13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 3 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Yes I saw a food delivery guy carrying 1 cup of bubble tea. Really so desperate for bubble tea huh… That person is just too lazy to go out and buy the bubble tea and order delivery. But the price of that bubble tea would be quite ex just to order 1 cup. People really rich nowadays. Lol. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 2 hours ago, Scion said: wonder how much allowances do these undergrads getting from their parents nowadays? need to spend on Starbucks, food deliveries, movies in sofa seats, fine dining, etc or they influencers doing silly Tik Tok and Youtube videos and earning big bucks? 😁 Must be quite a lot since nowadays most parents earning power very high, they can afford to spend money on their kids. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 1 hour ago, zipping said: Nvr used food delivery platform (grabfood etc) b4, b4 covid e oni food delivery i use iirc was either Canadan or Domino's pizza, free delivery. But tat was b4 covid, during covid n nowadays, i generally cycle out to tabao if nearby (need to get my fat ass moving), if not really become potato couch alr.... Those people who love to order food delivery would tell you better to cut down going out to buy, esp now covid cases so high. Better stay at home and order delivery. Wait you go out to dabao and got infected. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 Heartland cat vs rich cat https://www.facebook.com/groups/307256848006604/permalink/326683279397294/ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 (edited) Hawkers are ahead of the government liao. Yesterday I was at Alexandra Village hawker center. The famous Chendol was $2 and she stick a 50 cents on the 00. It was $2.50 now, a 25% increase before the government 9%. Edited February 22, 2022 by Victor68 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 18 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Hawkers are ahead of the government liao. Yesterday I was at Alexandra Village hawker center. The famous Chendol was $2 and she stick a 50 cents on the 00. It was $2.50 now, a 25% increase before the government 9%. Almost all hawkers/coffeeshops, no matter famous or not famous all increased their price $0.50 since before CNY liao. Hardly can find food stalls do not increase price at all. Those who have not increase price means not yet but will increase price soon also. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 59 minutes ago, 13177 said: That person is just too lazy to go out and buy the bubble tea and order delivery. But the price of that bubble tea would be quite ex just to order 1 cup. People really rich nowadays. Lol. on the other hand, this supports the gig economy so not really a bad thing 😁 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 1 hour ago, 13177 said: That person is just too lazy to go out and buy the bubble tea and order delivery. But the price of that bubble tea would be quite ex just to order 1 cup. People really rich nowadays. Lol. Not rich, but rather young ppl 很sir de 花。 I see extra money, i save, they see extra money must spend😅 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 12 minutes ago, 13177 said: Almost all hawkers/coffeeshops, no matter famous or not famous all increased their price $0.50 since before CNY liao. Hardly can find food stalls do not increase price at all. Those who have not increase price means not yet but will increase price soon also. Still have la. Mei Xiang prawn mee at Bedok Central HC. Still damn nice and still $3. Very hard to find. That’s why always long queue even during off peak. 🥴 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 Just now, Beregond said: Not rich, but rather young ppl 很sir de 花。 I see extra money, i save, they see extra money must spend😅 很sir de 花 is one thing, but also they must have given very high allowance from their parents then can 很sir de 花 lo. Also parents for this era not only earning power is very high and also 很sir de 花 for themselves and for their kids. They earn more and also willing to spend more on lifestyle etc. 😁 Last era parents where got so 很sir de 花 de?! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 5 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Still have la. Mei Xiang prawn mee at Bedok Central HC. Still damn nice and still $3. Very hard to find. That’s why always long queue even during off peak. 🥴 They have no intention to up price? Or havent up yet? Lol. Nowadays if you can find food stalls still selling $2 to $3 cai png and noodles, confirmed very long queue. Cause the rest all sell at least $3.50 and more. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 Ah sir, 我没花很久了 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 (edited) I saw some menu item on Grab can be marked up as much as 30%. Eg: Tze char fried rice cost $5 at store. Order from Grab it'll cost $6.50 excluding delivery. Add $2 delivery become $8.50. But I'm not familiar with how much % of these mark up go to the hawker vs delivery guy vs Grab. Grab pricing was still reasonable initially when they were desperate for biz but now is horrendous so I stopped ordering unless no choice. And considering its still a loss-making company while the CEO is laughing to the bank makes it even more ridiculous. Note: I noticed newer HDB estates are designed with "centralized F&B" outlets at one location, whereas older estates still got "decentralized F&B" ie: kopi tiam below various blocks within walking distance. So perhaps this estate design change contributed to food deliveries too. Edited February 22, 2022 by Jellandross 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 10 minutes ago, Jellandross said: I saw some menu item on Grab can be marked up as much as 30%. Eg: Tze char fried rice cost $5 at store. Order from Grab it'll cost $6.50 excluding delivery. Add $2 delivery become $8.50. But I'm not familiar with how much % of these mark up go to the hawker vs delivery guy vs Grab. nowadays it seems like $10 per meal is considered normal budget for many people liao 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 10 minutes ago, Jellandross said: I saw some menu item on Grab can be marked up as much as 30%. Eg: Tze char fried rice cost $5 at store. Order from Grab it'll cost $6.50 excluding delivery. Add $2 delivery become $8.50. But I'm not familiar with how much % of these mark up go to the hawker vs delivery guy vs Grab. Grab pricing was still reasonable initially when they were desperate for biz but now is horrendous so I stopped ordering unless no choice. And considering its still a loss-making company while the CEO is laughing to the bank makes it even more ridiculous. Dont know if only Grab food delivery is ex or the others food delivery also same? That time when i saw the final price needs to pay on the menu item on Grab, really scare die me. Like normal fishball noodles from stall is $3.50, but thru Grab ended up paying at least x2 the stall price! I rather walk out to buy. Lol. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 3 minutes ago, Scion said: nowadays it seems like $10 per meal is considered normal budget for many people liao So if eat 3 meals, $30 everyday? Omg, salary must be high to maintain such lifestyle sia. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 6 minutes ago, yishunite said: Imagine you can go up to your boss and just like that tell them .... eh my pay must increase by $2/hour Huat ah! Business basically all can do this when gahmen throw out long "gst hike" announcement but worker cannot Don’t buy lor once I get my kopi making equipment, I am not buying kopi from kopitiam Liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 22, 2022 Share February 22, 2022 40 minutes ago, 13177 said: So if eat 3 meals, $30 everyday? Omg, salary must be high to maintain such lifestyle sia. 😅 well, some friends already like that ok breakfast eat at home typical $5 lunch.. followed by a Starbucks coffee or BBT dinner, can be ramen, western food, korean... will be $10-20 liao probably spending 1k+ on food every month ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...