Inflation caused ALL prices to rise again, including Food

Wt_know

ok ... going to order chai peng ... peng only ... no vege no egg .... 

is $5K still the new poor ... should be $6K liao now ... 

File_000.png

On 6/30/2012 at 11:06 AM, Wt_know said:

So while a tight labour market helped to raise salaries by 6.1 per cent in terms of dollars and cents, real wage growth last year was just 0.9 per cent.

Got 6% raise meh

21 minutes ago, Playtime said:

Got 6% raise meh

that's 2012 article ... now imagine 2021 ... like you said .... still no have 6% ... scary bo? [sly] 

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

that's 2012 article ... now imagine 2021 ... like you said .... still no have 6% ... scary bo? [sly] 

6% pay raise? If got 1-2% already miracle liao lo. 😅

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

6% pay raise? If got 1-2% already miracle liao lo. 😅

Thing is a 1 or 2% is actually unable to catch up to inflation. 

But staying at a job may only get you that kinda yearly increase,  ending up some advocate job hoping instead... the very thing employers complain about. Chicken and egg. 

6 hours ago, Wt_know said:

ok ... going to order chai peng ... peng only ... no vege no egg .... 

is $5K still the new poor ... should be $6K liao now ... 

File_000.png

Actually a good opportunity to lose some weight. 😏

2 hours ago, Evo5sg said:

I hit pay ceiling more than 10 years ago, just before 40 years old.

It means if you didnt get promotion, your salary would get stuck and same for 10 years?

2 hours ago, Evo5sg said:

I hit pay ceiling more than 10 years ago, just before 40 years old.

So 10 years of inflation ... you're effectively about 30% down?

One of my favourite WFH lunchtime dish..chicken chop with pasta prepared by fast food stalls in kopitiams.. has steadily risen from $5.80 to $7.80 to yesterday i discovered new price $9.90..over the last few years..

Im giving up the dish liao although i like it very much..for $9.90 i can go to a heartland mall mid tier restaurant for a nice aircon meal..knn

Edited by Kyrios

1 hour ago, Kyrios said:

One of my favourite WFH lunchtime dish..chicken chop with pasta prepared by fast food stalls in kopitiams.. has steadily risen from $5.80 to $7.80 to yesterday i discovered new price $9.90..over the last few years..

Im giving up the dish liao although i like it very much..for $9.90 i can go to a heartland mall mid tier restaurant for a nice aircon meal..knn

Same, my regular fish soup stall i buy also increased price from $4 until $5 over a period of 2 years. And my favourite herbal soup stall also increased $0.50 recently. Nowadays when food stall increased price, usually is $0.50 one jump.

Edited by 13177

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Same, my regular fish soup stall i buy also increased price from $4 until $5 over a period of 2 years. And my favourite herbal soup stall also increased $0.50 recently. Nowadays when food stall increased price, usually is $0.50 one jump.

from memory. im sure those older remember lower prices but can only rem from 70s

prata kosong my time.

10c, 20c, 30c, 50c, 80c, $1, $1.5 (this the most outrageous)

wanton mee basic:

50c, 70c, $1, $1.5, $2, $2.5, $3 (6 times still)

teh o mkt stall small:

10c, 20c, 30c, 50c, 70c, $1 (10 times)

rough prices. 😭

LoL....why cant they remove the fuel tax? Instead they tell us to brace for impact. Kinda lame.

I think we will see our food portion shrink plus price hike.

46 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

LoL....why cant they remove the fuel tax? Instead they tell us to brace for impact. Kinda lame.

I think we will see our food portion shrink plus price hike.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/budget-2021-petrol-duties-raised-with-immediate-effect-road-tax-rebates-to-help-offset

A long long times ago .....February 2021 article.