Is country club membership worth it?

Philipkee

27 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

many clubs also have office bearers who like to advance their own agenda . a typical old man's club where i scratch your back and you mine. need to have exclusive parking, lord it over the rest... etc.  i see it as a private version of the SAF.

That's me lah.

I am a VIP member of my health club.

MIL say people talk about country clubs and I talk about health club.

I only like to go health clubs in other countries.

Edited by Jamesc

Talking about country clubs.

Wifey went shopping with MIL in Japan and I was just walking on the street and wondered into an image club as I am a keen photographer.

I had a culture shock.

The shooting there wasn't what I was expecting. 

Google image club if you not familiar.

Its an eye opening experience.

8 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

not sure of the exact current status of SRC but all clubs function pretty much the same and at the mercy of the govt. but of course if you join those which have many cabinet ministers and senior govt officials or prominent members of society then quite safe.the likes of SICC, TMCC should be rather safe as i'm sure they will not have policies to shoot themselves.

look what happened to the likes of Raffles, Keppel, Jurong, Warren (still around but kenna chased off)

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/community/singapore-recreation-club-members-vote-against-lease-renewal-for-padang-site-and

Oh...i wasn't aware that women have no voting rights...are the awareness made known to the aware zarbo? 😁

@Ingenius You are absolutely right, no resale value, also must check what is the asking price if membership actually transacted in real time. less admin fees etc. I would rather suggest you go buy GOLD to invest, safer and one get the feel the Gold bar feeling . .

10 hours ago, Meanmachine said:

@Ingenius You are absolutely right, no resale value, also must check what is the asking price if membership actually transacted in real time. less admin fees etc. I would rather suggest you go buy GOLD to invest, safer and one get the feel the Gold bar feeling . .

Gold bar, must buy enough for training as dumbbell...... Then equivalent to the gym.😁

Think your suggestion of more tilted towards investment and in contrast, membership is more of a lifestyle want.... Even though might make money, will be consider Pretty different category. TS, when buying club membership, the investment part should be the lowest in the consideration.

Edited by Hosaybo

22 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

Radx is Hokkien version of tennis is it? 

Well not quite lah

let me explain

Radx is for example when you hit the simplest volley into the net when you could have hit it anywhere in your opponent’s court. 

or like when you blast a beautiful forehand DTL ending with the umpire calling it out

then you scream Drats!!! (Or Radx!!!!)

5 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Well not quite lah

let me explain

Radx is for example when you hit the simplest volley into the net when you could have hit it anywhere in your opponent’s court. 

or like when you blast a beautiful forehand DTL ending with the umpire calling it out

then you scream Drats!!! (Or Radx!!!!)

Probably that’s how Datsun was born

just like Wah Lau .. your ass stink lah

and someone thot it was cool to name it astina

Edited by Sdf4786k

22 hours ago, serenade said:

SRC is a great club for live music and dance lovers. Bar is well stocked. Also good for the sporty types with an active hockey, cricket, soccer and tennis fraternity. From my interaction with members, not that I myself am a member.

Go CBD can park there free as a member. And avoid the hefty parking charges of commercial buildings

But SRC now have lease renewal issue right? 

Majority voted not to renew lease with SLA.

14 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

But SRC now have lease renewal issue right? 

Majority voted not to renew lease with SLA.

1st time,ask for $6,700...very little Members want,2nd time asking just $2,500...alot paid & support it.

On 11/12/2021 at 10:34 AM, Ingenius said:

Social country club membership difficult to make money or recoup back.  First there's the monthly fee, then when sell there is a hefty admin fee, which eats into the selling price.  In the end from a monetary perspective, it is not worth it.  

That's true of most clubs now. The monthly subs and transfer fees upon selling the m'ship and even taking back your deposit vs the joining fee is still negative equity. Many like me that bought Raffles Town Club m'ship in the early days just keep it to enjoy the facilities and above average F&B in a central location. 

On 11/12/2021 at 9:44 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Cycling club do what one? 🤣

Aiyoh! So silly to ask …… they ride on each other’s 😂😂

24 minutes ago, Locknload said:

That's true of most clubs now. The monthly subs and transfer fees upon selling the m'ship and even taking back your deposit vs the joining fee is still negative equity. Many like me that bought Raffles Town Club m'ship in the early days just keep it to enjoy the facilities and above average F&B in a central location. 

That one they floated like 20 years ago was supposed to be exclusive to only certain number of members but they opened the floodgate to more and sort of adulterated ….. I too nearly fell for it …. They even touted  Banks to sell the memberships 

• Sad 1

Is buying a new car worth it?

No buy a used car better value.

Is buying a condo worth it?

No buy HDB better value.

Is going on holiday worth it?

No stay at home is better value.

Is a carbon bicycle worth it?

No normal bike better value.

Is 5 star hotel wedding worth it?

No HDB wedding with satay more worth it.

Nothing is worth it

but we all do things that we like

that is not worth it.

Edited by Jamesc

12 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Is buying a new car worth it?

No buy a used car better value.

Is buying a condo worth it?

No buy HDB better value.

Is going on holiday worth it?

No stay at home is better value.

Is a carbon bicycle worth it?

No normal bike better value.

Is 5 star hotel wedding worth it?

No HDB wedding with satay more worth it.

Nothing is worth it

but we all do things that we like

that is not worth it.

Aiyah, why so long story like your MIL. As they say, choice is up to you....and live with it:)

On 11/12/2021 at 10:38 AM, Soya said:

Sentosa join Islander membership $20/yr can drive in free unlimited. Use high SES Sentosa Cove right entry lane somemore

1deg15 nothing much there unless wanna raba raba w yacht owners to compare the size of their.........ahem, yacht.

Now got Sentosa Covid Club membership for the last 18 months and free extension. got mine recently renew from 30 Sept 2021 to 31 March 2022. Been driving in unlimited for free and chill out by the Restaurant at Quayside Isle 👍🏻😁also enjoy the chill out of Sentosa Cove. but 😩of course by 31 March 2022 I might not be able to renew! renewal subject to Covid 19 Task Force

Edited by D3badge