Is country club membership worth it?

Philipkee

1 minute ago, Tkseah said:

I only have safra club membership.. even that thinking to stop liao.. 😞

Safra membership is very cheap la, i also have but i did not use at all. Last last time still got sign up their gym using the safra card. Now long long long time no step into any safra liao. Dont know when my safra card expire? Lol.

The intrinsic value is in the widely perceived prestige lah 😁

The real benefit is in the use of golfing facility as a platform for networking...dont forget the shade 😎

2 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

One reason people join country clubs is to make friends.

That's one benefit that I can see.

Friends with benefits... hmm..

Men that have super yachts only seem to invite good looking young ladies to those bikini yachts parties.

Maybe it's to balance the yacht lah that they don't invite the beefier looking ones.

From what I have seen.

Assuming the $11k membership fee can recover back later when sell membership.. can consider if the $124 monthly fee is worth based on your usage.  Some pple buy membership but only visit few times a year. If u visit few times a month maybe worth it lor.

6 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

One reason people join country clubs is to make friends.

That's one benefit that I can see.

Good quality food and service at usual restaurant prices too. 

7 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Safra membership is very cheap la, i also have but i did not use at all. Last last time still got sign up their gym using the safra card. Now long long long time no step into any safra liao. Dont know when my safra card expire? Lol.

Precisely I dun even go safra clubs at all.. think use the money for other stuff better

1 minute ago, Tkseah said:

Assuming the $11k membership fee can recover back later when sell membership.. can consider if the $124 monthly fee is worth based on your usage.  Some pple buy membership but only visit few times a year. If u visit few times a month maybe worth it lor.

I still have little regret in not getting one back in 2008 when one fell below 5 digits...i neow that another 800 dollah a broker tried to secure for me...thus, missed the boat...nope not the 1 15...

about a year later it's back to the usual 5 digits...🥴

10 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Good quality food and service at usual restaurant prices too. 

Some clubs the food price is very reasonable like coffee shop price.

Members have to pay $500 every month but they can use the $500 to offset food they eat.

Their kids are so fed up of eating club food they took me to help use up their balance for the month.

This is the kind of nice friends I have.

Edited by Jamesc

TS buys at 11k today in a few years maybe he sells at 15 or 20k.

All these billionaire after they buy a supercar they all buy a super yacht.

Before Covid my fren invited me to a party on a super yacht.

I don't want to say who is my good fren from up north but he has a fat wife.

38 minutes ago, 13177 said:

If use the sign up fee of $11k, can buy how many anytime fitness and virtual golf sia? Lol.

I am sure can last you more than a year. After that you will be a as buff as arnold or as pro as tiger (woods). hahaha.

Hmmm. don't be like a tiger. Tiger got covid now. 😂

I have a country club membership. I find it is mostly good for retirees to go there to meet friends and pass time. 

Edited by Ingenius

3 minutes ago, Ingenius said:

I have a country club membership. I find it is mostly good for retirees to go there to meet friends and pass time. 

I think think same way too. But 11000 is a lot of money.  If its 1000 I confirm chop buy liao 

1 minute ago, Philipkee said:

I think think same way too. But 11000 is a lot of money.  If its 1000 I confirm chop buy liao 

And when you sell the admin fee is hefty, so you actually get back lesser than the buy price. 

If it is not convenient to get to, over time you will end up going less and less often.  Then it will not be worth it