Merc E260 import vs local (China)

Playtime

5 hours ago, Estrangable said:

even nissan also have a luxury arm .... infinti. 

Seen before... very rare here... don't mean to offend anyone but feel like. 

If merc is first class..

Lexus is business class.

Infiniti... like not there

48 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Surprisingly in japan also hardly see those cars

unlike hyundai genesis which is quite popular in korea

In Fact,when starting,these ''Premium'' Brands Lexus,Acura & Infiniti are for America & Europe Markets only,not intent to sell in Japan...

21 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

In Fact,when starting,these ''Premium'' Brands Lexus,Acura & Infiniti are for America & Europe Markets only,not intent to sell in Japan...

Lexus was brought back to Japan in 2000s.

It no longer shares model with Toyota.

On 10/31/2021 at 3:36 AM, Playtime said:

can't sleep... surfing YouTube saw this.  Tot it was interesting... not that I can afford either 😅

In one section, the host mentioned something like "One kilogram of unsprunged weight is tantamount to 10 kilograms of sprung weight." I didn't know the effect is so enormous.

13 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

In one section, the host mentioned something like "One kilogram of unsprunged weight is tantamount to 10 kilograms of sprung weight." I didn't know the effect is so enormous.

i didnt watch through the whole video.

so whats the conclusion? i see the chassis w213 vs v213 . i lost some interest liao .

13 minutes ago, Beregond said:

so whats the conclusion? i see the chassis w213 vs v213 . i lost some interest liao .

General conclusion is China-made Mercedes E-class is nearly as good as imported Mercedes E-class, although some areas not as meticulously assembled.

One segment about application of body sealants quite funny. Imported E-class sealants are applied by robots/machine-applied hence very neat and consistent. Locally-made E-class those sealants are hand-applied and the host said the quality on that car is as if that worker was on holiday mood. :D

27 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

General conclusion is China-made Mercedes E-class is nearly as good as imported Mercedes E-class, although some areas not as meticulously assembled.

One segment about application of body sealants quite funny. Imported E-class sealants are applied by robots/machine-applied hence very neat and consistent. Locally-made E-class those sealants are hand-applied and the host said the quality on that car is as if that worker was on holiday mood:D

yeah lor... and if didnt tear the whole thing apart, really until scrap also no one will know.

26 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

One segment about application of body sealants quite funny. Imported E-class sealants are applied by robots/machine-applied hence very neat and consistent. Locally-made E-class those sealants are hand-applied and the host said the quality on that car is as if that worker was on holiday mood. :D

but then even imported Eclass got many variants also . and most importantly what is the selling price of a local V213 vs a import W213?

i mean its ok to compare to let customer know the different.between each varient of eclass. 

but i dun see any meaning to destroy 2 cars of different model just to prove the different. 

14 minutes ago, Beregond said:

but then even imported Eclass got many variants also . and most importantly what is the selling price of a local V213 vs a import W213?

i mean its ok to compare to let customer know the different.between each varient of eclass. 

but i dun see any meaning to destroy 2 cars of different model just to prove the different. 

Yea lor. So wasteful. [;)]

@Beregond exactly, this video is likely many other similar videos created, just to prove a point that surely is right, but serves no other purposes except to draw more internet based viewership. i overhear my wife watch many of these videos and are simply waste of time.

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

for me the most startling one was with the rear differential. the all steel one on the local unit is heavier and cost more than the alloy one in the imported version and if i am not price the price gap was huge.

In china, the competition for viewers (these videos are produced for internal platforms such as Youku, PDD, KS, DY etc and some copy-n-paste to YouTube) are intense and rewards are even greater than YouTube.

So many of the channels invest a lot of $$ and production quality to get a healthy following - hence they can actually buy up new cars and hire a team to dismantle.

I follow the China version of AutoBild - they do a regular 10,000 km testing of new cars they purchase over a controlled circuit including obstacles designed to spoil suspension and after that disassemble the car to check the exact state and quality of individual parts. One of the tests was a new Merc E200L versus a BMW 520L.

So no joke, the content is really solid and much better than even the US auto content. But of course only if you are mandarin-literate.

That’s why crash test results for Japanese/Korean makes that’s evaluated in Europe cannot be applied here when they are not coming from the same factory or use the same materials.

8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

for me the most startling one was with the rear differential. the all steel one on the local unit is heavier and cost more than the alloy one in the imported version and if i am not price the price gap was huge.

its W213 vs V213. i would expect to have different .

if we are talking about same year W213 S.A  make, vs W213 germany make, vs W213 china make. for example. and if there is different between them, then there is controversy.

for example ps4 thai vs ps4 europe, i would expect no different,

but ps4 ST thai vs ps4 eu , confirm got different, dun need to destroy 2 tyres to prove that. 

Honestly, the video was created to address hot topic discussed within China.

Without knowing the issue at hand, just treat it as tok kok