Inflation caused ALL prices to rise again, including Food

Wt_know

ok ... going to order chai peng ... peng only ... no vege no egg .... 

is $5K still the new poor ... should be $6K liao now ... 

File_000.png

  On 11/7/2021 at 6:36 AM, Playtime said:

Got 6% raise meh

Expand  

that's 2012 article ... now imagine 2021 ... like you said .... still no have 6% ... scary bo? [sly] 

On 11/7/2021 at 8:30 AM, 13177 said:

6% pay raise? If got 1-2% already miracle liao lo. 😅

Expand  

Thing is a 1 or 2% is actually unable to catch up to inflation. 

But staying at a job may only get you that kinda yearly increase,  ending up some advocate job hoping instead... the very thing employers complain about. Chicken and egg. 

On 11/7/2021 at 6:33 AM, Wt_know said:

ok ... going to order chai peng ... peng only ... no vege no egg .... 

is $5K still the new poor ... should be $6K liao now ... 

File_000.png

Expand  

Actually a good opportunity to lose some weight. 😏

On 11/7/2021 at 11:30 AM, Evo5sg said:

I hit pay ceiling more than 10 years ago, just before 40 years old.

Expand  

It means if you didnt get promotion, your salary would get stuck and same for 10 years?

One of my favourite WFH lunchtime dish..chicken chop with pasta prepared by fast food stalls in kopitiams.. has steadily risen from $5.80 to $7.80 to yesterday i discovered new price $9.90..over the last few years..

Im giving up the dish liao although i like it very much..for $9.90 i can go to a heartland mall mid tier restaurant for a nice aircon meal..knn

Edited by Kyrios

On 11/7/2021 at 2:10 PM, Kyrios said:

One of my favourite WFH lunchtime dish..chicken chop with pasta prepared by fast food stalls in kopitiams.. has steadily risen from $5.80 to $7.80 to yesterday i discovered new price $9.90..over the last few years..

Im giving up the dish liao although i like it very much..for $9.90 i can go to a heartland mall mid tier restaurant for a nice aircon meal..knn

Expand  

Same, my regular fish soup stall i buy also increased price from $4 until $5 over a period of 2 years. And my favourite herbal soup stall also increased $0.50 recently. Nowadays when food stall increased price, usually is $0.50 one jump.

Edited by 13177

On 11/7/2021 at 3:22 PM, 13177 said:

Same, my regular fish soup stall i buy also increased price from $4 until $5 over a period of 2 years. And my favourite herbal soup stall also increased $0.50 recently. Nowadays when food stall increased price, usually is $0.50 one jump.

Expand  

from memory. im sure those older remember lower prices but can only rem from 70s

prata kosong my time.

10c, 20c, 30c, 50c, 80c, $1, $1.5 (this the most outrageous)

wanton mee basic:

50c, 70c, $1, $1.5, $2, $2.5, $3 (6 times still)

teh o mkt stall small:

10c, 20c, 30c, 50c, 70c, $1 (10 times)

rough prices. 😭

LoL....why cant they remove the fuel tax? Instead they tell us to brace for impact. Kinda lame.

I think we will see our food portion shrink plus price hike.

On 11/8/2021 at 12:24 AM, Watwheels said:

LoL....why cant they remove the fuel tax? Instead they tell us to brace for impact. Kinda lame.

I think we will see our food portion shrink plus price hike.

Expand  

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/budget-2021-petrol-duties-raised-with-immediate-effect-road-tax-rebates-to-help-offset

A long long times ago .....February 2021 article.