.....

Condo is a very good idea for TS.

Firstly TS has a car and condo he no need pay HDB parking which is not cheap these days.

Second TS likes to swim. I assume he means in the swimming pool and not land swimming so condo he can swim any time.

If TS likes to go gym its also free.

Then when TS has kids first month can have at function room and no need spend money at expensive restaurants.

TS can save a lot!

3 hours ago, serenade said:

If a pool is important to you, then a condo is worth buying. Shop carefully, there are condos with very good pools 30m-40m long suitable for serious swimming. There are also boutique condos with nothing but a 2-lane pool for doing laps that are cheap to buy and maintain.

The biggest advantage of a condo with pool is the easy access. Can swim everyday after or before work. Then just go upstairs with robe to shower and have dinner or dress for work. You really save time to commute to the swimming complex, check -in, bathe, change out, commute back. Not to mention being fitter due to the convenient daily swims.

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Location location location.

If the club is at a prime location in town next to nice shopping centre like Raffles City or Marina Sq then free parking very worth it.

Maybe just need to drive out and come in again after 3 hours and get 6 hours free.

Some got nice indoor pool. Also can go after work just to have a shower before going for dinner no need to drive home and then drive to town again.

Some clubs food good and prices is same ad shopping centre food court or even cheaper.

If all these are important to you can you will use a lot then it's worth it.

If never use then not worth it at all.

Why don't you just say it SRC? 😁

Can also add during F1 can watch the race?

3 minutes ago, Old-driver said:

Why don't you just say it SRC? 😁

Can also add during F1 can watch the race?

I cannot advocate one is better than other.

Must give TS free choice without any biasness.

2 hours ago, serenade said:

I shower at clubs after sports. Cannot stand going home sweaty even after change shirt. And add "aroma" to my car leather seats. I also don't give lift to friends who refuse to bathe or change after the game.😒

I use a car seat cover.

9 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Firstly TS has a car and condo he no need pay HDB parking which is not cheap these days.

Second TS likes to swim. I assume he means in the swimming pool and not land swimming so condo he can swim any time.

Then when TS has kids first month can have at function room and no need spend money at expensive restaurants.

TS can save a lot!

The cost of the condo vs a country club membership is not the same leh. TS will be visiting the showroom everyday to think it over millions and millions of times.

I also believe women are superior to men

so I cannot advocate anywhere

where women cannot vote!

That's just sex discrimination to me. 

1 minute ago, Adrianli said:

The cost of the condo vs a country club membership is not the same leh. TS will be visiting the showroom everyday to think it over millions and millions of times.

TS has saved so much from parking and biscuits

TS cannot afford both!

Some people don't know this but many customer with the long sleeve shirt and tie come my shop to buy the car but bank reject their loan.

TS come my shop in his shorts and slippers and say where do I sign.

Just like that he bought a new Honda City!

I always see TS as very up one  

Some people don't know but one day TS had enough of his boss

and told him to stick his job

and TS went around the world for a year holiday!

This type you say lah a sai or not?

3 hours ago, serenade said:

Good for you. One of the few with positive experience in Singapore. Most tell me after buy boat, they had 2 happy days. Day bought and day sold. Most of the other days, boat was underused and chalking up bills just sitting there.

My Aussie friend different story. He stores fishing boat on a trailer which he parks in his garden. DIY tow to river nearby, DIY launch, DIY retrieve, DIY wash. All one man show. His most amusing story was took boat out to go fishing near shore. Then spotted a shark bigger than his boat while fishing. He called it a day immediately saying "when the fish is bigger than your boat, it is time to get out of the water." 

This is indeed true for those people who just want to own it and buy it. Then let the boat sit there. 

When we owned the boat, the love for going fishing and the group together was so happy. And we are engineering base who can do basics maintenance the bills are very low. If you use it often and clean it after use, it is clean all the time. Many of them let it sit there and collect dust. But not us

4 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Where in Oz?

I want to bring my MIL to see the big shark and feed it.

Now got VTL.

You ah...  anytime 无时无刻 everything also think of your MIL... 🤭  such a Good SIL..

Your MIL really 三生有幸。

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

TS can save a lot!

Very good.  Now all I need is for condo price to crash...

25 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

No worries.

It will not crash 

Then I can save money 💰

Or one day start a thread "buying a condo"   :D

4 hours ago, Jamesc said:

TS has saved so much from parking and biscuits

TS cannot afford both!

To be extremely honest, pre covid, I would go to condo showflats cos they have free parking there.

But it wasn't full la and there were no biscuits.  But think got coffee.  Just need to listen to some salesman pitch...

10 hours ago, serenade said:

If a pool is important to you, then a condo is worth buying. Shop carefully, there are condos with very good pools 30m-40m long suitable for serious swimming. There are also boutique condos with nothing but a 2-lane pool for doing laps that are cheap to buy and maintain.

The biggest advantage of a condo with pool is the easy access. Can swim everyday after or before work. Then just go upstairs with robe to shower and have dinner or dress for work. You really save time to commute to the swimming complex, check -in, bathe, change out, commute back. Not to mention being fitter due to the convenient daily swims.

i think for most people, they will go to their condo's gym and pool religiously for the first one, two years...

after that sianz already

it's kind of like "grass is greener on the other side" mindset