Kopites Supersonic June 29, 2023 Share June 29, 2023 On 6/29/2023 at 6:34 PM, zipping said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/cpf-singpass-face-verification-log-malware-scam-protection-govtech-police-3594076 New Singpass face-verification feature for CPF log-in to protect the vulnerable against malware scams New Singpass face-verification feature for CPF log-in to protect the vulnerable against malware scams File photo of a scam alert on a phone. (Photo: iStock) 29 Jun 2023 12:11PM (Updated: 29 Jun 2023 02:47PM) Singapore: Central Provident Fund (CPF) members who log in to their accounts using their Singpass may have to go through another step - face verification. The additional precaution comes amid a spate of malware scams involving CPF savings, said the CPF Board, GovTech and the police in a joint advisory on Thursday (Jun 29). In the first half of 2023, more than 700 reports of malware-related scams were reported, with losses amounting to about S$8 million (US$5.9 million). Of these, eight cases involved CPF savings, with losses of S$124,000. "As a further precaution, CPF Board and GovTech had urgently introduced the Singpass Face Verification during the login to protect vulnerable CPF members who access CPF e-services," the agencies said in a release. "While this may make it less convenient for members to access CPF online services, we seek CPF members’ understanding that it might be better to be safe than sorry." Vulnerable members may include those aged 55 and above and who are using android phones, according to CPF. In the malware scams, the victim uses his Android phone to click on a Facebook or other social media advertisement selling an item at a steep discount and receives a link to download an Android Package Kit (or APK) from a non-official app-store to facilitate the purchase. Upon downloading the APK, a malware is installed on the phone. The scammer then convinces the victim via a phone call or text message to turn on accessibility services on his Android phone. This weakens the security of the phone and allows the scammer to take full control of the phone. It allows the scammer to log every keystroke and steal banking credentials stored in the phone. This also means the scammer can remotely log in to the victim’s banking apps, add money mules as payees, raise payment limits and transfer money out to money mules. The scammer can further delete SMS and email notifications of that bank transfer to cover his tracks. Additionally, the scammer may log in to the victim’s CPF account through Singpass to make a withdrawal. "Although CPF withdrawals can only be paid to a bank account verified to belong to the CPF member, the scammer can subsequently transfer the money out from that bank account using stolen banking credentials from the phone," said the release. Last month, police arrested nine people in a five-day operation for their alleged involvement in banking-related phishing scam cases related to malware attack on Android mobile devices. Related: Victims lose about S$220,000, including CPF savings, in Android malware scams Android users lose about S$100,000 CPF savings to malware scams in June Police warn of new phishing scam involving malware installed on victims' phones The authorities said that phone users should only download applications from official app stores to avoid malware being installed, especially those who use android phones. "Exercise the greatest of caution when turning on the phone’s accessibility services or allowing access as doing so will weaken the security of the phone," the release read. "Always expeditiously update the mobile phone with the latest security patches." For more information, visit www.scamalert.sg or call the Anti-Scam Helpline at 1800-722-6688. Source: CNA/gr Would a facial picture or video pass the singpass scan security check? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 23, 2024 Share March 23, 2024 sinkie 55 and above with android phone need Face ID to open Singpass app...sibay troublesome no true leh iPhone same same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 23, 2024 Share March 23, 2024 On 3/23/2024 at 8:31 PM, Inlinefour said: sinkie 55 and above with android phone need Face ID to open Singpass app...sibay troublesome no true leh iPhone same same I dun use Face ID to open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear March 23, 2024 Share March 23, 2024 On 3/23/2024 at 8:31 PM, Inlinefour said: sinkie 55 and above with android phone need Face ID to open Singpass app...sibay troublesome no true leh iPhone same same I dun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 Setting up the app die die need face scan how to bypass? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 On 3/24/2024 at 9:39 AM, Inlinefour said: Setting up the app die die need face scan how to bypass? I bypass it with pin only. I don’t have SingPass on my phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 On 3/24/2024 at 11:41 AM, inlinesix said: I bypass it with pin only. I don’t have SingPass on my phone. I mean setting up die die scan face scan more than 10 times also failed app ceca developer really no horse run Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 On 3/24/2024 at 11:44 AM, Inlinefour said: I mean setting up die die scan face scan more than 10 times also failed app ceca developer really no horse run User issue la. Bypass it and use OTP. If not, send me a screenshot. I guide you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 (edited) Yes sometimes the app updates may also force reset and have to setup all over again. Did a few times for my folks. Requires face recognition as part of the process. Device plays a part. Edited March 24, 2024 by badlammy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 On 3/24/2024 at 11:44 AM, Inlinefour said: I mean setting up die die scan face scan more than 10 times also failed app ceca developer really no horse run My android phone can't scan my cui face...my ios can...less picky I tink 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 On 3/24/2024 at 12:02 PM, badlammy said: Yes sometimes the app updates may also force reset and have to setup all over again. Did a few times for my folks. Requires face recognition as part of the process. Device plays a part. You are right call support line was told to try few more times to setup ip15pm really 🥵🥵🥵 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 On 3/24/2024 at 11:48 AM, inlinesix said: User issue la. Bypass it and use OTP. If not, send me a screenshot. I guide you. new iPhone can’t die die must scan till cows cum home On 3/24/2024 at 12:15 PM, mersaylee said: My android phone can't scan my cui face...my ios can...less picky I tink 😂 Later I try android 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 Remember to blink when it's scanning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 Maybe have to look like the one in IC. Just face scan your physical IC and see how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 after scanning for 2 days finally accepted wow this is really sibay high tech sia follow my brother @inlinesix advice log in use number disable Face ID liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 24, 2024 Share March 24, 2024 That's why I still use iPhone SE. Use finger can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 24, 2024 Author Share March 24, 2024 make sure your selfie cam lens is clean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 25, 2024 Share March 25, 2024 Or grow a beard or more facial hair like it was first intended from creator. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...