Fmr employer calls for work related info/advice

_Sam_

Hi folks, so I just quit a company I have been working at for the past 7 years to join a new company. Before leaving I had done the usual stuff of handing over duties and created a spreadsheet of the outstanding cases with their current status and follow up.

Considering I left on good terms, I sent out a thank you email to everyone I worked with before my departure so they would have known. Yesterday was my last day and today I have been getting calls from my former employer on projects that I was involved in for advice and info.

I'm contemplating if I should just ignore these calls or answer them to avoid burning bridges since word gets around eventually. I know this is probably not the right platform to seek advice on such matters but just wanted to get quick advice. Any advice would be appreciated! TYIA.

If they keep calling you for info, that means you did not do a proper hand over and documentation, then you need to continue to provide the relevant info. But there has to be a cut off point,  this cannot continue forever. What you can do is to document  as much relevant info as possible and hand it over to them in one go.

If your friends call you for help, you can  help but you can be upfront with them that they have to be self sufficient one day, they cannot continue to depend on you.

If they are so thick skin to be calling you non stop, then it is OK to burn the bridge, this type of bridge is not important. 

5 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

If they keep calling you for info, that means you did not do a proper hand over and documentation, then you need to continue to provide the relevant info. But there has to be a cut off point,  this cannot continue forever. What you can do is to document  as much relevant info as possible and hand it over to them in one go.

If your friends call you for help, you can  help but you can be upfront with them that they have to be self sufficient one day, they cannot continue to depend on you.

If they are so thick skin to be calling you non stop, then it is OK to burn the bridge, this type of bridge is not important. 

Isnt the purpose of the one month notice is to answer all this supposedly "poor" handing over as you put it? Not challenging you but genuinely asking.

Fair enough on the cut off point. Thanks for the inputs @Ct3833

I feel that out of goodwill and gratitude you can help them out a bit as long as it is not adversely affecting you. Afterall, the company had paid you salary for the last seven years. I believe in remembering the source when drinking water. 

What company? So thick skin.

Just say you are busy settling into new work environment. Tell them about the higher pay you are getting and the better work environment you are used to be deprived of.

@Ingenius I get what u're trying to say, in some way I agree with u too that's why I'm on the fence for this one. Not wanting to entertain such calls after working hours was one of the reason I quit the company. 

@Watwheels Ironically, the "thick-skinned" company is a stat board.  Before the ex CE transferred out to another agency, he said this during a town hall meeting and I quote "the door is always open if u're not happy". Cant blame him tho, came from a private sector to gahmen sector, probably felt untouchable. Anyway, that's a story for another time. I thought I was being an a**hole if I didnt entertain their calls. Thanks for letting me know I'm not the only one who feels this way.

@Inlinefour LOL its not like u're gonna get any "special" favours for answering the call haha. Anyway, in my case it was an uncle colleague that I had worked with before.

Edited by _Sam_

People come and go...I had done so many favours to others...all left without returning any and never meet again...don't be a goon like me...😂

I don't do no favour no more...I advocate diy 😁

You do this to build good karma, but you can also don't do this because you are not paid to do so le.

So is up to you lah. 🤣

Okay. I got say like never say like that. hahaha

1 hour ago, _Sam_ said:

Isnt the purpose of the one month notice is to answer all this supposedly "poor" handing over as you put it? Not challenging you but genuinely asking.

Fair enough on the cut off point. Thanks for the inputs @Ct3833

No  worries.  If what have been done during that one month still leave them with so many questions to ask, then the hand over is inadequate.  But if they have been asking same questions that you have handed over , then it is a competency problem over at their end, you can politely tell them off without  burning your bridge. 

@kobayashiGT Ya ikr. I realized there are 2 camps of people; one advocates helping to sort of build goodwill, the other camp is a no-no probably after having a bad experience.

Help or advise, but progressively make them wait longer and longer for a reply so they have to start helping themselves. If it’s a phone call, reject and call back (much) later, or if you answer say you’re in the middle of something and will call back later. Sooner or later they’ll get the message.

Whether the handing over of duties was done properly or not, thought after you have left the company, your previous company should not call you to ask this ask that right? They should have sort it out themselves?

1 hour ago, _Sam_ said:

Hi folks, so I just quit a company I have been working at for the past 7 years to join a new company. Before leaving I had done the usual stuff of handing over duties and created a spreadsheet of the outstanding cases with their current status and follow up.

Considering I left on good terms, I sent out a thank you email to everyone I worked with before my departure so they would have known. Yesterday was my last day and today I have been getting calls from my former employer on projects that I was involved in for advice and info.

I'm contemplating if I should just ignore these calls or answer them to avoid burning bridges since word gets around eventually. I know this is probably not the right platform to seek advice on such matters but just wanted to get quick advice. Any advice would be appreciated! TYIA.

in my industry, if i leave and ex employer calls me to ask about work, they will likely be in breach of the law.

so while yours probably isnt that serious, please dont waste any more time answering.

quit means quit.  Fullstop

28 minutes ago, _Sam_ said:

@Ingenius I get what u're trying to say, in some way I agree with u too that's why I'm on the fence for this one. Not wanting to entertain such calls after working hours was one of the reason I quit the company. 

@Watwheels Ironically, the "thick-skinned" company is a stat board.  Before the ex CE transferred out to another agency, he said this during a town hall meeting and I quote "the door is always open if u're not happy". Cant blame him tho, came from a private sector to gahmen sector, probably felt untouchable. Anyway, that's a story for another time. I thought I was being an a**hole if I didnt entertain their calls. Thanks for letting me know I'm not the only one who feels this way.

@Inlinefour LOL its not like u're gonna get any "special" favours for answering the call haha. Anyway, in my case it was an uncle colleague that I had worked with before.

your case is more a former colleague not employer lah, this type if was friend friend can entertain a bit, how much to help you ownself deem fit lah. If really employer, then maybe best not to entertain, some industries are very sensitive about former employee holding any work-related information.

42 minutes ago, _Sam_ said:

@kobayashiGT Ya ikr. I realized there are 2 camps of people; one advocates helping to sort of build goodwill, the other camp is a no-no probably after having a bad experience.

life is a dilemma. hahaha. You mon, wed, fri reply lor. Tues and thurs come inside here update us. hahahahaha