Extend retirement age? Maybe it's time to think about that from another perspective

Windwaver

51 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Article mentioned ''Workers in their prime (early to late 30s) might not be able to advance in the company's hierarchy if the seniors above them won't retire.'' This is quite true, esp those seniors who are working in senior management or high position in the company, many of them work even until past re-employment age and still working. So staff below wait until neck long long also cannot get promote up. Lol. Many times these seniors in the high position would always say they cannot retire and have to continue to work, cause they cannot find anyone who can be their successor?! 

Actually problem not difficult to solve. The young one can  go into new sectors like data science, UX/UI, software development, AI and machine learning,  digital marketing, cybersecurity, video/motion design, etc where there are much fewer older people.  Then move up from there.

If the young one is not smart enough to find his path, then he doesn't deserve to be promoted.

Edited by Starry

4 hours ago, Victor68 said:

First, what does it mean by retiring in Singapore context? Are we saying stop working instead? 

Then the reasons for one to decide to stop working can be many reasons. If you need that money to survive, then retirement is out of the question because there is no pension scheme here. 

The pension scheme in SGP is CPF. and government has device another longer lasting retirement provision called CPFLife.  In these two aspect I have to say the SGP government has taken a firm stand in making this happen and this is good for the people and the society. Of course the problem is we are facing a high cost of living, car, housing etc are very expensive that many of the older generation(like me )  are simply unable to retire early.  

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

It started with our NS, you kick the old bird out of the army, then re-hire them from ST engineering, do the same thing and can move the younger one up. win-win.
😁

The old one can take pink IC somemore. hahaha.

If like that the company will be very top heavy. It's a double edge sword really. I've seen this in my past companies. We hire back those old soldiers. They just pass time everyday, play politics knowing their career already stagnant and make other people's lives difficult. Always do things based on what they did 30 years ago which alot of times don't make sense now.

41 minutes ago, Starry said:

Actually problem not difficult to solve. The young one can  go into new sectors like data science, UX/UI, software development, AI and machine learning,  digital marketing, cybersecurity, video/motion design, etc where there are much fewer older people.  Then move up from there.

If the young one is not smart enough to find his path, then he doesn't deserve to be promoted.

No wonder young one cannot stay in one company for long and need to keep jump ship? So called to get promoted every company they jump ship?! Lol.

I don't mind move aside to a simpler lower level job if younger staff want and able to handle the greater responsibility.

Simple lower level job I can just do 9-to-5 or whatever fixed hours, no need to bring work home, next day continue .....that kind of job.

1 hour ago, RadX said:

Go see civil service la

those dinosaurs still der liao even fossilized still remain der

If good money, office job, just need to make motherhood statements, high-level strategic talk, give some speech occasionally.... why cannot do till become immortal.

Create more posts lor... like Senior Director, Emeritus Director, Senior Emeritus Director etc... etc... Sure can fit everybody.

38 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

I don't mind move aside to a simpler lower level job if younger staff want and able to handle the greater responsibility.

Simple lower level job I can just do 9-to-5 or whatever fixed hours, no need to bring work home, next day continue .....that kind of job.

Move to a simpler lower level job means might get a lower salary and no more power in the company liao? You can accept that? 😂 Imagine if you are a GM with salary of $20k with high power, and now move to become an executive with salary of $5k and need to listen to a manager?!

40 minutes ago, Vid said:

Create more posts lor... like Senior Director, Emeritus Director, Senior Emeritus Director etc... etc... Sure can fit everybody.

Sounds like in gahment le? Lol.

7 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Izzit? Then they very advance thinking... rest of civil service and private sector should follow. Singapore will be a better place from now thereafter. No more jobless people liao

7 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Sack the old staff and source them as private consultants. The ex older staff do less work but get well paid. The younger staff can move up. Win-win.

yah, when this francis get older, he will write to forum: older consultants are blocking him from becoming one...

what sense of entitlement does he think he has? 

11 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

The pension scheme in SGP is CPF. and government has device another longer lasting retirement provision called CPFLife.  In these two aspect I have to say the SGP government has taken a firm stand in making this happen and this is good for the people and the society. Of course the problem is we are facing a high cost of living, car, housing etc are very expensive that many of the older generation(like me )  are simply unable to retire early.  

The CPF scheme is great but the HDB scheme drains off your retirement. If one wants to throw your retirement money into cars and other non essentials, there is NO scheme to help them. 

Unfortunately, a roof over your head is equally important in Singapore because squatters are not permitted. So, they have to go baxk to basic why we have HDB and CPF. 

8 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

The CPF scheme is great but the HDB scheme drains off your retirement. If one wants to throw your retirement money into cars and other non essentials, there is NO scheme to help them. 

Unfortunately, a roof over your head is equally important in Singapore because squatters are not permitted. So, they have to go baxk to basic why we have HDB and CPF. 

Agree. It is why I said high cost of living due to housing and cars. And agree that One can live without a car in sgp, but house is necessary. One way is to buy a hdb with minimum cpf. Unfortunately, this is a vicious cycle, if one could not make enough money, where to have spare cash to pay for housing installment

I alone can handle 3 junior staffs job spec concurrently. 🤣 I still can squeeze in time slot for mcf. 

They always claimed outside their job scope, not their skill sets....etc etc. 

11 hours ago, 13177 said:

Move to a simpler lower level job means might get a lower salary and no more power in the company liao? You can accept that? 😂 Imagine if you are a GM with salary of $20k with high power, and now move to become an executive with salary of $5k and need to listen to a manager?!

I'm not top management, so at this point in time, still can feel happier being just one of the footsoldier taking instructions, and leave the work at the office every day. No need to think about work or bring work home. 

11 hours ago, 13177 said:

My thot as well.....also, the whole tread like referring to some pple in gahment ahhh....pls retire and give to young blood...🤣

i actually dun agree with the proposal....actually who dun wan to retire early and enjoy life? the thing is, are we able to or not?